We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant”
Review of Malabar Cafe

Malabar Cafe
Ranked #8 of 64 Restaurants in Kovalam
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The hotel has been moving from current location to 200 meeter neat to light house July 1st onwards
Garda, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best restaurant”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Wilfred and the other workers are very kind and helpfull! They serve good fish, good breakfast, and nearby is a small internet point and also a kashmiri nice shop!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pipinajff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    162
    50
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very friendly”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have visited kovalam five years on the trot, and always found a very warm welcome at the malabar cafe.
although there is a long string of restaurants to choose from, after trying a lot of the others we always went back cap in hand.
the service is a little slow But you are in India relax and enjoy it! its worth waiting for believe me.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suebickley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Malabar Magic”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We tried all the restaurants on the beach front at Kovalam for lunch & dinner during our 3 weeks there but Malabar became our regular lunch venue. Great food. Great service from friendly staff. It will be our first port of call when we return again this year.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nige_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Poor in service but good on food”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Food is really good and that one can find the moment you step in and you do not find enough vacant tables. Staff will make you realize more as you get yourself ready to order. We ordered starter and ask the waiter to return after 10 minutes for main coarse and he told bluntly that we must order in one go as kitchen is too heavy with orders. The order itself took 45 minutes to arrive but yes, I must admire that the wait was worth.

Ambience is not very good but you cannot expect much at such a cheap rate

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rakesh37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u k
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“malabar cafe”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

service poor had to wait a long time to get served food average neighbouring restaurants better service and value

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ukeasytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malabar Cafe also viewed

Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Malabar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing