We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kovalam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Resorts: Royal Kovalam Beach Club
Ranked #57 of 87 Kovalam B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 3, 2012

the location of resort is not good and the approach road is very bad restaurant food is also not good ,swimming pool is not good the staff behaviour is very bad, so i advise not to go in royal kovalam beach club..

Room Tip: dont go to royal kovalam beach club
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Govind_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Royal Resorts: Royal Kovalam Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 29 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

We were there in April 2012. We were booked for 1 bedroom apartment and found out that AC was not working so reception staff were very helpful and put us in 2 hotel units on 5th floor which was better and more privacy. Our room was near the pool. Restaurant was good. Staff very hard working. Temple is near the hotel and speakers are very loud if they have their festival.

Room Tip: rooms near the swimming pool are more spacious with balcony and privacy
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Cherry2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We used this hotel as we are members of the Royal Resorts club and wanted to visit Kerala. The location is a bit out of the way, definitely not on the beach!Its about 5-10 minutes walk depending on if you take the short cut or walk around the road. The hotel itself is pleasant enough, excellent sized apartments, well furnished. Nice if small pool with comfortable sun loungers. The one breakfast we had in the hotel was a bit disappointing compared to what you can buy in the restaurants nearby.The service is up to the usual Royal standards. One word of warning it is very close to temple which has a forty day festival in March/April, be prepared to be woken at 5.30am every day by the locals being called to worship, for some unknown reason the have huge speakers pointed directly at the hotel!!!

Room Tip: Ask for accommodation on floor 6 or above, lower rooms do not have a sea view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Building Works Completed.
Member suites good, air conditioned, tv's in both rooms, bathrooms though need updating.
No cooking facilities, but can provide toaster and microwave at additional cost.
Staff friendly and helpful and the pool was a delight, very clean.
Restaurant food was good not overpriced, room service was also good.
On the whole a lovely resort, short walk from beach front (which we preferred) with all the usual facilities you would expect from Royal.
No commission charged on currency exchange, very good rates.
24hr reception.
Tour Facilities.

Room Tip: First Four floors serviced by lift, balcony's facing palms and distant sea view. Pool Fifth Flo...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

A wonderful beach hotel though not on the beach but less than a minute from the beach
The property was not fully ready when we visited but what we saw and experienced was simply great. Facilities like spa and Ayurvedic massage centre were yet to be operational. The rooms were very spacious and the service good. Ambiance was excellent and the hotel maintained well inspite of work ongoing. I only felt that the food served at the resturant could be worked on as compared to the hotel facillities

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ppr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We as a family stayed there for four nights, starting on 8th August. We had a wonderful stay and really a memorable break from all the hectic routines. The accommodation was well furnished, maintained and well kept cleaned. We stayed in a hotel unit and it was pleasantly finished and clean.
The hotel is on a limb, amidst rural surroundings and lots of green palms! The beach is about 5minutes walk away from the hotel, but seen from the roof level. The staffs were very helpful and prompts which was really impressive! They have a swimming pool on the 5th floor. The rooms on the fifth floor are facing the pool, but the other rooms on the first four floors face the other side. The nearby lighthouse beach has a great view of the sunset.
The restaurant, which seems like newly opened, had very helpful staff, with plenty of delicious menu. The food was exceptionally good! They served lots of menus plus some fresh fried Karimeen (a special type of river fish famous in Kerala) and were of great standard. We liked it a lot.

The Spa, with its traditional facilities and their expert staffs were really good for one to rejuvenate. The ayurvedic doctor as its spa manger also helps in recommending the right medication and treatment for you. The rooms are of very good quality and hygiene is maintained. My father liked the spa and the ayurvedic treatment a lot!

An evening leisure near the seashore and beach is mind-bowing. There is a games place for children and a well maintained swimming pool for the entire family to enjoy.
As the resort has a well facilitated travel service we visited many places in Kovalam. Then we went to Poovar (is a small coastal village in the Trivandrum district of Kerala state) to enjoy the backwaters boat ride of Kerala. Another place we enjoyed was the boat trip and the floating restaurant at Veli (a tourist Village is an ideal picnic spot situated 12 km away from Thiruvananthapuram city in Kerala). We enjoyed so much that we wished that the day never ended. But look forward for another vacation and holidaying at another destination of Royal Resorts.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
16  Thank joshual5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

beautiful hotel,my kid, hubby n myself hd a blast in this hotel
our room ws on the 4th floor n we could see swimmig pool attached to the balcony
the view ws amazing, hardly 50 steps from the hotel ws kovalam beach
it ws like our personal swimming pool, no ws around to disturb us, just ourselves
kovalam beach is called virgin beach, the water is green color, we could see shells,
i n my kid were busy collecting shells, we used to go for sun bath
services ws also good
staff ws nice

Room Tip: best room ws ours , on 4th floor nearswimming pool
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mayupriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kovalam
0.0 mi away
Maharaju Palace
Maharaju Palace
#11 of 52 in Kovalam
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orion Beach Resort
Orion Beach Resort
#37 of 96 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jeevan Beach Resort
Jeevan Beach Resort
#40 of 52 in Kovalam
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pappukutty Beach Resort
Pappukutty Beach Resort
#38 of 52 in Kovalam
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marigold Mini House
Marigold Mini House
#45 of 87 in Kovalam
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stay Well Ayurvedic Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Resorts: Royal Kovalam Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Resorts: Royal Kovalam Beach Club

Address: Near Avaduthura Temple | Vizhinjam-post, Kovalam Beach, Kovalam 695521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Kovalam
Price Range: $20 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Kovalam Beach Club is perched high on the hillside nearby the magnificent Arabian Sea and gorgeous white sand beaches. The resort boasts a large rooftop swimming pool and children’s pool with sundeck and loungers. It is comprised of 14 hotel units and six one-bedroom modern apartments each with en-suite bathroom, cable television, refrigerator & coffee/tea making facilities. One-bedroom apartments feature partial kitchens. All rooms have a terrace where guests can relax and take in the magnificent views of one of Kovalam’s most popular beaches, the stunning, Lighthouse Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Resorts: Royal Kovalam Beach Club Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing