We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view, but otherwise didn't measure up to my expectations”
Review of Bait

Bait
Ranked #3 of 64 Restaurants in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Restaurant is functional for Lunch 1230 - 1500 hours/ Dinner 1930-2230 hours.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good view, but otherwise didn't measure up to my expectations”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is my second visit to Kovalam and I remember my favorite thing about Bait was the pizza, however they don't serve pizza after a certain time in the evening (possibly 5pm) because they close down the wood burning ovens.
The other options didn't sound as appealling and were rather expensive. AMAZING VIEW though. Not the best service

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JHeideb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    86
    37
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Al-Fresco dining by the sea”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Bait is the restaurant by the beach, part of the Vivanta by Taj Kovalam hotel complex. We dined here on the second night of our stay, having been introduced to the head waiter the day before, who appeared to be passionate about his work there. It was a fantastic experience, with excellent choice and beautifully presented food. The evening was warm, the sky was clear, and we dined to the sound of breaking waves. Paradise!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nb-kelly-louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Wonderful service and delicious food. We came here on our last night with a group and the chef cooked the dishes exactly as requested. Delicious calamari and grilled fish.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelighttraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely setting”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went here twice (its the restaurant attached to the Taj Vivanta hotel, but you need to take one of their buggies to reach it).
This is a waterfront setting, on the beach. Atmosphere is dark and romantic. Food was great - better on our first visit than our second in fairness. They bring lovely amuses-bouche to start and then rice and bread accompany the fish dishes (we went for catch of the day).
The second visit was a tad spoiled by an over-exuberent waiter doubling up on all his colleagues efforts and practically shouting at us as we sat down.. he did not think we had booked. They were busy that evening - a few parties as it was the tail-end of a big wedding event the hotel was hosting. Anyway, he really annoyed us.
I would go back though.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank OverworkedUnderpaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Best Sea Food Restaurant in Trivandrum”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great decor and ambiance overlooking the Arabian Sea. The best place to enjoy your sea food and drinks in an outdoor setting. The service and kitchen staff are very informative and they can cook and serve any sea food as per your taste and preference.

Its always better to reserve and go as its usually crowded during weekends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank TonyJosephTrivandrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bait also viewed

Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Bait? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing