We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leela Kovalam Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Always wanted to travel to Kerala and Leela was the best place to end our trip on a high note.The rooms with the balcony opening out to the sea was an excellent experience, were very comfy and cozy. The food was the best we could have experienced on our trip.The staff were very helpful and courteous making our stay a wonderful experience.The Spa was a treat a must for every traveller to get a wonderful feel of relaxation.

Room Tip: The Sea Facing Rooms are a real treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jags354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,004)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,946 - 1,952 of 3,004 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

Had been there for lunch in the afternoon,with my wife and 2 kids.The service was good and the food was awesome.The buffet spread was good.They alloted a take by the pool with the ocean view.Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAZZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful meal at our restaurant.
We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you for a stay next time around.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We travelled to Kerala for our Honeymoon and booked through Kuoni.

The flights weren't too bad, around 15 hours but the planes were really good, food was lovely! we arrived in the early hours of the morning. We had a complimentary drink and some vouchers for a couple of free buffet meals and signed in. I was a little put off but the fact that throughout the holiday everyone else got a seashell necklace but we didn't get one as we come too early!

The rooms are lovely, really clean and the view was amazing - we had a sea view. When the fishing boats come in in the morning they play the drums and I loved hearing this but it wasn't very loud, but very relaxing. The bed was comfortable, and the shower was lovely, a monsoon shower. we had all fresh toiletaries twice a day and a fridge, we didn't have any of the food or drink out of the fridge, but we would walk into town (an absolute must) and get beer and keep it in the fridge. Its about 70p for a massive bottle of beer if you do it this way.

The food in the hotel was really good, especially the burgers (I know you can't eat burgers in India, but sometimes I really fancied one!), we were a bit scared at first about venturing out into town at first but we were so glad we did in the end. you walk out of the hotel, and go right, and that takes you down to the beach which has a load of really yummy, really cheap restaurants Keralan food is absolutely amazing, and I really recommend trying the Keralan fish curry. My husband doesn't eat fish and he went vegetarian and he absolutely loved the food and put on 11lbs!! (I didn't put any weight on)

In the hotel the prices are what you would expect to pay in England for food and drink, so reasonable but much much higher than what you would pay in town.

There were alot of conferences going on as we were there out of season. but the hotel was lovely and quiet. Not many kids (which is what you want on honeymoon). The infinity pool was lovely although I laid on it too long on my first day and got really burnt! We walked down to the private beach a few times - the bar down there is gorgeous, but we couldn't swim in the sea as it was really rough. but we went for loads of walks, to be honest the pool was enough for us, as we weren't there all the time, we did a lot of trips.

The staff were so nice, the cleaners, the bar staff, the pool staff, they couldn't do more for us and remembered us after a couple of days. Breakfasts were lovely, loads of choice and it changed everyday so you never got bored.

We went in September, so we were out of season, this is why we couldn't use the beach, and we had one day of rain and a few night where it absolutely tipped it down but we didn't mind during the evening, and the weather was gorgeous considering it was supposed to be in the monsoon season. The town was really quiet and I really recommend going at this time of year. It was our own private paradise!!

We really had the perfect honeymoon, its the only place I've been that I've said I would go back over and over again. I can't speak more highly of the leela. My main advise though is to get out look around and meet the people and try the food in the town, they made it so special!

Room Tip: I loved the Sea view rooms, you get a beautiful view, you can watch the birds and you can hear and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sartory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay.
We regret for missing out on the sea shell garland on arrival.
We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Everything just right - rooms, service, food, infinity swimming pool. Enjoyed the grounds and beach - good snorkeling if you carry the kit. Board with daily activities worth checking out - includes dance performance but the biggest highlight for us was the cookery demonstration. Two chefs, three of us and four of five dishes of exquisite perfection demonstrated. Don't miss it if it is offered. This place is a bubble enclosed by tight security but I loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

After 3 weeks of travelling all over Kerala this was a very welcome respite for a whole week of sun and sand and delightful Kovalam. Despite some of the poor reviews, i had a beautiful room that i could not fault, a great view of the sea, and swimming pools galore! Good food, lovely guests, great staff and beautiful grounds. Kovalam is ruined but the hotel was a peaceful haven. I cannot fault it and was very happy there.

Room Tip: Just ask for a really good room and not one of the poor ones mentioned on Trip Advisor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JACKBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I visited this place on the 7-9th of March 2013 for an office conference. I was accompanied by my mum and my soon to be 2 year old daughter. The property is very pretty and and well maintained. The staff is very courteous and very helpful. Special mention to Chef Dinesh who went out of his way to prepare special meals for my toddler exactly the way i would ask him to. Whenever i offered to pay for her meal i was politely told "let us take care of her". I really appreciated that especially when my little one fell ill due to the weather change. Thank you Chef Dinesh for your kindness. Would definitely recommend all families and friens.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SabrinaBowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Apart from the staff who were very good, the hotel is not a Leela but a nasty beach resort in need of upgrading.

We paid for a beach room and it was damp with a old bathroom and a sink in the bedroom. That room was expensive to begin with, we then paid even more to upgrade to a club room, which was much nicer, but even then they charge you for internet connection and there is no club drinks which one would expect at those prices.

All the pools are quite small, with the main pool built where all the buffets are served. The website photos of the entire hotel are quite cleverly taken, giving the impression of well maintained luxury Leela. The bar is unwellcoming with a happy hour between 4 and 7pm. Avoid the the buy one get one free wine bottle, it tastes like vinegar and an utter shame to serve that up at nearly 2,500 ruppees + taxes. The bottle is probably worth no more than 400 rupees

The other more wellcoming bar where one would want to drink has no happy happy hour and its so overpriced that it was empty every single night.

The food was not great, quite tasteless, pasta dishes were really bland. There was no buffet theme at all, just the same old indian and a few international choices.

Dont go here, its not a Leela and you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: only club rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mitesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We have noted with great concern your feedback about your recent stay with us. As an organization the Leela Palaces, Hotels & Resorts aims to delight and dazzle our guests and send them back with wonderful memories, and it was disconcerting to note that we have not lived up to your expectations on certain factors, and in fact have scope for improvement on our services and standards.
Taking your feedback as constructive criticism from a well wisher, we will take necessary corrective steps.
We do hope to we will get an opportunity to host to again and regain your confidence in us.

Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.4 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
1,035 reviews
0.6 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#23 of 52 in Kovalam
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
585 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amrutham
Amrutham
#12 of 52 in Kovalam
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Kovalam Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Kovalam Beach

Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: $226 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Kovalam Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Raviz Kovalam - Indulgence is an art you will perfect at The Leela Raviz Kovalam while staying in any of our 183 rooms and suites. With a seamless blend of modern technology and traditional grandeur, the soothing décor of each room whispers warm aesthetics. Each room opens out to a breath-taking view of either the ocean or garden. All rooms are provided with luxury amenities to cater to discerning tastes. Unwind with exquisite facilities like an HD LCD television and a broadband connection for hi-speed internet. The Club rooms offer valet services, a gourmet corner with a fine selection of spirits, softdrinks and snacks and have luxurious bathrooms with a walk-in shower and a private infinity pool. Awake to auburn sunrises in the horizon or soak in the sun under azure skies at the infinity pools. Get a taste of the vacation of your dreams at The Leela Raviz Kovalam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Leela Kovalam Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Kovalam Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Leela Kempinski Hotel Kovalam
Hotel Leela Trivandrum
The Leela Kovalam Beach Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing