We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turtle On The Beach
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The hotel is situated a short walk down to the beach. I expected it to be on the Beach and the advertising is misleading/economical with the truth. However I was not disappointed. For a 3* rated hotel it was good value for money, good service and good food. A smoker had used the room they first offered but they quickly showed me two more rooms. The one I selected was opposite the pool and was excellent. No 203.The pool and restaurant are on this level so very handy for your room and popping in/out.

Its location is ideal for beach restaurants and facilities. If you want 5* prices and service there are other hotels in Kovalam but not so ideally located as the Turtle on the Beach for walking to all the town facilities. Would I stay here again, yes

Room Tip: If you want a balcony go upstairs in the hotel, if you want access to the pool and restaurant then a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gallythemole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at Turtle on the Beach and sharing your experience.

Located in proximity to the beach, our hotel is one of the sought after accommodation options amongst leisure travelers. We are glad that you found our location convenient and it could add value to your stay. We are happy to know that you found our rooms comfortable and our associates were able to assist you.

We will look forward to welcoming you and thank you for your patronage.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    348
    107
    46
    33
See reviews for
337
392
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week over christmas.

What's good:
The location: down a little hill to the beach and many bars and restaurants. Try the Waves restaurant, great atmosphere.
The food in the a l carte restaurant.
The facilities in the room (great TV, comfy bed, room service, the balcony had a dining table for 4 and a fan). Out of the many hotels we stayed in this was the best equipped room.
If you need anything or have any issues just ask, it's sorted straight away.
Although the pool seems unusual. I loved the fact that there were areas you can sunbathe that are away from the crowds (boutique style).
The taxi driver outside the hotel actually saved my life. Long story but he risked his own to get me to the hospital in the city where I ended up in ICU. Please please help me thank him by using him. His name is BALA (only a bit more than a rickshaw).

What could be better:
More outside tables for breakfast.
More parasols for sun loungers outside the rooms.
Some of the prices are a bit steep. E.g. Wifi and alcohol

Overall we had a comfortable stay here and we would stay again but probably book through mercury direct next time to get a better deal.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5tracyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you at Turtle on the Beach. We thank you for sharing your experience on this public platform and are glad to know that you had a wonderful time at our resort in Kovalam.

We are happy to know that our location added value to your stay and you enjoyed the scenic beauty around as well as the many bars and the restaurants nearby. The fact that you liked the rooms and the amenities provided also gives us great satisfaction.

Your feelings of gratitude will surely be communicated to Mr.Bala and your suggestions have also been noted regarding breakfast tables, parasols. and we assure you that adequate measures will be taken wherever necessary. We also take this opportunity to inform you that all the prices are set according to the industry standards.

We thank you for your custom and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mosta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

our 2nd visit to kerala and kovalam.stayed for 11 nights @turtle and enjoyed our stay very much.we had a very large arabian seaview room including a huge balcony.rooms come complete with a mini bar,coffee makier and good a/c.bathroom also very large but the bath and glass partition in need of maintenance.
we were booked on b/b as we like to savour the many restaurants in the area.b/fast is great if you like indian cuisine but if like us its not ,then very limited for choice.the managment offered us a complimentary buffett dinner on our last night which we enjoyed and appreciated.
the swimming pool is ok but small for the amount of rooms they have.wifi is by payment and not cheap.staff very friendly and the location of the hotel is very good although not on the beach.
the main problem with the hotel is that it is advertised as a 5 star which it most certainly is not but in my opinion it is a very good 3 star property which i would not have a problem to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woodhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you at Turtle on the Beach and we thank you for sharing your experience with us.

At Turtle on the Beach, our endeavor is to provide you with a memorable experience through excellence in service. We are happy to know that your stay was pleasant. We are glad to know that you liked the rooms and the amenities provided to you. Our resort is located amidst beautiful scenic locations and it gives us great satisfaction to know that it added value to your stay.

I have looked at your concern about the breakfast experience and the chef has made some additions to the menu. Though we are close to the beach we do offer a free beach Drop for all guest from 7: 00 am to 6:00 pm.

We once again thank you for sharing your feedback and will wait for you to book with us again.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england, birmingham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights on a 2 week tour around India.
We were in room 116 for the first night. There was a little dissatisfaction which was soon rectified by friendly staff and we were moved to room 208 which was more suitable for our needs.

We had breakfast here with plenty of choice both Indian and continental. In evenings I enjoyed the bar service with beer served CHILLED by half pints so you get the 2nd half pint just as chilled as the first.

The swimming pool is nice too, just over the edge with good views. The beach is just a 5 minute walk with free courtesy bus taking you there with lots of bars and restaurants. Leela hotel is just 5 minutes walk too.

Overall its a faultless hotel with everything close by meeting all needs. We will return when we are back in Kerala again and next time would like to stay longer.
Generally all staff were nice. I like to mention 2 staff in particular, Aruna in reception and Aditya in restaurant for their services.
On a politer note may I suggest you nailing down the decking which is a little loose in places
Thank you. :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indokarasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at Turtle on the Beach on your recent trip to Kerala and sharing your experience with us.

Our resort is located in close proximity to the Kovalam beach which makes it an ideal choice amongst leisure travelers. We are happy that you found the food served and the service delivery by our associates to your liking. Your kinds words of appreciation have been shared with the entire team and this will certainly motivate them.

We thank you for your custom and recommending us to fellow travelers. We wish to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We were 4 families travelling together so the hotel staff provided us all the rooms next to each other. The staff was courteous and excellent in there service. The location is perfect and just 5 minutes walk will land you on the beach. The food was OK. I will also rate the spa as also one of the best we had in our Kerala vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gargrahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at Turtle on the Beach and sharing your review with us.

We are glad that your stay with us was at par with your expectations. We are happy to know that you were delighted with the services, facilities and amenities provided to you at the hotel. Our hotel is located next to Kovalam Beach and is a preferred choice among the leisure travelers and we are pleased that the location could add value to your stay. We thank you appreciating our spa and the services provided to you. We will share your review with our associates which will motivate them to keep performing to the best of their abilities.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Very beautiful place. Excellent sea facing rooms with lots of room. Breakfast also had a nice varierty. Service excellent. I went on a business trip but the hotel is ideal for a weekend getaway. Deffinitely recommended.

Room Tip: the sea facing rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lanuk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you at Turtle on the Beach. We thank you for sharing your experience on this public platform and are glad to know that you had a wonderful time at our resort in Kovalam.

At Turtle on the Beach, our primary concern has always been to provide the best possible services to our guests and we are happy to know that your stay was pleasant. Located close to the Eve’s Beach, our resort serves as a preferred destination for leisure travelers. We offer an array of accommodation choices, world-class amenities and hospitable services that add value to the stay of our guests. We are glad that you found our facilities and services upto the mark.

We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to your continued visits.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had two sea & pool facing duplex rooms & they were exceptionally good. Very comfortable room, very spacious bathroom, courteous staff & all luxurious amenities that you would want to pamper yourself with. Beautiful wooden carvings in the lobby and elsewhere also. The spa is also simply lovely & soothing.

Room Tip: Duplex Rooms are lovely. Especially the Pool & Sea facing ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sids2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your review following your stay at Turtle on the Beach.

We are happy to know that you were impressed by our service, amenities and had a pleasant stay experience. Your compliments about the various facets of our hotel are an endorsement of our quality and service culture and we thank you for the same. We take detailed attention of our decor and are pleased to receive your appreciation about it.

Once again, thank you for staying at our hotel in Kovalam and praising our offerings on this forum. We look forward to your future visits.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.9 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
550 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle On The Beach

Property: Turtle On The Beach
Address: ITDC Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle On The Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By blending the finest of art with the most sophisticated luxury, Turtle on the Beach brings about a new grammar in holidaying in this part of the world. You will find it unique in every way you look at it, either as a whole or in parts that make it a whole. And that makes Turtle on the Beach a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Turtle On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle On The Beach Hotel Kovalam
Turtle On The Beach Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing