We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but far from Leela expected excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a stay at the Hotel and had many first time concerns. The associates are very warm but the processes are a big miss. Our flight pick up got missed to start with. Was handled abruptly by the airport representative. Then was the first room which was allocated in the old wing, had a lot of concerns ranging from cleanliness to seepage. Had concerns with a buffet and the cuisine authenticity. Quality of food at the buffet has scope of improvement.

All that was a concern was resolved, to the satisfaction as well but the expectation of so many glitches was never there. From Leela you seldom expect such flaws.

F&B after all turned out the best for us. KUDOS to the coffee shop sous chef and some key service associates, they took care of us and followed up extremely well. Thats what you desire, strong handling which was missing from the rest of the areas.

The exclusitivity of The Club is a big question mark, so is the service design. The exclusive swimming pool was the least taken care of. Hygiene levels were compromised. A senior manager when contacted did tell us that he would get back but did never call back or approached us.

Thats why I said the processes are a miss. Still the property is good, associates are good but expectation of all right the first time should not be the key desire.

Definitely there are a lot of positives as well. F&B team, location, Security associates who never missed acknowledging everytime, the view from the club rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller1982s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. While we did offer some wonderful moments, I regret that we failed in accomplishing a sense of well being with you.
We have noted your feedback in all sincerity and necessary corrective steps will be taken.
Taking your feedback as constructive criticism from a well wisher, request you to treat this as an aberration and far from our usual high standards of service.
We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again and provide the true Leela experience, the way it should be.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,822 - 1,828 of 2,931 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Leela property is huge and its beatiful. The property is located on a cliff with water and greenery all around. Top quality buffet and service.
We took the beach view room, had a heritage look, had all the facilities, was good but not wow...view isnt that great either...
The kovalam beach is nice, full of coconut trees... pretty crowded in the second half of the day though, there are a few fishermen boats parked on the beach. Leela has a section of the beach blocked for itself which is guarded by security and they do not allow the regular public to enter that section.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prithusureka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Excellent from the word go. Right from airport transfers, a warm traditional welcome,upgrade to a beach view, the restaurant and bar service, housekeeping, buggy rides, etc. were all with the traditional and warmth of God's own Leela!!

The views were amazing - from the infinity pool to the sea. Our mornings sitting out and watching the waves gives you a kind of high. The room was good and if there were a few drips its because of the heavy lashing monsoon rain which was on and off.

The buffet spreads at the Terrace were continental, north Indian and Kerala. So it covered all palates. I am amazed when people say the food was not good. If you cannot find something to eat from 3 spreads then you'll never find anything to your taste.

Rahul at the bar was excellent with his cocktails and ever smiling. If you did not like the first cocktail he improved on it and served it just the way you liked it.

Mehul the Manager at the Terrace was always warmly welcoming. In fact the staff at the Terrace should be commended for their pleasing smiles, attitude and quick service - whether to seat you, clear a table, replenish your cuppa, etc.

Yes the beach was black and there's nothing anyone can do - the hotel has tried to keep the beach clean.

Room Tip: The beach view rooms are excellent. We stayed at 2509.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlleyMuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay.

I will share your feedback with Mahuil and Rahul, They will be delighted too.

We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My friend and I spent 7 days doing the "wellness" package at the Leela. Can't recommend it highly enough. The club rooms are fantastic and you feel as though you are staying in a different resort from everyone else. I highly recommend the upgrade. The rooms are small but have everything you want. The service from the spa staff and the Club restaurant are exceptional and the chef Karanveen went to extraordinary trouble to make sure our dietary needs were met. Our stay coincided with the start of the monsoon - ideal time to travel as no one is around!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the club rooms and try not to get one over the pool if you are an early sleeper as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazzie1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay.

I will share you post with Chef Karan. He would be delighted too.

We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is such a lovely place to stay at Kovalam, i spent 2 nights there and it was really amazing, Restaurant on Beach Side is awesome... Travel desk, Room service is good which make sure that your stay is quite comfortable. overall a nice property and we enjoyed alot. Restaurant is just awesome..i really liked the wine section..The only negative I felt about the food cost. They should hav reduced a bit..otherwise it was just awesome..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subratbiswal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay.

I have noted your on the pricing. Thank you for your feedback.

We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

this property is worth staying even the cost is bit on the higher side , ocean view rooms have a nice blue water view with lots and lots of coconuts trees , food always been a problem in the south , nice beach with all amenities provided by hotel , very clean water at the ocean do have a boat ride u will see lots of fish and corals underneath water with just water glasses wearing , poovar nearby is also a fantastic place to visit , last but not the least have a fabulous stay

Room Tip: take ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piyushagarwal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay.

Have noted your comment on the food, I would understand that it was too much South Indian. Will share with the Chef.

We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I traveled with family to this place, and would say it is one of the best family vacation options in South India. We wanted to have a calm, peaceful few days and got exactly that.

We were also pleasantly surprised at being upgraded to the presidential suite, as against the two rooms that I'd blocked. The suite was fantastic and made the vacation that much more memorable. I was a bit worried about the summer sun, but it turned out to be not much of an issue after all. We had vastly different menu options every day for food (especially desserts) and didn't feel to need to venture out for other options. A gym right next to the suite, toddler pool, chess park, the beach next door - these and other things kept us occupied.

Wonderful hospitality, great experience and lovely memories.

Room Tip: There are 2 sections to the hotel - one is the main area and the other is across the road. Choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vinod44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay.

We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.

Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.4 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
990 reviews
0.6 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
231 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amrutham
Amrutham
#14 of 52 in Kovalam
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Kovalam Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Kovalam Beach

Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: $176 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Kovalam Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Raviz Kovalam - Indulgence is an art you will perfect at The Leela Raviz Kovalam while staying in any of our 183 rooms and suites. With a seamless blend of modern technology and traditional grandeur, the soothing décor of each room whispers warm aesthetics. Each room opens out to a breath-taking view of either the ocean or garden. All rooms are provided with luxury amenities to cater to discerning tastes. Unwind with exquisite facilities like an HD LCD television and a broadband connection for hi-speed internet. The Club rooms offer valet services, a gourmet corner with a fine selection of spirits, softdrinks and snacks and have luxurious bathrooms with a walk-in shower and a private infinity pool. Awake to auburn sunrises in the horizon or soak in the sun under azure skies at the infinity pools. Get a taste of the vacation of your dreams at The Leela Raviz Kovalam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Leela Kovalam Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Kovalam Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Leela Kempinski Hotel Kovalam
Hotel Leela Trivandrum
The Leela Kovalam Beach Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing