We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morning Chaos.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Samudra KTDC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Morning Chaos.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel has nearly everything and the negatives would not prevent me from returning. The positives, warm welcome, clean rooms, great location on the beach and nearby very good restaurants. The pool is nice but needs some updating pool side furniture.
The standard of cleaning in the rooms was very good.
The main negative was breakfast, it was chaos, on the first two days the service was good but has the hotel became increasingly busy the service declined and it became completely self service. The chef cooking the eggs was over run and it appeared that patrons interference did not help.
We never ate here in the evening but did join a friend on one occasion, there were unaccompanied children running around and this spoilt the evening, and the staff did nothing to interject.
I would return to this hotel but my tip would be eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Room numbers 203-210 have nice views , the higher number the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank telali2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    249
    74
    20
    14
See reviews for
273
161
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NEW DELHI
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights on 11-12 march. Got a ground floor room. The back door opened in to a patio walking into the back lawn. Place is just heaven. Staff is fantastic.Food in restaurant was good. B/f was elaborate and tasty. hammock on the trees in lawn was great fun. Walking down the lawn one reaches the Beach. Again a neat n nice place.

Pool is very clean and has a ample supply of towels. no ristrictions very cooperative people.

Good place for honeymooners too.

Room Tip: we stayed in 105. was fantastic. First floor rooms are also good with a lot of privacy. Ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaberaaNDELHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Despite all negatives reviews about its location and services, this is one the best property I ever experienced. Rite on the Samudra beach, but you need strong legs to go down till beach and come back, you may experience the beach both near main gate below and the backyard gate. Beach is rocky and got strong currents. So you do what I did, sit back in your balcony facing the Arabian Sea and relax, think or just clear your head. I sat there all night staring the beach just smiling and was being kissed by the sea breeze. Staff were polite and courteous, they may not speak and understand English properly, but you figure out something or the other. Food was good, you don't get much options but nothing to complain. Restaurant is spacious and beautiful both inside and outside. Pool was clean, hammocks was strategically placed, lawns and rocks was great. Spa was good but was expensive.
** All these services and facility you will get anywhere, in any odd hotel. But its the humanity which made me fall in love with this property. This goes like this: I had to catch a early train, so I checked out at 5:00 AM, I didn't asked them to do anything extra for me, but they realized that if I am checking out so early, then I am going to miss the breakfast, so when I checked out the person at the reception handed me over a packet full of toasted breads, jams, butters and fruits. Saying that as I am going to miss the breakfast, and nothing will open to eat so early in the morning, this is something they arranged for me.
These are few things what differs the good hotels from a great hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beach facing but few on first floors which have both pool and sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Firstly if u are staying at Samudra make sure you are having enough drinking water with you. As they only provide 1 bottle per room everyday. Where as in all the other KTDC property it's two. But that's just the tip of the iceberg. The reception staff are very very vocal with each other and so is the restaurant staff. The buffet for breakfast is bland and poor in quality. Almost everything is served cold. Do not waste your money on the food here it's not worth.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Saumyajit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Staying at This hotel was Fantastic... Almost like some Paradise. Beach just at the doorstep and nice food and service. Anyone traveling to Kovalam should really try this out.

We had initially booked another hotel ( just next to it ), and on arrival we didn't get the rooms there and were shifted to KTDC Samudra. Best thing that had happened.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and face sea. So pick any
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isonakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Feb 10-17 three married couples in one family aged in 40's and 70's were grateful for the week we stayed here. Originally booked in a Private villa which upon arrival was unacceptable we showed up at 5 am and We're greeted by Dilip on the front desk. From the moment we said hello until we left a week later Dilip was our hero! Not only did he manage to find us three gorgeous rooms for the night but each day as we feel in love with the resorts staff and luxurious landscape and ocean sounds and views, he worked very hard to allow us another night and then another night and then moved a lot of things around for the last four nights ensuring that we stayed in our same rooms. We will never forget him for saving us. In addition when both my parents were ill and we had to go to the hospital Dilip came up to the room personally when the our driver arrived to take us to the hospital and always greeted us by first asking how my parents were feeling. The rooms we stayed in (201, 202, 203) had ocean views and sliding doors to a balcony. Whilst the rooms are large and there is a proper shower (I hate wet-rooms), they could do with a freshen up to make them lighter but they are kept clean. I was really impressed when I popped back to the room and saw that the cleaner was stripping the bed- clean sheets everyday. Not usual for hotels to do that. Location is easy walk down to the beach which is really beautiful. Clean sand and water and quiet. We never used the hotel pool. Breakfast gets boring after a while and dinner by the third night was painful. I could not stand the live singer every night. His voice was great but the volume was that of a rock concert not dinner accompaniment. We did complain and it was turned down. Go to Curry Leaf for lunch or dinner (3 min walk from hotel) and pop into Uday Samudra hotel across the street for lunch or dinner as we did. Yummy! Also hop in a Richshaw and go to Lighthouse beach which is only 10 min away and try The Wave. Outstanding food there and the sunset views are photo worthy. Would I stay here again? YES!! We loved the staff, service and rooms in addition to the quiet and views. It was wonderful. Highly recommend. And thank you again to Dilip. I will write separately to your manager as they need to know how professional and customer friendly you are. You are a reason I would come back. Excellent service and attention.thank you.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room with ocean view not overlooking the pool. If you overlook the pool it's noisi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KittyinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

The good points. Views from our room were the best I have ever had on holiday. Beautifully kept gardens, the Arabian Sea and beach in full view, as was the well kept swimming pool. Rooms were good, cleaned well and with strong air conditioning, ceiling fan and fridge.Newspapers pushed under the door each morning and a free security box in reception. A smartly uniformed and friendly doorman opened the door every time you entered or left the hotel. All the staff were very friendly and polite.
The bad points. Very frustrating Reception. Found it very difficult to make them understand the simpliest of requests. Requested mattress to be replaced as far too hard but ended up taking a sunbed mattress from the pool area to sleep on, in the end. No money exchange. Breakfast very repetitive. I shall probably never have another boiled egg or 'chicken sausage' ever again. Pool Bar does not exist and has not done so for years according to regulars. No waiter service at poolside either. Beer Parlour is a room with 'Beer Parlour' on the door only. Inside are two small tables, no chairs, no Bar or windows and a locked cabinet. Hotel in some regards is amazing but could be so much better.
Having said all that, overall it was a very enjoyable holiday and a very friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor attached to the main hotel block, have the best views. If you get Room 210...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.8 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
0.7 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
1.2 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#12 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.9 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samudra KTDC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samudra KTDC

Property: Hotel Samudra KTDC
Address: GV Raja Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#7 Family Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Samudra KTDC 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name of this beach resort itself means "the ocean" and it is an ideal place to enjoy the fullness of the beauty of Kovalam, the enchanting beach destination. Set in inspiring environs, every room of the hotel overlooks the sea and the sprawling lawn stretches up to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Samudra KTDC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Samudra KTDC Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing