We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The resort was beautiful, the sight from the rooms to the ocean was out of this world, the property surounding the hotel is very big, and their are small transportation (golf carts) to take you down to the beach, swimming in the pool is a great experience when you look to the sea, the food is excellent.

Room Tip: the more higher level in the location the better sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdel Kareem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,553
    754
    279
    115
    94
See reviews for
863
1,077
84
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (919)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Maybe I expected much more from a property bearing the Leela name. Stayed at a club room - and got a rather small room, albeit with a fantastic view. The bathroom was cramped, with unnecessary glass doors. Clearly not thought through. The room ac would not cool the room enough - but with the fan on - it was OK.

The service was very average - the employees clearly had a motivation problem. They seemed to be going through the motions - I did not encounter a single genuine smile.

Check in took a long time - the lady was on the phone discussing a laundry pick up and her colleague was staring into space - ignoring me completely. Exactly the same story at check out ! Must give them credit for consistency.

I would not want to go back again, nothing there that would elicit a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogercharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We have noted with great concern your feedback about your recent stay with us.
Allow me to admit, how truly professionally embarrassed we are. As you are aware, being in the service industry one deals with many variables every day. Orchestrating correctly the matrix of activity is but one of the many charges of a reputed organization, but equally important is to have a well trained, guest focused and willing staff who when faced with adversity, can turn challenges into success stories.
I regret that we failed in accomplishing any sense of well being with you. Taking your feedback as constructive criticism from a well wisher, I would be happy to hear from you and take necessary corrective steps.

I would request you to look at it as an aberration and far from our usual high standards of service.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back and regaining your confidence in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed in aug 2013.From the time one enters the hotel u receive a princely welcome.The buffet spread & brunch on Sunday was amazing.Such widespread dishes are hardly seen.Special thanks to food & beverage team & also Mr saswat who made us feel so homely.He got the chef prepare for us a special fish dish & it was all complimentary.They have a private beach & the restaurant tides is in a romantic location.The club rooms have breathtaking view which does'nt hold any comparison to sea view rooms at all.Do make it a point to stay in club rooms for atleast a day to have a experience of lifetime.One feels like to be in cruise with the sound of waves crashing along the rocks.It was indeed one of the best holidays .

Room Tip: go for club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brita76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My earlier experience from the Leela chain was so fabulous that I was expecting a lot from this visit. Unfortunately, this was disappointing and I could easily sense the difference in being a "Leela Kempinsky" hotel and a "Leela Palace" one. The cottages are located far from the main hotel and one feels alienated in them as though you are not part of the hotel. There are 3 pools in the hotel and the one near the cottages looks like a bath tub. The garden view rooms are useless, the staff is not at all interactive and the overall pleasure in staying at a premium hotel is just missing. The food served is very good and the location along with the private beach is fantastic. The biggest plus point is ofcourse the private beach but a lot remains unfulfilled.

Room Tip: Go for the high end range only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faheem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.
As an organization the Leela Palaces, Hotels & Resorts aims to delight and dazzle our guests and send them back with wonderful memories, and it was disconcerting to note that we have not lived up to your expectations. We deeply regret any inconvenience.
Taking your feedback as constructive criticism from a well-wisher, we will endeavor to rise and make amends.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again and regain your confidence in us.

Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
97 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

UK tourists: We stayed here in March 2013. We had two rooms with only three people in total. Each night we were kept awake by Indian families next door where they had half a dozen people staying, for the same price. The location of the hotel is first class and we loved the beach and area. The rooms were lovely. However, being British we found the temperature at lunch time and dinner time to be absolutely unbearable. We were dripping in sweat and it was very unpleasant. I can't eat spicy foods and they kindy allowed me to eat at the beach reseaurnat (less curry) but not the rest of my family. Not that helpful! By the second day we had nicknamed the hotel Faulty Towers due to the service which was so abysmal you could only laugh. Drinks would take 30 minutes to arrive and then be wrong anyway (in a hotel in this price range, waiters should know the difference between a pot of tea and coffee- they don't). The service was so bad it ruined our holiday but it didn't seem to bother anyone but us, and neither did the heat during meal times. The only place to eat that was chilled was the restaurant, but the noise in this place from families often 20+ was insane and we walked out a few times, missing breakfast. All in all, the hotel is beautiful and some aspects we loved (pool, beach, views). However, I have to be honest and say the hotel is aimed at wealthy Indian families rather than foreign tourists.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodthickskirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at Leela on 6 and 7 Aug 2013 in the Club rooms. The location of the resort is unparralled for the view you get of the Indian ocean. The rooms are perched close to the sea and u feel u are on a cruise with the sound of the sea hitting the rocks. The hospitality was again of the highest order with the team lead by Tarun Sharma. The infinity pool is not to be missed. Overall, we had an amazing time. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Club rooms for fanastic view of the arabian sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is one of the best in Kovalam, the property is good, even the rooms are V clean & comfortable, but the property is too large & some of the rooms are very far, so takes too long to reach the main area. The hotel provides buggy's but they take too long to come & pick so waste of time waiting for the same.

The beach connected to hotel is not worth at all.

Over all good property but not value for money.

Room Tip: If u want 5 Star hotels than this is a good choice, but there are other options at Poovar Beach whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MUKESHKHETWANI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.4 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.6 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.0 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Kovalam Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Kovalam Beach

Property: The Leela Kovalam Beach
Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Kovalam Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Raviz Kovalam - Indulgence is an art you will perfect at The Leela Raviz Kovalam while staying in any of our 183 rooms and suites. With a seamless blend of modern technology and traditional grandeur, the soothing décor of each room whispers warm aesthetics. Each room opens out to a breath-taking view of either the ocean or garden. All rooms are provided with luxury amenities to cater to discerning tastes. Unwind with exquisite facilities like an HD LCD television and a broadband connection for hi-speed internet. The Club rooms offer valet services, a gourmet corner with a fine selection of spirits, softdrinks and snacks and have luxurious bathrooms with a walk-in shower and a private infinity pool. Awake to auburn sunrises in the horizon or soak in the sun under azure skies at the infinity pools. Get a taste of the vacation of your dreams at The Leela Raviz Kovalam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Leela Kovalam Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Kovalam Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Leela Kempinski Hotel Kovalam
Hotel Leela Trivandrum
The Leela Kovalam Beach Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing