We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit - great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle On The Beach
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Second visit - great experience”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Second visit - twelve months apart, stayed for 14 nights. Stayed in room within main building - great views/fantastic service from all staff, every day. Will definitely recommend hotel and plan to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve3236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your feedback.

We are glad to know that your stay with us was at par with your expectations and we could offer you another wonderful stay. We thank you for appreciating the view and the service provided to you at Turtle on the Beach. Your kinds words of appreciation have been shared with the entire team and this will certainly motivate them.

We thank you for your patronage and hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    363
    112
    46
    33
See reviews for
365
402
32
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the start of our honeymoon for one night and got a free upgrade to the presidential suite! The amenities included a hot tub, roof terrace with a living space spread across two floors and a clear view out to sea. Service was excellent, staff were friendly and helpful. Dinner was great but the inclusive breakfast buffet was a bit lacking.

Overall a nice clean hotel with a great atmosphere and stunning views.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! It was a pleasure to be your host at Turtle on the Beach. We are glad that the services and the location of our hotel could add value to your stay.

Located close to the Kovalam Beach, our hotel in Kerala is a popular choice among leisure travelers. However, your concern regarding the breakfast buffet has been conveyed to the team. Thank you again for recommending us to fellow travelers and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

From the moment we wearily arrived at 5:00 o'clock in the morning to be offered a fresh cup of tea, we felt welcome. Our room was enormous with a gigantic bed to match. The air conditioning worked perfectly and we enjoyed the large balcony with a fine view of the beach.

The staff were warm and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. In the evening we could eat by the pool with sitar music - very atmospheric. I am not a foodie so not the best to judge its quality. But I enjoyed it and had no stomach trouble throughout my stay.

I went to Kovalam to crash out and relax. And I did so feeling pampered all the time. The pool was good though the surrounding decking not properly attached. The hotel staff run you down to the beach at the drop of a hat for no charge. It is good to be high up above the beach to catch the sea breezes and to enjoy complete quiet.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the superior rooms with the large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truffle287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your feedback with us.

We are glad to know that your stay with us was at par with your expectations and that the location of our hotel could add value to your stay. We thank you for appreciating the food and the service provided to you at Turtle on the Beach. Your kinds words of appreciation have been shared with the entire team and this will certainly motivate them.

We thank you for your patronage and hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was one of the best stay near beach I ever had..but felt over priced for the facilities..Amenities were excellent and food was just awesome..nice rooms and easy access to beach. clean rooms and spacious restaurant. Room service is good enough for a star hotel..Overall we are satidfied with the accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaBaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to be your host at Turtle on the Beach.

We are glad that your overall stay at our hotel was pleasant and you were completely satisfied with our amenities, delectable food spread and comfortable rooms. However, we would like to inform you that our pricing policy is based on the par excellence services that we offer.

We are grateful to you for your words of appreciation and look forward to your continued patronage.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The hotel is situated a short walk down to the beach. I expected it to be on the Beach and the advertising is misleading/economical with the truth. However I was not disappointed. For a 3* rated hotel it was good value for money, good service and good food. A smoker had used the room they first offered but they quickly showed me two more rooms. The one I selected was opposite the pool and was excellent. No 203.The pool and restaurant are on this level so very handy for your room and popping in/out.

Its location is ideal for beach restaurants and facilities. If you want 5* prices and service there are other hotels in Kovalam but not so ideally located as the Turtle on the Beach for walking to all the town facilities. Would I stay here again, yes

Room Tip: If you want a balcony go upstairs in the hotel, if you want access to the pool and restaurant then a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gallythemole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at Turtle on the Beach and sharing your experience.

Located in proximity to the beach, our hotel is one of the sought after accommodation options amongst leisure travelers. We are glad that you found our location convenient and it could add value to your stay. We are happy to know that you found our rooms comfortable and our associates were able to assist you.

We will look forward to welcoming you and thank you for your patronage.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week over christmas.

What's good:
The location: down a little hill to the beach and many bars and restaurants. Try the Waves restaurant, great atmosphere.
The food in the a l carte restaurant.
The facilities in the room (great TV, comfy bed, room service, the balcony had a dining table for 4 and a fan). Out of the many hotels we stayed in this was the best equipped room.
If you need anything or have any issues just ask, it's sorted straight away.
Although the pool seems unusual. I loved the fact that there were areas you can sunbathe that are away from the crowds (boutique style).
The taxi driver outside the hotel actually saved my life. Long story but he risked his own to get me to the hospital in the city where I ended up in ICU. Please please help me thank him by using him. His name is BALA (only a bit more than a rickshaw).

What could be better:
More outside tables for breakfast.
More parasols for sun loungers outside the rooms.
Some of the prices are a bit steep. E.g. Wifi and alcohol

Overall we had a comfortable stay here and we would stay again but probably book through mercury direct next time to get a better deal.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5tracyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you at Turtle on the Beach. We thank you for sharing your experience on this public platform and are glad to know that you had a wonderful time at our resort in Kovalam.

We are happy to know that our location added value to your stay and you enjoyed the scenic beauty around as well as the many bars and the restaurants nearby. The fact that you liked the rooms and the amenities provided also gives us great satisfaction.

Your feelings of gratitude will surely be communicated to Mr.Bala and your suggestions have also been noted regarding breakfast tables, parasols. and we assure you that adequate measures will be taken wherever necessary. We also take this opportunity to inform you that all the prices are set according to the industry standards.

We thank you for your custom and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mosta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

our 2nd visit to kerala and kovalam.stayed for 11 nights @turtle and enjoyed our stay very much.we had a very large arabian seaview room including a huge balcony.rooms come complete with a mini bar,coffee makier and good a/c.bathroom also very large but the bath and glass partition in need of maintenance.
we were booked on b/b as we like to savour the many restaurants in the area.b/fast is great if you like indian cuisine but if like us its not ,then very limited for choice.the managment offered us a complimentary buffett dinner on our last night which we enjoyed and appreciated.
the swimming pool is ok but small for the amount of rooms they have.wifi is by payment and not cheap.staff very friendly and the location of the hotel is very good although not on the beach.
the main problem with the hotel is that it is advertised as a 5 star which it most certainly is not but in my opinion it is a very good 3 star property which i would not have a problem to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woodhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you at Turtle on the Beach and we thank you for sharing your experience with us.

At Turtle on the Beach, our endeavor is to provide you with a memorable experience through excellence in service. We are happy to know that your stay was pleasant. We are glad to know that you liked the rooms and the amenities provided to you. Our resort is located amidst beautiful scenic locations and it gives us great satisfaction to know that it added value to your stay.

I have looked at your concern about the breakfast experience and the chef has made some additions to the menu. Though we are close to the beach we do offer a free beach Drop for all guest from 7: 00 am to 6:00 pm.

We once again thank you for sharing your feedback and will wait for you to book with us again.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.9 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
558 reviews
3.8 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle On The Beach

Property: Turtle On The Beach
Address: ITDC Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Turtle On The Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By blending the finest of art with the most sophisticated luxury, Turtle on the Beach brings about a new grammar in holidaying in this part of the world. You will find it unique in every way you look at it, either as a whole or in parts that make it a whole. And that makes Turtle on the Beach a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle On The Beach Hotel Kovalam
Turtle On The Beach Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing