We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good rooms& Good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turtle On The Beach
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good rooms& Good service”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 Nights in the Kyoto sea-facing room.Loved the view from the room.The beds were placed at a lower height to enjoy the sea view. The bath-tubs also face the sea so you can relax and enjoy a quiet soak.

The beach is also just a ten minute walk from the resort. Plus they have a good pool.
Totally worth the price.
Would definitely go back and stay here the next time.

Room Tip: suite sea-facing rooms on the upper floors are better value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GagzD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear GagzD,

We thank you for choosing Turtle on the Beach for your recent stay and sparing time to write about your great experience with us here. It is delightful to know that you found the rooms up to the mark and panoramic views from the room treated your eyes. Your feedback really plays a vital role in boosting our morale to even work harder and offer our guests a ‘never-like-before’ stay experience. Our close proximity with the beach makes us a much favorite among travelers and that too at economic prices. We do understand that cool pool dips relaxes your mind, body and soul like nothing does, therefore we boast of having an exotic swimming pool at our property.

We strive to offer our guests par excellence services. Thank you once again for this positive feedback and we would be happy to host you on your next trip as well.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    339
    107
    44
    33
See reviews for
328
386
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The highlight of our trip was the excellent food through out the stay, be it snacks, dinner, or breakfast. We even packed "beef olathiyathu" for our trip back. The rooms were clean and very spacious and the staff was very curtious.

The only small problem we had was the bathroom sink in one of the rooms was not draining properly. I also recommend that the way to the beach from the back of the hotel be cleaned up of trash/garbage to make the experience a totally enriching one!!

Room Tip: The hotel has a new wing with al see facing rooms - pick one on the top!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renji K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Renji,

We are glad to know about your pleasant experience on your recent visit and happy to know that you loved the food. The team at Turtle on The Beach, Kovalam, works hard to make every part of our property comfortable & convenient for our treasured guest. We take pride in providing personalized services and it’s a pleasure to receive your appreciation about our staff.

We thank you for giving your kind suggestions which we have conveyed to the team concerned. We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benahavis, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We checked out of the Leela in Kovalam and came here, so glad we did!!! rooms are much bigger than the leela and the service and quality for what they are charging at the turtle is great.

We had an arabian sea view room, big room, large terrace, good size bathrooms, clean!! The staff at this hotel were very helpful especially Aman - I think he is the manager for the restaurants there, nothing was too much trouble for them, we ate from the al-a-carte Jinga prawns were so yummy, the chef - again who was amazing cooked us tandoori lobsters - exceptional!! My family arrived from north india to join us and also stayed at the hotel and they loved it, the pool is great too. The ayuvedic centre within the grounds is fab. Breakfast is buffet, good selection, we ate from the menu in the evenings lovely food. Try a fresh sweet lime soda.

We stay at this hotel when we stay in Kovalam again! Much better value than the leela!!!

Room Tip: arabian see view room left hand side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for such a wonderful review. We are extremely glad that you had a pleasant stay at Turtle on The Beach, Kovalam. We guarantee 100% guest satisfaction to make the experience of our guests memorable with our unparallel services. We are pleased to know that you found the rooms spacious and the view beautiful. The food served at our restaurant is appreciated by all our guests for its unique taste and quality, your kind words are a motivation for the team concerned.

We thank you for the review and look forward to welcome you again.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

we stayed at this hotel in september, 2012 first week. Very nice located property. We stayed in the seas facing rooms on the upper floor of the hotel. The rooms are excellent and spacious, bigger then other properties in Kovalam. They are very comfortable with very nice toilets and all modern amenities. The view to the sea was amazing. The hotel has made efforts to give the turtle theme.

The sevice is very good but the staff does not want to go out of way to help you.
The hotel is not as big as it is displayed on the site, the pool too is small but nice and good located.
We had buffet dinner included which was not very good, otherwise food we ordered was pretty decent
The beach though not private but is very near and easily accesible
Sad part they don't have a bar running, nor they allow you to have your drinks in the dinning area.
My advise is if you get a very good rate compared to other properties like Leela and Taj then stay here otherwise pay a little extra and opt for them.
If you stay here, don't have dinner here, go to the nearby shacks on the kovalam beach

Room Tip: go for sea facing rooms on the upper floors. They have nice balcony with excellent sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falsmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Turtle on the Beach for your stay with us. It gives us great pleasure to learn that, you found our property up to the mark. Your feedback about us helps us in identifying areas of improvement. We regret that you did not find all our services par excellence. We assure you that your concerns will be duly investigated and corrective actions will be taken wherever applicable.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This had been our second visit to kovalam. Food in the resturant was amazing and hospitality was also at the best. There is a small route to the public beach. You can also find public transport from this place to the famous temple of the city.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prayanaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Turtle on the beach for your stay with us. It gives us great pleasure to learn that besides pleasant stay, you found our property and beauty surrounding it remarkable. Such kind of opinion about us on a public platform boosts our team’s morale to no end. We are glad that you liked the food and we will convey the same message to our chefs who make sure that each dish is prepared with hygiene, taste and lots of love.

The entire team behind Turtle on the Beach strives relentlessly to provide the comfort that our guests seek. We look forward to host you again at Turtle on The Beach.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trivandrum
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were on this hotel in May, after the marriage of my daughter. The whole extended family members had a nice time there. The place is awesome, blended with nature, and the waves creating a symphony on your ears. The food is excellent and the care and service of the staff is excellent

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anvar69Trivandrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Anvar,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Turtle on The Beach during your short stay with us. Also, it gives us great pleasure to learn that besides pleasant stay, you enjoyed the property and beauty surrounding it to the hilt, and found our services remarkable. Expressing your opinion on a public platform further boosts our team’s morale to no end, and we highly appreciate it. The entire team behind Turtle on the Beach strives relentlessly to provide the haven and comfort that our guests seek.

We are glad that you liked the food and shall convey the same to our chefs who make sure that each dish doled out of the kitchen is packed with hygiene, taste and lots of love. We look forward to hosting you again at Turtle on The Beach.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We checked in on Aug 27th and checked out on Aug 28th, 2012 and celebrated our first wedding anniversary at Turtle. If you are going there for a special moment like ours, make sure that you book Room 515 (the honeymoon suite). You can see the sea and the waves from your bed. A very calm and quiet place and we loved it.

But the best part was our dinner. Talk to Mr. Aman to arrange a special place only for your dinner outside the coffee shop. Take some good champagne or they will provide you some.

Talk to chef Mr. Soju Philip some time during the day and he will suggest you the best dinner recipies for your special moment. It was chef Mr. Soju Philip's awesome cooking that made our dinner an unforgettable one. Our favorite dish was "lobster and tiger prawns grilled with lemon, butter, garlic sauce" and vegetables and french fries on the side..

Room Tip: if you are going with your girl friend or wife, get room 515 - the honey moon suite.. she will love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Aaron,

Thank you for your stay at Turtle on the beach and for taking out time to express your opinion about us. It has always been our endeavour to provide matchless services to our guests and to make their trip to Kerala memorable. We are happy to know that our food and accommodation matched your standards.

We believe in partnering with our customers and consider their opinion as a source of opportunity which enables us to raise the quality of our products and services. It has always been our endeavor to provide unmatched experience to our guests. Once again, we thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you better.

We look forward to welcome you again and to provide you a memorable experience!

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.9 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#5 of 50 in Kovalam
532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Kovalam
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle On The Beach

Property: Turtle On The Beach
Address: ITDC Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle On The Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By blending the finest of art with the most sophisticated luxury, Turtle on the Beach brings about a new grammar in holidaying in this part of the world. You will find it unique in every way you look at it, either as a whole or in parts that make it a whole. And that makes Turtle on the Beach a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle On The Beach Hotel Kovalam
Turtle On The Beach Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing