We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New hotel, very nice rooms, nice ambiance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turtle On The Beach
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“New hotel, very nice rooms, nice ambiance”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights/3days starting 17th Sept 2011 as part of an offsite business meeting. The following are my experiences:

(1) Check-In: Very courteous and fast. The reception area opens to a balcony with a fabolous view of the Arabian sea. The staff takes your luggage to the rooms.

(2) Rooms: Very modern. Very comfortable beds. Very spacious. Has desk, tables, chairs, armoire. Very powerful twin AC. Nice ambiance lighting.

(3)Bathrooms: Very nice. Marble flooring and walls. Modern shower with tub. Extremely clean!!!

(4) Pool: Very nice. almost feels like an infinity pool due to the ocean view.

(5) Food: I just tried the buffet place. Breakfast/lunch/dinner was good. service was a bit slow.

(6) Ocean View: Very nice. Remember to take rooms on higher floors.

(7) Beach Access: The beach is right in front of the hotel, but you have to walk 5 mins if you want to go via a proper road. if you are feeling lazy then there is a rough path over some minor rocks that take you from the hotel directly to the beach in front.

(8) Conference facilities: Very good and professional.

(9) Beach: during off season the beach is not well maintained. I waqs told that during peak season the beach is very well maintained.

Summary: Nice hotel. Decent price. Will go back.

Room Tip: There is a fabulous suite on the top floor!!! Otherwise take rooms starting with 4xx or 5xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goadude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    345
    107
    45
    33
See reviews for
333
391
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
148 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Rooms are good but my Opinion to this property is they shoud change the lock system of the door, As We wait 2 hours with family on the corridor because the door was not opened and finally they broke the lock system).And If you are with kids please guide them for bath,the water comes to your bed room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kollam, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The hotel was very pleasent. Not a lot of staff. And its kind off small compared to other resorts in Kovalam. But the service was extremely good. The resort had only one restaurant and coffee shop. Breakfast was very nice, but dinner was hopeless. It does have a private access(pathway is very bad to the end) to the beach, but the beach is actually public. And the view from the Arabian Sea View rooms are to a certain extent covered by other building and tree's. But still u can see a lot of the sea.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fahad92_017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The hotels is amazing, and the service was incredible.The rooms are very spacious and their boutique design could satisfy the pickiest of us. Was really impressed with the whole Ayurveda concept : the trainers,doctors and facilities, you leave there feeling as new.
Would recommend it to anyone who desires a relaxing vacation on the most beautiful beach,Eve's beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The truly best thing about this hotel is the service. Everyone seems happy to be working here and genuinely dedicated to ensuring their guests are comfortable and well looked after. It is a great spot for families since the pool is very nice and the cuisine has lots of choices.

Pros: Quiet location with superb views of the Arabian Sea. Excellent service and genuine warm hospitality.

Cons: Food could be tastier. But there are lots of choices just down the road on the beachfront.

Shah Rukh says: Stay at this place. You won't regret it.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Shah_Rukh_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I wasn't very sure about this place as I went there the first time. The hotel is small and amazingly beautiful. The rooms are amazingly well done with latest fittings. The swimming pool is very nice and there are great views of the Arabian sea from the rooms. They didn't have a liquor license then which was a drawback and the food was average. Service was very good and the staff was very corteous. Access to the beach isn't great

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sm_del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtleTrivandrum, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time out to inform us about your experience.We value your comments and its only through such constructive feedback that we would be able to improve ourselves.
We appreciate it and will be working on areas you identified for improvement.
We look forward to welcoming you back .
Regards
T.S.Mahesh
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We were there back in December of 2010 and had struggled to find a decent place to stay. At first, we were at Sagara, but after a terrible experience with a leaking toilet, bad food in the restaurant, and a myriad of other things we were glad that we moved to Turtle on the Beach. Such a difference. It was expensive, but we were glad to finally be comfortable. We had to stay for some time in India to visit my sick Mother in law and had a young baby. Cleanliness was very important and thank goodness this place was clean. The staff was very helpful and even helped us to feed the baby! Thank you, thank you, Turtle on the Beach. Sorry it took me so long to write you a review.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.9 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle On The Beach

Property: Turtle On The Beach
Address: ITDC Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle On The Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By blending the finest of art with the most sophisticated luxury, Turtle on the Beach brings about a new grammar in holidaying in this part of the world. You will find it unique in every way you look at it, either as a whole or in parts that make it a whole. And that makes Turtle on the Beach a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Turtle On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle On The Beach Hotel Kovalam
Turtle On The Beach Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing