We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STUNNING! A fantastic holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turtle On The Beach
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“STUNNING! A fantastic holiday!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at this resort just 3 days and it was just bliss. The rooms are HUGE and the view is just to-die-for! The staff was friendly and the food was average. We spent all our time at the hotel but the beach is a short climb down but nothing to write home about. Nevertheless a relaxing holiday that was a definite pep to our moods.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review. We, at Turtle on The Beach, really appreciate your review on this public forum. The staff is inspired by your kind comments.
Turtle on the Beach is a 5-star resort in Kovalam, Kerala. Located on a mind-blowing location with a spectacular view of the crystal clear Arabian Sea, we take great pride in our services, and make sure that every patron is treated like a king. The resort provides for a pleasing view with the state of the art amenities and a relaxing environment.
Once again, thank you for the review. Do give us a chance to host you again, on your next visit to Kovalam.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    344
    107
    45
    33
See reviews for
333
391
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mallikaserry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Turtle on the Beach for a weekend. Check in was big hassle. We had to wait an hour before our room was ready and that too after we arrived one hour after the check in time. Rooms are big and clean and balcony of our Arabian Sea facing room is phenomenal. Food is very average and they are definitely under staffed which results in very long waiting periods for anything - from a spoon to an iron box to a bit of ketchup! But the place nice and quiet. We thought the ayurvedic treatments were a bit expensive but the lady at the ayurvedic centre was well informed and I am sure they do a thorough job though we didnt get any treatments.

Overall a good place but a bit expensive for what you pay.

Room Tip: Take the arabian sea facing room and definitely dont take the garden facing rooms... no privacy at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Avira,
Thank you for choosing us and sharing your experience on this forum. We, at Turtle on the Beach, thrive on our specialty guest treatment and hospitality. Our location and spacious rooms are designed to make your stay a comfortable stay. We have been a preferred choice of leisure travelers visiting Kerala owing to the par excellence standards of hospitality that we offer.
However, we regret that you have to wait at the front desk to check in, and also at the restaurant. Incidences of delays are rare, and would be investigated properly. Thank you for bringing this to our notice, as it is review such as yours that keep us informed and help us in serving our guests better.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had booked the sea facing turtle duplex suite through the central reservations of the hotel chain for a stay of four days. We arrived late evening at Kovalam and had a smooth check in. The duplex suite is excellent......the view from the suite and the balcony of the suite was worth every penny..... The location of the property is a big plus, two beaches are at walkable distances. We were on MAP thus had the oppurtunity of having our b/f's and dinners at "Cataraman"(restaurant). The food was a nice lay for both the meals, the dinners always had a few regional dishes (both veg and non veg) to enjoy. Incase you are a sea food buff, do ring up room service and ask for what you want to try (the in room menu doesn't list these). We had coconut mango prawns and grilled jhinga (hats off to the chef we all loved it). On all days we had to remind house keeping to "make" the suite (we were informed that they were low on house keeping staff ....). Overall a nice and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Book the sea facing property to enjoy your stay in kovalam
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorporateSud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Turtle on the Beach during your stay in Kovalam. We are happy that you took out time to review us on this public platform. The staff is inspired by your kind comments.

Turtle on the Beach is a 5-star resort in Kovalam, Kerala. Located in God’s own Country we take great pride in our services, and make sure that every customer is treated and cared like a family member. With a spell bounding location on the Arabian Sea, the resort provides for a pleasing view with the state of the art amenities.

We once again thank you for a positive review on this public forum and sharing the room tip. Do give us a chance to host you again, on your next visit to Kovalam.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We took an Arabian sea facing room, and its really an experience to watch the water body while one is comfortably lying in bed. Neatly appointed room and nice landscaping are points worth mentioning. Another notable aspect is that down the beach there are plethora of eating joints where one can relish choicest sea food with "poison" of choice.
The area of improvement for this place is the competency of the chef to prepare North Indian food. The North Indian flavor is simply not there. Having said that, the place offers very nice breakfast spread, South India, Chinese and Continental stuff.
Nice staff which is eager to help and serve.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItzAlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Alok,

We thank you for your recent stay at Turtle on the Beach, Kovalam and taking out your precious time to write such kinds words. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your trip with us.

Besides the ideal location and world class amenities, our top most priority is guest satisfaction and we ensure each person staying at the resort has an enjoyable experience. We have noted your concern regarding the preparation of North Indian cuisine. With a feedback like yours it gives us a chance to serve our guests even better.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and look forward to hosting you in the future.


Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It is when you stay in a place like this, you realise the value of a Taj or a Leela. Besides a good location, there is NOTHIN going for this hotel. They are supremely understaffed, the property is in dire needs of repairs, they have NO LIQUOR LICENCE inspite of being in the business for 3 years.

We had gone to Kovalam to celebrate my birthday, along with my wife and kid. Considering this was on the beach we had given the Taj a miss, since it was about 3 kms away. But that was a mistake i realise in hindsight.

When i pay over INR 10000 (USD 200) per night, i expect a minimum set of services. EG there was no easy way to reach the beach which was merely 800 mtrs away but on a VERY steep road which is difficult to walk on with a small kid - a courtesy drop would not have hurt. A drop to the Leela (800 mts away) was charged at INR 250 and a drop to Taj INR 800. I mean, come on! Taj had given us a Range Rover pick and drop to a ferry pickup (1.5kms away) on the house!

We were there for 4 nights and on most of the days housekeeping was making the room WHILE we were in it. This was inspite being away for 3 hours!

The rooms are poorly lit, so poor that you cannot see inside properly. One day one i wanted to check out and go to the Taj, but they refused to refund my balance! So i was stuck.

The pool isnt cleaned every day and there is a lot of muck around. It rained almost everynight while we were there. But even my 9 am there outdoor furniture was wet, the buffet breakfast tables were wet, most of the pool beds did not have a mattress. Those that did, were not cleaned.

More than once i have encountered staff that was rude to us! A lot of dangerous debris is left lying around (junked nails, broken plinths, wet floors etc)

Im not going back EVER.

Room Tip: If at all you book, Ask for a room on higher floors as the view is stunning. Else they will stick yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ketan_pandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, Regional General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Mr. Ketan Pandit,

Thank you for the review and apologies for an uncomfortable stay with us.
The strikingly-designed Turtle on the Beach is a 5-star boutique resort nestled on the Eve’s beach with a spectacular view of the Arabian Sea. We have always set high standards in services quality. However, in a rare occurrence, your experience with us was spoiled due to some easily avoidable mistakes.

We would like to assure you that our management will be personally looking into the incident and will make sure that these problems are resolved at the onset. Feedback such as your provide us with the much needed inputs and help us in constantly upgrading our services.

Once again, thank you for bringing these areas of improvement to our notice. My deepest apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

Warm Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We booked two nights sea facing room in this resort and it was a pleasure staying in this resort on out first b'day togather.

1. Connectivity: Very near to the Kovalam Beach Bus Stand. i will say some 100 mtrs. You can get volvo city bus from east fort bus stand (Trivandrum) to kovalam beach(last stop) with fare jut INR 26/- per head.

2. Check In : Check in was smooth. We reaching at 9.30AM earlier than their usual check in timing of 12 and we were in our room at 10.30.

3. Room: Spacious, neatly done with all the necessary ameneties. But as all the sea facing rooms on the top floors were full, sea view from our room was not good. Bathroom was also big with a bathtub.

4. Food: Catameran restaurant. Breakfast was nice with a lot of options. Service can improve a bit. A few panjabi restaurants are also there just outside the this resort towards the bus stand if you want to try out something else.

5. Pool: They have a big, very well located swimming pool. It was very nice to see sunset while enjoying at pool. A big plus.

Also the highlight of our stay was the complimentary b'day cake.

There is also a short cut from the back side of this resot to the kovalam beach which can easily save you 15-20 mins.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Manish,

We would like to thank you for taking out time to review Turtle on the Beach. The team at the property is very motivated to receive your inspiring words about our living spaces, dining amenities and recreational avenues on this public forum.
Turtle on the Beach is a 5-star resort in Kovalam, Kerala. Located in God’s own Country we take great pride in our services, and make sure that every customer is treated and cared like a family member. With a spell bounding location on the Arabian Sea, the resort provides for a pleasing view with the state of the art amenities.

We once again thank you for a positive review on a public forum. Do give us a chance to host you again, on your next visit to Kovalam.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Excellent location just ten minutes down the albeit steep hill (the unfit or lacking mobility will need a tuk tuk at least for the return journey) to the beach and promenade. The hotel itself has a number of steps and while there is a lift you will still need to be able to cope with steps to move around the complex.

Food and drinks were fine and reasonably priced compared to other hotels of a similar level in Kovalam. The beach side bars are worthwhile visiting and offer cheaper drinks although I felt more inclined to eat at the hotel due to the visibly higher standard of hygene offered there versus the sea front bars. The meal I had on both nights was tasty and well cooked.

Unfortunately I had to mark the hotel down on value for money as it was by far the most expensive accommodation I stayed in during my visit to Kerala. It may well be considered reasonable by Kovalam rates but it certainly didn’t offer the same standard of accommodation as I had stayed in elsewhere for a lower price. The garden facing room I occupied, while acceptable, was looking somewhat tired and in need of renovation. The pool was small and the surrounding decking adjacent to the restaurant needs securing. Each time someone walks across it, it sounded like a herd of elephants crossing.

The staff were all without exception extremely courteous helpful and welcoming. Their hospitality was excellent. I have no regrets for choosing to stay here and would recommend it to others as the best I could find in this area.

NB others have referred the Leela. I visited that hotel during my stay. From what I could see it was grandiose, far more isolated and grotesquely overpriced. Unless you have unlimited wealth the Turtle on the Beach in my opinion offers far better value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

At the onset, we would like to thank you for choosing Turtle on the Beach during your stay in Kovalam. We are happy that you took out time to review us on this public platform. The staff is inspired by your kind comments.

We ensure to make every guest’s stay hassle free and sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have made a note of your concerns regarding the garden maintenance and safekeeping of our poolside.

Your feedback is important to us as it helps us in further enhancing our par excellence services. We would like to welcome you again during your next visit to Kovalam.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.9 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle On The Beach

Property: Turtle On The Beach
Address: ITDC Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle On The Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By blending the finest of art with the most sophisticated luxury, Turtle on the Beach brings about a new grammar in holidaying in this part of the world. You will find it unique in every way you look at it, either as a whole or in parts that make it a whole. And that makes Turtle on the Beach a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Turtle On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle On The Beach Hotel Kovalam
Turtle On The Beach Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing