We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Wonerful atmosphere -great staff - great food and the spa is amazing! Will surely visit again! Great views. Friendly service always with a smile. Great pool and entertainment in the evenings. The food is reasonably priced an the curries are great. Consider a trip into town with one of the hotel drivers -they know where good shopping and ights can be found. The superior sea faing rooms are great value for money. the ayuervedic spa located on the premises comes highly recommended. The therapists are professional, friendly and service on time. The beach is great on both sides of the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank germar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kovalam,

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.

Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,571
    767
    284
    116
    94
See reviews for
878
1,086
85
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
461 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

we stayed in the Leela for two weeks. The experience was very nice. The hotel area is beautiful, spacious and very well maintained. The main hotel building is very beautiful and has pleasant and calm athmosphere even when there is a lot of people.
Food was very nice. The pool area is fantastic. I definately recommed this hotel. It is not only that the holtel is nice but it is a walking distance from the nice Light house beach where you can find alo tof nice restaurangs and shops.
All together it was a pleasant stay and would do it again.

Room Tip: If you want to have a slilent room do notice there is a mosque nearby and the morning prayer might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrmaLiberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

An enchanting place to stay in a fantastic location. Cozy & comfortable room with an awesome sea view. Very friendly & courteous staff. Perfect for rest and relaxation. There is a private beach area reserved for guests, which is like a lagoon with gentle waves. Great weekend getaway!

Room Tip: all rooms in the main block have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We visited the place for our Honeymoon last year and stayed in the Club House. The exclusivity, location, view from the room and decor met our expectation. I guess when you pay a bomb you have a right to take these things for granted. However, the room service was below par. It will be often late, one day they skipped it altogether and only turned up when I had to scream over phone. The buffet spread for breakfast as well as Dinner was excellent with a wide variety of choices but the main course menu was repeated every alternate day (except for dessert). The staff was very courteous and helpful. The beach was neat and well maintained. However, Leela does not maintain their own speed boats if you wish to take a ride in the ocean. Therefore, the only option was to hire outside boats which were very uncomfortable and shoddy.

Room Tip: You cant fault with the club rooms. So if you can afford it, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atulnlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff are amazing, very friendly, and cannot do enough for you. Rooms are lovely and beds very comfortable. I stayed there from July till October. Food lovely. Try the tides restaurant on the beach. Gorgeous food (Thai & Chinese) or the buffet at the main restaurant. Lots of choice and everything tastes great.
Did have a small episode on my return trip in September. Was put into the pavillion rooms across the road from the main building and had a visit from a rat at 4 in the morning but they moved me to the main building after I complained. It didn't put me off though. The hotel is lovely but there is not much to do around the place. Perfect for a relaxing break if that's what you want.

Room Tip: Avoid the pavilion rooms as you need to cross a road to get to the main building and eating places a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lurv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I love the Leela in Bangalore, so my expectations were high. What I liked was the spa - although quite a walk, and the pool bar overlooking the Arabian sea. Rooms are OK, but ours was close to a mosque and a discotheque - and there's a road nearby.
The bathroom was too small. It has too many rooms for my taste so if you're looking for a quiet place to escape, this one hardly does the job.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Leela Kovalam must be the best, most beautiful location I have ever been to. From the infinity swimming pool high up on the cliff, to the huge expance of ocean. Amazing.
With the care given to thier guests & to the care of the hotel, wonferful for your stay.

The staff are so very helpful, especialy Salma, who you should search out at reception. She is full of good advise & helpful with any problems you may have. A great asset to the hotel.
Not to forget Sam who is also exteamly hepful, infact all the staff are helpful, very helpful.

The hotel & staff are very accomadating to ensure your enjoyment.

Fantastic hotel!

Over the years, this is the forth time we have stayed at a Leela hotel in India, they have never lost thier freshness.

John

Room Tip: The Beach View Superior, top floor, has a fanstaic view & large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.4 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
908 reviews
0.6 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
550 reviews
1.0 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Kovalam Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Kovalam Beach

Property: The Leela Kovalam Beach
Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Kovalam Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Raviz Kovalam - Indulgence is an art you will perfect at The Leela Raviz Kovalam while staying in any of our 183 rooms and suites. With a seamless blend of modern technology and traditional grandeur, the soothing décor of each room whispers warm aesthetics. Each room opens out to a breath-taking view of either the ocean or garden. All rooms are provided with luxury amenities to cater to discerning tastes. Unwind with exquisite facilities like an HD LCD television and a broadband connection for hi-speed internet. The Club rooms offer valet services, a gourmet corner with a fine selection of spirits, softdrinks and snacks and have luxurious bathrooms with a walk-in shower and a private infinity pool. Awake to auburn sunrises in the horizon or soak in the sun under azure skies at the infinity pools. Get a taste of the vacation of your dreams at The Leela Raviz Kovalam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Leela Kovalam Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Kovalam Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Leela Kempinski Hotel Kovalam
Hotel Leela Trivandrum
The Leela Kovalam Beach Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing