We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Kovalam to stay”
Review of Hotel Samudra KTDC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Staying at This hotel was Fantastic... Almost like some Paradise. Beach just at the doorstep and nice food and service. Anyone traveling to Kovalam should really try this out.

We had initially booked another hotel ( just next to it ), and on arrival we didn't get the rooms there and were shifted to KTDC Samudra. Best thing that had happened.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and face sea. So pick any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isonakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 585 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

Feb 10-17 three married couples in one family aged in 40's and 70's were grateful for the week we stayed here. Originally booked in a Private villa which upon arrival was unacceptable we showed up at 5 am and We're greeted by Dilip on the front desk. From the moment we said hello until we left a week later Dilip was our hero! Not only did he manage to find us three gorgeous rooms for the night but each day as we feel in love with the resorts staff and luxurious landscape and ocean sounds and views, he worked very hard to allow us another night and then another night and then moved a lot of things around for the last four nights ensuring that we stayed in our same rooms. We will never forget him for saving us. In addition when both my parents were ill and we had to go to the hospital Dilip came up to the room personally when the our driver arrived to take us to the hospital and always greeted us by first asking how my parents were feeling. The rooms we stayed in (201, 202, 203) had ocean views and sliding doors to a balcony. Whilst the rooms are large and there is a proper shower (I hate wet-rooms), they could do with a freshen up to make them lighter but they are kept clean. I was really impressed when I popped back to the room and saw that the cleaner was stripping the bed- clean sheets everyday. Not usual for hotels to do that. Location is easy walk down to the beach which is really beautiful. Clean sand and water and quiet. We never used the hotel pool. Breakfast gets boring after a while and dinner by the third night was painful. I could not stand the live singer every night. His voice was great but the volume was that of a rock concert not dinner accompaniment. We did complain and it was turned down. Go to Curry Leaf for lunch or dinner (3 min walk from hotel) and pop into Uday Samudra hotel across the street for lunch or dinner as we did. Yummy! Also hop in a Richshaw and go to Lighthouse beach which is only 10 min away and try The Wave. Outstanding food there and the sunset views are photo worthy. Would I stay here again? YES!! We loved the staff, service and rooms in addition to the quiet and views. It was wonderful. Highly recommend. And thank you again to Dilip. I will write separately to your manager as they need to know how professional and customer friendly you are. You are a reason I would come back. Excellent service and attention.thank you.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room with ocean view not overlooking the pool. If you overlook the pool it's noisi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KittyinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The good points. Views from our room were the best I have ever had on holiday. Beautifully kept gardens, the Arabian Sea and beach in full view, as was the well kept swimming pool. Rooms were good, cleaned well and with strong air conditioning, ceiling fan and fridge.Newspapers pushed under the door each morning and a free security box in reception. A smartly uniformed and friendly doorman opened the door every time you entered or left the hotel. All the staff were very friendly and polite.
The bad points. Very frustrating Reception. Found it very difficult to make them understand the simpliest of requests. Requested mattress to be replaced as far too hard but ended up taking a sunbed mattress from the pool area to sleep on, in the end. No money exchange. Breakfast very repetitive. I shall probably never have another boiled egg or 'chicken sausage' ever again. Pool Bar does not exist and has not done so for years according to regulars. No waiter service at poolside either. Beer Parlour is a room with 'Beer Parlour' on the door only. Inside are two small tables, no chairs, no Bar or windows and a locked cabinet. Hotel in some regards is amazing but could be so much better.
Having said all that, overall it was a very enjoyable holiday and a very friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor attached to the main hotel block, have the best views. If you get Room 210...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our last hotel in Kerala (KTDC properties). As i have already suggested to manage your own lunch and dinner as it is the same in all the KTDC resorts and hence frustrating.

Pros - The resort is beautiful, big and has an amazing view of the Arabian sea. Staff is good and the best a govt. can offer. They have a private beach which is the best part- zero crowd, neat & clean. Can have dinner in the open lawn overlooking the sea.

Cons - The property can be much better if there is someone over seeing their day to day work. the food served in dinner buffet was cold and only 3 options to choose from in the main course. The breakfast buffet is mis managed greatly and the staff has no idea of the footfall in the morning, the artificial fish pond urgently needs cleaning, not even basic tv channels are available (although subject to customer type)

Room Tip: can have a ground floor room for an easy access to lawn from the small porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashwatdudhwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Much has been commented recently about how accurate the reviews are on Trip Advisor, they are of course subjective and are a matter of personal opinion. What some people like, others will not and so on. But of course it is the general tone of the reviews that matters, and the more reviews that a hotel or restaurant has the more likely you will get a wide range of opinions which accurately reflect customer satisfaction. Being number one with only a dozen reviews or so doesn't mean anything more than a promising start.
And so to the reviews of this hotel. It is not my intention to comment on individual reviews of course, but there are some common themes running through them, service issues, maintenance issues, and need for some much needed investment to improve the property. From my personal experience I would say they have got it just about right. The service issue which many reviewers speak of is important for visitors to note but being a wholly state government enterprise an improvement in this area would need a sea change in the whole work culture of entire government departments .This in the short term at least, is unlikely to happen. Individually the staff are friendly and charming but they are working within the government system. Regarding Investments again this is a political decision of which commercial concerns may play only a small part, If the government wants to do it they will, if they don't, they won't. It's the same for the upkeep of the property also.
What is truly remarkable about this property, as other reviewers have mentioned, is the location. Not only that, the gardens are superbly maintained with the grass being hand swept at least twice daily. The view from the sea facing rooms on the second floor are really exceptional, the kind of view you would have to pay greatly increased rack rates in a privatised hotel.
Food is average,and not too expensive but Indians like myself will struggle with the blandness of it all because foreign guests simply refuse to eat spicy food.

The swimming pool is large but more sun beds and umbrellas are urgently needed.

So in summary, don't expect truly professional service, cheap and cheerful sums it up really, carry your own balcony chairs down to the pool, forgive doors that don't fit etc, bring your own chili flakes and black salt, and simply enjoy the wonderful view from your balcony , and watch the sun slowly set over the turquoise sea.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickH1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I with my wife had toured Kerla in April, 2011.We stayed at Samudra hotel & enjoyed a lot. We were fully satishfied with hotel arrangements. Rooms are clean & big enough.Main attractions are its back lawn opening towards the sea & its large swimming pool sea side.
It has good resaurant & good services.
.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 63naresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Pros: KTDC Samudra is blessed with one of the best locations ever in Kovalam. The overall ambience of the hotel, its lawns, and dining rooms are all very nice. The staff was courteous.

Cons: Smaller room sizes. In-room facilities are very poor compared to the scale and the level the hotel can and should aspire to. Ex:- they should have a microwave, alarm clock. Bathrooms and furniture can do with a major upgrade.

Bottomline: This is a great 3.0 /5 rating hotel, but with a very limited investment in upgrading their rooms, can easily make the cut to a 4 star hotel. You probably would get a better value for money if you go off-season.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesiYatri2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.2 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
1,039 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.9 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#23 of 52 in Kovalam
241 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#12 of 52 in Kovalam
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samudra KTDC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samudra KTDC

Address: GV Raja Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Family Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: $82 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Samudra KTDC 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name of this beach resort itself means "the ocean" and it is an ideal place to enjoy the fullness of the beauty of Kovalam, the enchanting beach destination. Set in inspiring environs, every room of the hotel overlooks the sea and the sprawling lawn stretches up to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Samudra KTDC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Samudra KTDC Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing