We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed Twice in a month”
Review of Hotel Samudra KTDC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed twice during my month long trip to India, It's where we began our trip and it was where we wanted to end our trip as well. The grounds and the view are worth the price of admission alone. The rooms are a bit dated and always swelled a bit musty but a small price to pay for that view and the sound of those amazing and strong waves crashing on the beach below. We explored the other resorts while we were there and the Taj and the Leela have nothing on the Samudra KTDC. The food was pretty good not great, if you order off the menu that is way better than the buffets so I would suggest to always order off the menu. the restaurant staff was always pretty good except when they were very busy like when there was a wedding party there for breakfast and they just could not cope with the stress... The spa was pretty good I would recommend that as well. The door guards and the bell persons were very good, the front desk was managers always seemed like they had a chip on there shoulders but the regular staff was always great

Room Tip: Most rooms face the ocean with a view, the high floors have a view but there isn't no such thing...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWP300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Samudra KTDC
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 563 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

Our stay at the KTDC Samudra was AWESOME...
The view is to die for and at the rates we got the room for it was a steal...Its no use staying in the 5 stars if a Govt Run hotel is of this caliber.I guess every room has a marvelous view of the sea.
My son just enjoyed the pool....The bed was really massive and Relaxing.
The only thing is the food which we found a little not up to the mark....Breakfast was a huge spread in the buffet.But just because of the food i wouldnt ding them down.

A well deserved *****

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenrickdias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

When we visited Hotel Samudra KTDC, Kovalam this summer, we all were spellbound by the beauty of nature. The hotel has got excellent location. Food was awesome. The staff was cordial. We thourouly enjoyed our vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amrita_bindu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel Samudra located at Kovalam Beach in Kerala is one of best place for vacation stay. The hotel is very near to Thiruvananthapuram Airport and it takes less than half an hour from the international airport from where transport vehicles are easily available. Its location can be said to be an ideal one for tourists visiting Kerala from all over the world. It directly faces the sea and gives an excellent view. Rooms are in midst of huge greenery and VIP suits in form of independent huts are specially attractive. One can enjoy a extremely peaceful stay at these suits. Since the hotel is on the sea shore, one can enjoy the beautiful Kovalam Beach through out day and night. Food served at the hotel is of very good quality. One can enjoy classical dances from high class artists while sitting in the lawns and enjoying taste of good food served during dinner. Room rents are also not very high as compared to facilities available at the hotel. Cleanliness at the hotel premises and inside rooms is of very high standard. It may be impossible to forget the hotel once you have a stay of even one night at this beautiful hotel in your life time. Its beauty and comforts make it a paradise. Can be said to be one of the excellent hotels in Kerala. Subhash Lather

Room Tip: Independent huts /suits adjacent to main building are more comfortable and quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Subhash L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The best part about this hotel is that, for most of the rooms, the view from the balcony includes the beach, the sea, and the swimming pool. It is quite a view to wake up to early in the morning. The food is quite decent. They serve good breakfast. The rooms were quite nice. The best part about the hotel is the "private beach" that they have. It is very clean, quite, and well secluded. You can stay at the beach for hours without having to be bothered by vendors or the rush of the public. They even arranged a cake on request for my brothers birthday within an hour, which was freshly baked and very yummy!
With this being the last destination of our visit to kerela, we were left wanting to stay for another day!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shyamolig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Room clean and ok when come to food and price is lousy even room service call them they not response immediatly very slow the worst is lights off automatically and restaurant full of flies and mosquitoes my body and friend too a lot of mosquitoes bite even some foreigners from other country complain and scold them they shake head like simple need to improve service

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
11  Thank Dewa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel nestled on the Samudra beach. Courteous staff. Very reasonable rates. But most importantly the hotel with the best location in the place. Food is good for non-veg esp sea food. But veg food variety is a bit poor. Despite Being a govt hotel the infrastructure is in almost if not completely in good shape. Good place for families... But the problem... Too many families. To stay in Kovalam, the best location

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Arjun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.2 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
969 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
1.3 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samudra KTDC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samudra KTDC

Address: GV Raja Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#7 Family Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: $58 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Samudra KTDC 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name of this beach resort itself means "the ocean" and it is an ideal place to enjoy the fullness of the beauty of Kovalam, the enchanting beach destination. Set in inspiring environs, every room of the hotel overlooks the sea and the sprawling lawn stretches up to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Samudra KTDC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Samudra KTDC Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing