We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A change from a Curry” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiss Cafe

Swiss Cafe
Ranked #17 of 64 Restaurants in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Cafe, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A change from a Curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I love a curry and in Kovolam there are many places to enjoy one.
If like me you like only mild curry you might get a craving for something a little cooler. Every 4 days or so I would dine at The Swiss Cafe and have a wonderful Spaghetti Carbonara. Stange to go to India for an Italian pasta dish, but it had to be done, it got me ready to go back to the curries for a while.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank 118John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    75
    21
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Ate here twice the food was really good, nice to sit out overlooking the sea. I liked the fact they they do not try to drag you inside.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank unhappybrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely prawns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

we went for dinner, very honest told us they some items not available because it's out of season and they only keep small stock and sold out. We had tiger prawns and fries and sizzerling chicken and returned next day for lunch and had 3 servings of prawns and fries between two because they were so good.
this restaurant was unusual because it had no one out side hard selling

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maximdeparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food was ok but quantity is very less.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Myself and my friends had a lunch. We order 4 chicken fried rice with finger chips. Finger chips was good. Our chicken fried rice has only one small piece of chicken but its not worth for the name. Finger chips - 70 Rs and chicken fried rice - 95 Rs (very small amount).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank g_shanmuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kovalam, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“leisure hang out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

this place is local run and way relaxed. the food is good and the prices appropriate. not thrills, but that's the thrill i like.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank muringa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss Cafe also viewed

 
Kovalam, Kerala
 

Been to Swiss Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing