We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of 3rd Rock

3rd Rock
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
London
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Many people have raved over this restaurant and I just wanted to confirm our experience. Four of us were staying at the Taj and ventured out beyond their wonderful walls to have a meal here. We were not disappointed. The food was fresh and delicious and the waiter went out of his way to get us some wine when they had run out. It was so nice sitting on the walkway above the beach by candlelight with the crash of the sea just in front of us. Don't be put off by the less than salubrious surroundings. It is all clean and fresh. Fantastic value and a memorable experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mertonmadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    79
    12
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very friendly and good food”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I was staying in a nearby hotel for work and came to this restaurant with various colleagues a number of times over 3 weeks. Everyone who ate there had nothing but good things to say about the food and Saj the waiter was extremely helpful and genuinely friendly. I cannot recommend it enough and thanks to Saj and the others for the great times we had here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chaoslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Breakwater seating”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Easy and relaxing atmosphere with multicuisine services. Easy-going dining, tasty and well prepared meals.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PepiFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fab food”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

The 3rd Rock is still our favourite beachside restaurant in Kovalam. The food is great and we are always so well looked after by Saaj. It is always a pleasure to go and eat there at lunchtime or in the evening.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilkesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Warmly welcoming atmosphere, great food, view and service”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is great value for money. We were warmly greeted by Saj, who was an excellent host and who looked after us very well. We watched the sun go down whilst sipping an ice cold Kingfisher, the waves breaking just below our feet. The food we ate on the two occasions we visited was the best we have eaten in Kerela.
This restaurant should be number 1 in Kovalam.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3rd Rock also viewed

Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to 3rd Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing