We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROYAL KOVALAM BEACH CLUB---A BAD EXPERIANCE”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kovalam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Resorts: Royal Kovalam Beach Club
Ranked #57 of 87 Kovalam B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed there from 05.01.2013 to 12.01.2013. On arrival at 11.55 PM from airport after 4.40 minutes flight no welcome drink was offered.As we were hungry no item was available to eat. even the house keeping service was very poor. There were so many shortcomings in the room which could be provided at by the resort without much expenditure. The resort restaurant menu was limited to a very small variety.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top has good sea view but one has to climb about 70 stairs to reach there.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lionsanjeevmonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Royal_Group, Manager at Royal Resorts: Royal Kovalam Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Kovalam Beach Club at Green Palms!

Many thanks for making time to review our resort on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful for your comments. We apologize that we did not meet you expectations of great services and not serving the welcome drink to you.

We are putting effort to ensure that hence-forth such shortfalls are not repeated again.

Thank you and look forward to seeing you again.

Best Wishes

JOHN JOSEPH
Manager
Royal Kovalam Beach Club at Green Plams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Royal Resorts: Royal Kovalam Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 29 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

Has we just last year join the royal club,we took the membership by seeing the goa property and the facility that they are offering,this was our first trip ,and expected the same thing at kovalam property,but what to it was worst experience,the property was not that good ,i was travelling with wife and 2 year kid,my room was on 6th floor, there were no lift,the lift they provide was only till 3rd floor, there was no proper restaurant,food choices was limited and that also to expensive,there was every thing alacarte ,i found food very expensive .there was no buffet system.for b/f,lnch &DNR we decided to eat outside.beside that gym was good for nothing,horible st up,and if ur traveling with ur kids age between 2 to 4yrs ,there is no play house or any other kind of play activities,very disappointed with that.there is no proper information desk,the people out there aslo dosent give u proper information ,i booked only one place but it was very bad experience,going so far for tour and u find hardly any thing there.worst propery i give this resort 1 star ..............and tell others not go to this property again.vijay

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vijay2476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Royal_Group, Manager at Royal Resorts: Royal Kovalam Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Royal Kovalam Beach Club at Green Palms!

Many thanks for making time to review our resort on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful for your comments .Your views are very important to us and help us to improve our service and better understand of our guest's needs.

We apologize that we did not meet your expectations of great service and standards.

We are concentrating on specific areas you mentioned and are taking measures to improve on those areas.

We look forward to welcoming you again at our resort.

Best Wishes,

JOHN JOSEPH
Manager
The Royal Kovalam Beach Club at Green Palms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I will recommend never choose this place as your next vacation destination. If you already done with bookings, think again if you can get bookings cancelled.

Locally this place is identified as Lodge. Access to the place is horrible and there are no lights on the kacha way patch goes to this place. Rooms are just average with no modern facilities. Food at restaurant was worst and restaurant itself was stinking. Recreation room was horribly hot without Air-conditioning. I didn’t courage to ask if they have fitness centre too. Pool is at the top floor where you can reach only going up 3 floors through stairs. Room service and cleanliness was horrible.

Simply avoid this place.

Room Tip: Simply avoid this place if you are expecting a resort with facilities like RGBC provides at their Go...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neeraj523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The rooms are basic with good air-conditioning; the reception staff and housekeeping are good but there is not much to rave about the place. The rooms in the 6th floor have a balcony with a good view but the corridor feels like a hot oven because of all the AC units. The apartment units are spacious with a sitting area, the sofa becomes a bed, there are 2 bathrooms. If you have difficulty climbing stairs the rooms above the 4th floor have no lifts and it is a tough walk. The resort is rather cramped and the restaurant is not reliable but you can walk a distance to the shacks by the beach. The beach is not too far away. Try the German bakery along the beach if you walk down the road from Sea face hotel; has a wonderful menu and good food.

Room Tip: Only rooms on the 6th floor; I dont know about the 5th floor
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Premalawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here from Sept 8th to 10th. Nothing much to complain about the place. Ours was 2 units combined together with two bathrooms.

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the beach but a bit isolated from the main road so it is not easy to find. We did not use the spa or the pool as we wanted a relaxing stay.
The place gets very dark after sunset so it is not advisable to go out after 6.30pm and the approach road was pitch dark and full of potholes. So if one has to be extremely cautious and careful.

The hotel staff were courteous especially the girl at the counter (Nithya). The room service was fine in the first day but it took them 45 minutes on the second day even though the resort had only a few guests. The food quality was also fine, nothing much to complain except there was not a lot of choice and it was pricey.

The room was fine except one of the bathrooms had mushroom/fungii growing under the sink cupboard. The walls were broken in a few places. But that did not come in the way of our stay.

Apart from the beach there is not a lot to see. One has to use the travel desk to go to other beaches. The coast was full of restaurants offering varied seafood options. But sadly half of them did not have 75% of what was in the menu. We went to Swiss Cafe and was pretty happy about it.

Only downside was the resort manager (owner?) tried very hard to upsell the Royal Resorts membership. As we were already members he tried his best (lets say force) us to buy upgrades. But after a stern No he left us.

Positives:-
1. Calm and quiet.
2. Close to the beach. Just about 10 mins walk.
3. Well maintained rooms.
4. Courteous staff.
5. Unlimited supply of mineral water.
6. Well maintained resort.
7. We requested a late checkout and it was sorted out without any issues by Nithya.

Negatives:-
1. Quite isolated which means you had to use the travel desk. And they charge double the average rate. We paid Rs.210 from the railway station to resort but they charge Rs.500.
2. Choice of food is very very limited and is pricey. Not a good value for money.
3. Approach road is very bad.
4. Upselling of the Royal Resorts membership.

Otherwise it was a good place and we might come back next year.

Room Tip: Choose either the front facing rooms or the ones on the top floor for a nice view. If you would li...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed Aug 19th to 23 rd. We booked on a promotional 4 nights offer. We took 2 rooms for 2 old persons and 1 family with 2 children. The hotel has lift upto 4 floors only and the 5,6,7 floors are sea view without lift. The swimming pool is on the 5th floor.

Was initially checked into 2 rooms on the 4th floor. As one of the rooms was very small requested for a change of room with sea view. The lady at the reception was very accommodative and after some effort got us a sea view room the next day.

The room on 4th floor was large with a mini fridge, microwave and kettle. The room on 6th floor was smaller but the sea view was excellent. The resort is a good 5-10 minutes walk from the Lighthouse beach(via shortcut – photo provided). However please note the short route is not lit during the evening and may be avoided after 6 pm. Even the main approach road is not done properly and may be difficult to use in rain. However I was assured by local people that the area is perfectly safe and the locals very co operative.(However advise is to avoid after 7 – 8 pm as the road is not well lit)

Resort is well kept and neat. Swimming pool was OK except for the steps which was broken and was repaired after I pointed out. Staff – many exceptionally friendly and accommodative – especially Ms Nithya at the front desk. However the same cannot be mentioned about others at the reception. Check in was easy – in 5-10 minutes. Housekeeping also friendly and trying to help. Restaurant – OK. Above 4th floor not suitable for old people as the climb is quite steep.

Positives : 1) Excellent sea view room on 5 to 7 floors with a view of the lighthouse 2) Resort outlay is good despite no lift from 5-7 floors. 3) Resort is well maintained 4) Most staff friendly 5) Most equipment like fridge, Ac etc in perfect working condition 6) Unlimited supply of filtered water 7)
Negatives : 1) No proper approach road 2) Short cut to the beach not lit properly 3) Some rooms are small 4) Attitude of some staff not friendly

The only low point of the stay was the rude behavior of a sales supervisor on the last day – he expected us to be a member of Royal Resorts after a 90 minute presentation by his team – expected us to believe every word of the sales pitch and commit. He was extremely rude and that made us think twice about a Royal membership.

Apart from the above we did not face any major problems at the resort.

Room Tip: 5th to 7 floor are sea view - magnificient view. Some rooms are small say room 301 which is very sm...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R_varkki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 weeks here. We cannot complain about the accommodation - we had a one bedroom apartment (which was actually 2 units with the connecting door unlocked). The household staff were really good. They were very friendly and soon started bringing us fruit from their gardens and refused any payment.
Can't say the same for the restaurant. We ate there on our first night and were very disappointed. The tables hadn't been clear from lunch and were dirty. When the waiter finally arrived he did nothing to rectify it so we ate our meal surrounded by dirty crockery and cutlery. My wife enjoyed her meal but I had chicken and it comprised 3 very large pieces that turned out to be nearly all bone. Needless to say we didn't eat there again.
Having been to several other Royal Resorts we were disappointed. It simply is not up to the standard of the others.
Pool: fine
Reception: Okay

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LambchopTavira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kovalam
0.0 mi away
Maharaju Palace
Maharaju Palace
#11 of 52 in Kovalam
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orion Beach Resort
Orion Beach Resort
#37 of 96 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jeevan Beach Resort
Jeevan Beach Resort
#40 of 52 in Kovalam
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pappukutty Beach Resort
Pappukutty Beach Resort
#38 of 52 in Kovalam
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marigold Mini House
Marigold Mini House
#45 of 87 in Kovalam
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stay Well Ayurvedic Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Resorts: Royal Kovalam Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Resorts: Royal Kovalam Beach Club

Address: Near Avaduthura Temple | Vizhinjam-post, Kovalam Beach, Kovalam 695521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Kovalam
Price Range: $20 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Kovalam Beach Club is perched high on the hillside nearby the magnificent Arabian Sea and gorgeous white sand beaches. The resort boasts a large rooftop swimming pool and children’s pool with sundeck and loungers. It is comprised of 14 hotel units and six one-bedroom modern apartments each with en-suite bathroom, cable television, refrigerator & coffee/tea making facilities. One-bedroom apartments feature partial kitchens. All rooms have a terrace where guests can relax and take in the magnificent views of one of Kovalam’s most popular beaches, the stunning, Lighthouse Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Resorts: Royal Kovalam Beach Club Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing