We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Property Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turtle On The Beach
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Property Poor Service”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It is when you stay in a place like this, you realise the value of a Taj or a Leela. Besides a good location, there is NOTHIN going for this hotel. They are supremely understaffed, the property is in dire needs of repairs, they have NO LIQUOR LICENCE inspite of being in the business for 3 years.

We had gone to Kovalam to celebrate my birthday, along with my wife and kid. Considering this was on the beach we had given the Taj a miss, since it was about 3 kms away. But that was a mistake i realise in hindsight.

When i pay over INR 10000 (USD 200) per night, i expect a minimum set of services. EG there was no easy way to reach the beach which was merely 800 mtrs away but on a VERY steep road which is difficult to walk on with a small kid - a courtesy drop would not have hurt. A drop to the Leela (800 mts away) was charged at INR 250 and a drop to Taj INR 800. I mean, come on! Taj had given us a Range Rover pick and drop to a ferry pickup (1.5kms away) on the house!

We were there for 4 nights and on most of the days housekeeping was making the room WHILE we were in it. This was inspite being away for 3 hours!

The rooms are poorly lit, so poor that you cannot see inside properly. One day one i wanted to check out and go to the Taj, but they refused to refund my balance! So i was stuck.

The pool isnt cleaned every day and there is a lot of muck around. It rained almost everynight while we were there. But even my 9 am there outdoor furniture was wet, the buffet breakfast tables were wet, most of the pool beds did not have a mattress. Those that did, were not cleaned.

More than once i have encountered staff that was rude to us! A lot of dangerous debris is left lying around (junked nails, broken plinths, wet floors etc)

Im not going back EVER.

Room Tip: If at all you book, Ask for a room on higher floors as the view is stunning. Else they will stick yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ketan_pandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, Regional General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Mr. Ketan Pandit,

Thank you for the review and apologies for an uncomfortable stay with us.
The strikingly-designed Turtle on the Beach is a 5-star boutique resort nestled on the Eve’s beach with a spectacular view of the Arabian Sea. We have always set high standards in services quality. However, in a rare occurrence, your experience with us was spoiled due to some easily avoidable mistakes.

We would like to assure you that our management will be personally looking into the incident and will make sure that these problems are resolved at the onset. Feedback such as your provide us with the much needed inputs and help us in constantly upgrading our services.

Once again, thank you for bringing these areas of improvement to our notice. My deepest apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

Warm Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    339
    107
    44
    33
See reviews for
328
386
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We booked two nights sea facing room in this resort and it was a pleasure staying in this resort on out first b'day togather.

1. Connectivity: Very near to the Kovalam Beach Bus Stand. i will say some 100 mtrs. You can get volvo city bus from east fort bus stand (Trivandrum) to kovalam beach(last stop) with fare jut INR 26/- per head.

2. Check In : Check in was smooth. We reaching at 9.30AM earlier than their usual check in timing of 12 and we were in our room at 10.30.

3. Room: Spacious, neatly done with all the necessary ameneties. But as all the sea facing rooms on the top floors were full, sea view from our room was not good. Bathroom was also big with a bathtub.

4. Food: Catameran restaurant. Breakfast was nice with a lot of options. Service can improve a bit. A few panjabi restaurants are also there just outside the this resort towards the bus stand if you want to try out something else.

5. Pool: They have a big, very well located swimming pool. It was very nice to see sunset while enjoying at pool. A big plus.

Also the highlight of our stay was the complimentary b'day cake.

There is also a short cut from the back side of this resot to the kovalam beach which can easily save you 15-20 mins.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Manish,

We would like to thank you for taking out time to review Turtle on the Beach. The team at the property is very motivated to receive your inspiring words about our living spaces, dining amenities and recreational avenues on this public forum.
Turtle on the Beach is a 5-star resort in Kovalam, Kerala. Located in God’s own Country we take great pride in our services, and make sure that every customer is treated and cared like a family member. With a spell bounding location on the Arabian Sea, the resort provides for a pleasing view with the state of the art amenities.

We once again thank you for a positive review on a public forum. Do give us a chance to host you again, on your next visit to Kovalam.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Excellent location just ten minutes down the albeit steep hill (the unfit or lacking mobility will need a tuk tuk at least for the return journey) to the beach and promenade. The hotel itself has a number of steps and while there is a lift you will still need to be able to cope with steps to move around the complex.

Food and drinks were fine and reasonably priced compared to other hotels of a similar level in Kovalam. The beach side bars are worthwhile visiting and offer cheaper drinks although I felt more inclined to eat at the hotel due to the visibly higher standard of hygene offered there versus the sea front bars. The meal I had on both nights was tasty and well cooked.

Unfortunately I had to mark the hotel down on value for money as it was by far the most expensive accommodation I stayed in during my visit to Kerala. It may well be considered reasonable by Kovalam rates but it certainly didn’t offer the same standard of accommodation as I had stayed in elsewhere for a lower price. The garden facing room I occupied, while acceptable, was looking somewhat tired and in need of renovation. The pool was small and the surrounding decking adjacent to the restaurant needs securing. Each time someone walks across it, it sounded like a herd of elephants crossing.

The staff were all without exception extremely courteous helpful and welcoming. Their hospitality was excellent. I have no regrets for choosing to stay here and would recommend it to others as the best I could find in this area.

NB others have referred the Leela. I visited that hotel during my stay. From what I could see it was grandiose, far more isolated and grotesquely overpriced. Unless you have unlimited wealth the Turtle on the Beach in my opinion offers far better value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

At the onset, we would like to thank you for choosing Turtle on the Beach during your stay in Kovalam. We are happy that you took out time to review us on this public platform. The staff is inspired by your kind comments.

We ensure to make every guest’s stay hassle free and sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have made a note of your concerns regarding the garden maintenance and safekeeping of our poolside.

Your feedback is important to us as it helps us in further enhancing our par excellence services. We would like to welcome you again during your next visit to Kovalam.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Location: Very good Beach, very commercial place. We walked miles in and around area good breeze. We could not find much places close by. We have to travel trivandrum or more to find some place. If U love Sea foods a must place to visit. We had Ayurvedic message near by but not to our expectation.

Hotel: A good hotel, had a peaceful stay after repeated instruction for a Traditional Welcome to surprise my wife they left unattended. But, to compensate they given many surprises during our stay by placing a surprise Cake, Decorative bath tubs etc., There is narrow way to beach from the hotel, one thing they can do is, clean out the weeds on the way to beach. Pool was small but clean and good. If u have a sea view rooms morning and night time in balcony is added advantage.since we had a very short stay we cant explore much of the place and hotel.

Food: In Catumarn, the taste was good, but items were less, especially the local foods. Myself and wife in long plans to have Kerala specialties like 'Puttu Kadala', ' Appam Stew' , 'Malabar Parotta' with curry etc., many Kerala items missing.

Strongly Recommend for Honeymooners & family visit. Sure to visit with family and friends next season, during check out inquired about the tariff of individual villa and etc...,

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poornam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Poornam R,

The entire team at Turtle on the Beach joins hands with me in thanking you for choosing us. We are delighted to learn that you found the property perfect for a romantic rendezvous. We regret that you felt restricted by the menu at Catamaran and found the customary welcome not at par with your expectations. We value guest feedback as it goes a long way in helping us identify areas of improvement and helps the hard working team to strengthen their resolve in serving our guests better.

We look forward to hosting you again with a perfect stay experience.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I went to this resort with my husband to celebrate our birthday, it was a very nice experience.
The swimming pool is great, the rooms are spacious, staff is co-operative and the resort is located very near to the beach.
The breakfast had lot of variety and was really good. I ordered for a birthday cake and the hotel staff provided it to us at a very short notice, and at exactly 12 midnight brought it to our room. I was really touching, how much effort they put for us. And on top of that, they didn't even charge us for the cake :)

The hospitality was very nice.

As a whole I am really happy with the resort and would love to go back again :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManishPreeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Preeti,

We thank you for your warm feedback. It is a pleasure to note that you and your better half enjoyed your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is our top most priority and the team endeavors to offer nothing short of excellence to our patrons during your stay with us.

We once again thank you for your custom and look forward to serving you again.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I visited this resort in month of may. Hotel vehicle came to pickup and we reach around 12. Room was good as they shown over web site. Sea was clearly visible from balcony. The food they they were serving was quite tasty. I never expected to get good north indian food in kerala.
Guys if you are availing some package from hotel then be aware they give all facilities as mentioned in package. Hotel service is slow if ordering during evening time. Kovalum beach is quite near from hotel, hardly 5 minute walk.

Room Tip: arabian sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cool_blore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Turtle on the Beach for your recent stay and writing about us on this esteemed public forum. It always feels great to know that our guests had a memorable stay with us. The team at Turtle on the Beach strives to offer guests with a one-of-a-kind experience and such reviews boost our confidence to strengthen our resort. We do understand that guests belonging to varied palates visit us, so we believe in surprising them with majestic dining experiences. We regret that the pace of service did not live up to your expectations

We look forward to offer you our par excellence services on your next trip as well.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

It was a very good hotel. Hospitality was above par. Welcome at the hotel was very refreshing. Hotel staff was always greeting with smiles and always ready to attend to our needs. Our room was an Arabian Sea view and I really enjoyed it. Housekeeping, amenities, bedding, washroom was extremely nice. Swimming pool was nice and clean with a good ambiance and view. The selection in the buffet was very good but the quality of the food could have been better. The hotel also does not have a private beach and the access to the beach is via an outside road which I did not like. That is the only reason I give then 4 stars out of 5. I recommend this hotel and will visit again.

Room Tip: Unless you are opting for Villas etc. In my opinion the best rooms keeping in the mind the budget wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaspalChugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Jaspal,

Thank you choosing Turtle on the Beach and sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant time with us. Your kind comments about our service and amenities have been well received by the team. Your feedback about the quality of food has been noted as guest satisfaction is our top most priority and your opinion will go a long way in upgrading our standards.

We, once again thank you for checking in at the property. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.9 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#5 of 50 in Kovalam
532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Kovalam
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle On The Beach

Property: Turtle On The Beach
Address: ITDC Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle On The Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By blending the finest of art with the most sophisticated luxury, Turtle on the Beach brings about a new grammar in holidaying in this part of the world. You will find it unique in every way you look at it, either as a whole or in parts that make it a whole. And that makes Turtle on the Beach a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle On The Beach Hotel Kovalam
Turtle On The Beach Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing