We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a quiet vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turtle On The Beach
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Highly Recommend this place! Would go back there again!

Stayed here with wife and son(2.5 yrs old) for 3 days earlier this month, with the sole idea of doing NOTHING and just RELAX. Well, this is a great place to do just that. There were only 10 odd occupants due to the early off-season period.
The 'basic' Arabian Sea View room(1st floor) was king-size and more than sufficient for us with a huge balcony with a good Sea View. Air-con was excellent and the Room was
Service was excellent, right from the Check-in Greetings(courtesy Bopan & Annie) to the staff at Cataraman and the Coffee Shop. Staff were Very courteous and very cheerful/interactive with my son, lavishing a lot of attention on him. Room Service was very prompt and accurate, when we wanted to stay-in for a couple of times. Quality and Taste of Food at the Catamaran, right from the Breakfast Buffet(great for people with large appetites) to the a-la-carte Lunch and Dinner was excellent throughout.
It even rained one evening while we were at the swimming pool, which made my day(and kiddos). Loads of lightning and thunder during twilight, with some hot coffee at the balcony, awesome!
We were content with having long sessions at Cataraman restaurant, the Swimming pool (which my son went crazy about), long walks at the beach and the promenade in the morning and evening to catch the local flavour.
We also tried out the in-house Ayurvedic Spa for an hour-long Rejuvenation Full-body Massage. Truth be told, having never had one before, I can only say that it put me to sleep when it was almost done, and had to be woken up for a thorough bath(self-administered, of course!). They also have a in-house Ayurveda lady doctor, who can advise based on your health/history on the appropriate product/service.
The only time we ventured OUT was to visit the local aquarium(at Vizhinjam), which was surprisingly large(albeit badly maintained).
A big thanks to my main man Subin and his contacts Pramod and Kiran for helping to arrange for a great mini-vacation!

ASHOK

Room Tip: Go for Skysuite($$)or a top floor room by the pool
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krashdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
There are newer reviews for Turtle On The Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

884 - 890 of 968 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2011

Stayed in a twin turtle room at this property from 5th to 7th March. The location is very nice & overlooking the beach. The twin room was a pleasant surprise giving complete family feel. The lower & upper beds have individual A/C's & TV which made life easy. The staff is very attentive & makes one feel at home. The beach itself is very nice with shacks offering fish & beer. The hotel has a very nice pool & health club. the food is nothing to complain about. I would highly recommend this hotel on any day.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amarkhanolkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

This property is an ideal getaway from the hustle bustle of city life. The furnishings are superb giving a great ambience. The clear blue swimming pool is quite inviting. The property has its own pathway to the beach of Kovalam which needs no intro. Service is superb. Food is great. Overall - recommended for a idyllic getaway

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psaidev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

The resort is a new concept. Located on Beach just 20-30 mtrs away. Hotel has a small pool which is practical and effective. Rooms are good. We stayed in a Dupley room which was exceptional. Room had all facilities one can dream of in 5 start hotel. The food is also good, Sea food is great. The approach to the beach is slightly restricted but beach very populated. Sea is not rough but beach has flat surface.
Room had microwave oven and tea/coffee making machine. The bar and resturant are unique in terms of decoration. The Presidential suit is out of the world and has exceptional facilities. If some one can afford it, it is the best dal on the beach

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manishjnewdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Though it was a short stay, I should admit that it was a pleasant one.
The sea facing rooms was indeed beautiful, a refreshing change from the usual business hotels. The swimming pool is nice and long . The Gym is small , but nevertheless can help you in your cardio. Overall ideal for a perfect vacation

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajit0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

The place has a lot going for it, especially the view of the beach! But my review of Turtle on the Beach have to go back a bit in time to a small Indian fine dining place in Newport News (NN), VA.

I first met chef Soju Philip on an accidental visit to "Agni" in NN, VA with my friends. The food was great, but the best part was Soju coming out and talking to the customers. Since that day, we were regulars at 'Agni' till Soju decided to return to India. We would often call in food orders and travel 20-25 miles from Norfolk and VA Beach area to NN.

Even after Soju returned to India, we remained in touch and I came to know about the Turtle on the Beach. They have a great website (http://www.turtleonthebeach.com/) and I really wanted to visit the place ever since. So I made it a point to visit Kovalam and the hotel and I wasn't disappointed.

Again along with great food, Soju gave us a tour of the place and the concept is really cool. Apart from the standard rooms, there are private rooms where you can lock yourself from rest of the hotel. A villa in case you have a large group. A hall from which it would be better to just watch the beach rather than socialize. Soju was also talking about the Mediterranean restaurant they were setting up, which I am looking forward to visit in near future.

The place is still in expansion mode and you might see people working on some ends of the property. Other than that... Great place!

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
Thank PraveenSankaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Happened to stay in turtle on the beach -kovalam with my wife. Happly to let you all know that the location, cleanliness, cleanliness etc are superb..There are minor challenges in regard to their bar license, accessebility to the beach etc. I had a talk with the staff and was assured as they are on the process of solving all that soon. Sure, i would re comment it to my folks...

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank maverick300in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.9 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
563 reviews
3.8 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle On The Beach

Address: ITDC Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: $104 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Turtle On The Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By blending the finest of art with the most sophisticated luxury, Turtle on the Beach brings about a new grammar in holidaying in this part of the world. You will find it unique in every way you look at it, either as a whole or in parts that make it a whole. And that makes Turtle on the Beach a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle On The Beach Hotel Kovalam
Turtle On The Beach Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing