We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ambiance and hospitality”
Review of Bait

Bait
Ranked #2 of 64 Restaurants in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant is functional for Lunch 1230 - 1500 hours/ Dinner 1930-2230 hours.
Hyderabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Amazing ambiance and hospitality”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We visited this restaurant on our anniversary. Had requested them if they could do something special. My husband is a pure vegetarian and they prepared a special menu for us. Decorated our table beautifully and made it a very special day for us. They even offered to babysit our 10 month old baby, though we did not use that service. After the meal, we spent time sitting on the beach and they served our dessert there.

Food was good, though not extraordinary. Staff was amazing, and so was the overall ambiance.

Loved it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank itspriyanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    87
    37
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Good food and service. Food selection is good but less than the pool side restaurants. Bring your mosquito repellent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank nueli_goes_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good restaurant with an amazing ambience”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

we reached the restaurant on an overcast day - tucked between the roaring sea on one side and a backwater (not really, but closely resembles one) on the other side, it was almost paradise on earth. they had some nice hammocks on the lawn, nice seating facing the beach and a small pier on the backside of the restaurant with a country boat (vallam) anchored to it. The restaurant serves beer and wine, though no spirits. food was good, but on the expensive side. the variety is very limited - i found myself going thru the menu multiple times to chose from the limited options. i didnt find anything appealing from the deserts section at all. Overall, an excellent place to visit on a special occasion. (I didnt stay at Taj, just went for the lunch alone).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainMiserable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beachside restaurant”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

The beach side restaurant of the Taj hotel is quite a way away from the hotel. U need a buggy ride to get here. The best part of this place is the location and view. Actual beach side and sea facing. Its an experience. But the food. We happened to come in Feb 14th when they had a valentine day three course meal and nothing else, which was poor in variety and I believe a tad overpriced even by taj standards. Possibly the menu on other days could be different.

Helpful?
1 Thank Arjun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a location!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

It's like one of those 'most romantic' places to dine at.

Great food and better view! Bait has a lot to offer as part of a culinary delight experience. A must visit for sea food lovers. Drinks at the restaurant are another experience :-)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ankitahuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bait also viewed

Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Bait? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing