We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best in kovalam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turtle On The Beach
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Tirunelveli, India
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“one of the best in kovalam”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Excellent hotel, sad it is not on the beach has an excellent view of the bay.Rooms are spacious and very clean . staff always willing to please.Food is excellent and worth.Pool is very small but clean.spa excelelnt and well kept.

Room Tip: go for the sea view room they r very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrRoyTVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are elated to be rated as ‘one of the best in Kovalam’.

It was a pleasure to serve you and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is in proximity to the beach and there is ample conveyance to reach the beautiful sandy shores. We are glad that you loved the view from our accommodation. Your appreciation for our service and food has been shared with the relevant departments and it is highly motivating for them.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    339
    107
    45
    33
See reviews for
328
387
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

With a warm welcome, we started our stay in turtle. The sea view room we stay is so comfortable. All the staff in this hotel are very nice and friendly to the guests. The spa center gave very relax ayurveda massage. We enjoy the swimming pool a lot, very clean and the water is warm. Also, here is located next to the kovalam beach, the free drop to the beach is really convenient and we can also reach the beach by foot for only 5 mins. I believe the owner of turtle has a good taste, because in very corner even in the rooms we found beautiful decorations. Thanks to turtle we had a very relax vacation in kovalam!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisytwtwtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us an insight about your vacation with us.

We are happy that you had a good start with our warm welcome. It is nice to know that you liked the splendid view that our rooms have to offer. Your appreciation for our associates has been conveyed to them and it is highly motivating for them. We are glad that the pool and our location are at par with your expectations.

We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Returned for 3 weeks end of Jan 2014, had the same room as before room 402. This was our second stay at this hotel, we arrived early again and were given a temporary room until ours was ready which was very much appreciated.
The service again could not be faulted, with all the staff helpful and friendly, nothing is to much trouble. Thanks to all for another great holiday.
We will be returning later this year in November and January next year hope we can have the same room and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kep39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again.

We are delighted to know that your second visit was as good as the first one. Our associates take care in providing maximum comfort to our guests and this is evident through your review. Your appreciation for the service of our associates has been shared with them and it is highly motivating for them. We are happy that you will be returning back to our hotel.

We look forward to interacting with you on our social media channels.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

One of the best beach resort I have ever visited. the view, food, rooms & hospitality is fantastic!
my kids had a really wonderful time there.we have visited it about six months back, but we remember each and very wonderful moment that we spent there.

Room Tip: The rooms above entrance deck level give a better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 509SUMMER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel.

It was a pleasure to serve you and your family at our resort and we are happy to be rated as the best beach resort by you on this forum. It is amazing that even after such long duration you were able to recall the moments spent at our hotel.

Please share any picture clicked at our hotel on our Facebook page. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

From the moment we arrived at the airport, we were met by a driver sent by the hotel. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted and treated Royally by the smiling and friendly staff (including the front office manager Soby) at the Turtle. Our stay was for 10 days and we used the Turtle as our base as we toured Kovalam and Tamil Nadu. We were given a superb room (as promised) with a magnificent panoramic view of the Arabian Sea. The room was very clean and all the amenities were replenished daily. We were concerned about our meals since we are pure vegetarians but honestly we could not have been more pleased with the delicious array of veg. options presented at every meal by the hotel's fantastic Chef Rishi. To all the staff at the Turtle a million thanks for such a memorable trip and such wonderful memories. We are very much looking forward to returning to the Turtle in the very near future!

Room Tip: Try to get the higher floors with Arabian Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments with us.

The team at Turtle on the Beach believes in leaving a fine impression from the moment our guests enter the hotel. We are happy that you were impressed by our conveyance arrangement and loved the welcome ritual practice at our hotel. We are glad that you liked the room and the view that our Arabian Sea room offers. It is nice to know that the chef could satisfy your palate by catering to your special requests. Your big thank you note has been shared with the associates which has inspired them.

We would be very happy to welcome you with the same spirit on your future visits.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Booked after reading many positive reviews. But disappointed with the location and experience. Having stayed in Leela Kovalam, this hotel location comes no where. Better stay in Poovar- Estuary Island Resort (belongs to same Group of TOTB) instead of this hotel, it's location is very good and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGPSAMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are disappointed to learn about your stay experience with us.

Turtle on the Beach is located in close proximity to the light house beach and we provide free beach drop for all our guests. We always go that extra mile to ensure that our guests leave with smile's on their faces however we regret the inconvenience caused during your stay and hope to correct the same. Though we are glad to hear that you were extremely happy with the experience at Estuary Island which is also a part of Thomas Hotels & Resorts.

We hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you at our resort.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed at Turtle on the Beach for 8 days earlier this month. Lovely hotel. Very friendly helpful staff.. Big thank you to Shameerkhan,Manos, Sulphi & the beautiful Violet. Rained every day but did not spoil our enjoyment. Think the staff may have thought it odd that two middle aged English women were happy to stay on sunloungers under roofed pergola in torrential rain but there we go! Lovely library room with tea & biccies served. End of season so very few other guests there. Would definely return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deeryan1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us for your escapade in Kerala.

Turtle on the beach is not just a destination but it offers a different way of enjoying the beauty of Kerala. We are happy that you had a comfortable stay and loved the refreshing rains. It is nice to know that you liked the library room and the tea served. Your appreciation for our associates has been shared with them and it will help them to stay motivated.

Your mention about returning to our hotel is truly inspiring. We would also love to connect with you through our social media channels.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.9 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#5 of 50 in Kovalam
532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 50 in Kovalam
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle On The Beach

Property: Turtle On The Beach
Address: ITDC Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle On The Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By blending the finest of art with the most sophisticated luxury, Turtle on the Beach brings about a new grammar in holidaying in this part of the world. You will find it unique in every way you look at it, either as a whole or in parts that make it a whole. And that makes Turtle on the Beach a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle On The Beach Hotel Kovalam
Turtle On The Beach Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing