We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,208)
Filter reviews
1,208 results
Traveler rating
529
436
141
55
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
529
436
141
55
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarabian sea view roomfree dropsteep roadswimming poolhuge balconynice poolfront office staffstar propertytuk tukrooms are spaciousthe hotel offerscomfortable staywelcome drinkbreakfast spreadwalkable distancememorable stayrestaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,124 - 1,129 of 1,208 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We stayed at "Turle on The Beach" at the End of February 2011. It was the last Hotel on our Trip trough Kerala and we wanted to spend 4 quiet nights after an interesting but sometimes stressful trip through India.

Our first room was not o.k., die knob at the Bathroom door fell off, the bedsheets were dirty, so we decided to change the room. This was not a real problem, but it took a lot of time for the staff to prepare the other room. The new room had a much better view to the sea and on the first sight it looked really better than the other one. But when we took a closer look there was a bit of mold in the bathroom (corner of bathtub) and the bed sheets and towels had spots too. They smelled fresh washed, but in a 5 star hotel you have to replace them or wash it properly.

Another interesting fact about our room was the electricity system. I swear it took us half an hour to switch off all lights. The secret was, that the main electricity switch was behind the pillows.
On the other hand we were very satisfied with the size of the room and the big balcony with the great view, these are real benefits of this hotel.

As mentioned in former comments this hotel has no liquor licence, so you don't get alcohol in the hotel, but there is a liquor store 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The only liquor store by the way i saw on our trip through Kerala, they are very rigorous with alcohol here.

If you want to go to the beach, better take the road outside, dont try the walking path through the hotel. When you've passed the door of the hotel there is no real walking way to the beach anymore, its also all covered with waste.
The beach itself is really o.k. (once you've made it there).

After one week of indian food i was really happy that this hotel did serve a lot of continental food and it was really excellent. Breakfast was also very delicious.

The service was helpful and friendly.

The most annoying thing was the Internet in this hotel. I've never seen such bad Internet connection before. On our trip through india we stayed at homestays and from time to time there were problems with the internet and electricity (you are in india ;) ) too we never payed such a big price before.
1000 Rupees for 24hr Internet (15 Euro) is way to expensive for not working 12 hours.

The price per night is comparable with a 5 star hotel in europe, but you should not expect more than a four star standard.

Altogether we spent some nice days there, most of the time at the poolside, but I dont really know if I would book this hotel again for that price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith_Gerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We stayed here for five days at the beginning of our India trip. We had one big and spacious room where could stay all four of us which is great. Family rooms are hard to get in India - something we appreciated very much at The Turtle.

The restaurant at the hotel is not the best you can find. The first evening, where we really needed the restaurant, we could not sit outside as the area was reserved for a private party. So we had to sit inside in the cold (very cold) which we didn't want to. The day after they had another private party outside at Valentines day - so we simply avoided the restaurant after these experiences. Quite strange to held private parties at a hotel where you stay.

Breakfast in the hotel is an experience. The food is great - the service is slow. You very fast learn to grap chairs, cups and plates in order to avoid having to wait for the 10+ servants to get these things to you. People are generally nice - but you need to be prepared for slow service.

The pool is nice and we had some great days there.

Beach access is TERRIBLE. You have to climb down on the plain soil which is quite tough. Reaching the beach be prepared for a ton of garbage - at the path from the hotel to the beach. The beach itself is clean and nice. I simply don't understand why the hotel doesn't ask some of their restaurant staffs to clean the path from the hotel to the beach. Also - I would recommend making a proper path to the beach from the hotel.

We had to plan our onward trip and we asked the hotel travel desk for assistance. Quite a disappointment. They simply couldn't help us - and even though we asked them to reserve a room in the sister-hotel in Cochin they couldn't help.

I needed internet access which I purchased from the front-desk. Basically - it didn't work properly. Had to sit in the reception area - and very hard technically to get working. Timed out all the time. I have got internet many places in the world without any issues - and expected things like this to work without any issue in India.

Generally I would recommend this hotel to families travelling with children but I also believe it is somehow overpriced.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MortenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtleTrivandrum, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time out to inform us about your experience without which we cannot improve.The service standards in the restaurant,access to the beach and internet connectivity will be addressed.
I am happy to learn that you were happy with other services like food and rooms.Please accept my regrets for the lapses and we will be working on areas you identified for improvement.

We do hope you will give another oppertunity to serve you.
Regards
T.S.Mahesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We were 3 freinds travelling together and had booked hotel directly, requesting a superior double with an extra bed.
Upon arriving, our luggage was left outside, despite copious amounts of staff being available. We were asked for a hotel voucher, it took a while for the staff to understand that we did not have one- our contavct was on holiday (the booking process had been super-smooth with Mr Kiran), the 3 receptionists appeared to be having an arguement- giving a very poor impression and creating an unpleasant atmosphere. Our room was not prepared for 3- it took several hours to do this and treatments we had requested via email had not been booked in.
The room was exceptionally spacious and modern but with a very complex lighting system and hideously noisy a/c. The spare bed was so uncomfortable we all ended up sleeping on the main bed- which we had asked to be converted to a twin- but that seemed to got completely forgotten about. Dust gathered on the floor throughout the week.
On the first day we ordered a light lunch but this took ages and one dish was incorrect.
The internet connection was v haphazard and charged at a daily rate- as one of us needed to do some work- we ended up in an external internet cafe- much cheaper and more efficient.
On the final evening we asked for the bill to be prepared, we wanted to pay but were told to wait to the following morning. In the morning, we asked for the bill to be ready post breakfast- surpringly it was not- the mini bar then had to be checked and then we got into a long convulted discussion re errors on the bill, in the meantinme we were not informed that our taxi, taking us to the airport was waiting- the stay in essence ended as it had started- badly!!Whilst waiting to sort out the bill we read the visitors book and it seems that most have enjoyed their stay but frankly with so we can only guess that we had an unusual experience or maybe it was because we booked for 6 nights rather than a shorter stay.
The pool is pleasant but in the middle of our stay they decided to re-varnish the decking without apology or consultation. The fumes were very unpleasant. When they also started to paint the walls the next day we complained and the work was stopped. The staff at the pool and the poolside restaurant were helpful, polite and accomodating.
Note well- they are extending to the side of the hotel so work evetry day- this was not particularly disturbing but imagine could be.

The hotel itself has been re-furbed from a fairly ugly looking building to a well-thought out design but the experience felt like opening a box of chocolates and finding the empty wrapper of a desired sweet.

The hotel is not on the beach as the name implies but a 5 minute walk away.
It should have been a restful end to a fairly busy trip but did not meet expectations at all and we wished we had stayed elsewhere, especially after much better experiences in Cochin and Alleppey.

Kovalam, as one will read in all the guides, is somewhat touristy and not terribly pretty (especially after the wonders of the Backwaters) but it is an easy break, the restaurants are good (avoid European style breakfasts) if sometimes pricey- for a special treat try the fish restaurant at the Taj Vivanta and Coconut Grove on the beachside is great. Not a late night place, so don't expect long evenings in a bar or club.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouiseisinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtleTrivandrum, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2011

Dear Guest,
I am deeply disturbed to read your feed back on your stay at Turtle on the beach .While we endeavour to exceed expectation ,feedback is valueable and all efforts will be made to correct shortfalls at any point.We regret and apologize that a number of services were not up to the standards.The inconvenience with the front office team ,internet and other services will be addressed and corrected.
I have taken up all the issues with my team and the same will not be repeated again.We value your comments and it is only through such constructive feedback that we will be able to keep a check on our regular operating standards
We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Turtle tradition, which the Turtle on the beach Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.
Regards
T.S.Mahesh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Words are very few for me and my love to describe about this fantastic hotel that is newly lauched in the market. Everybody is just great from the door man to the receptionist to the staff working in the Outlets. All are willing to extend their help and smile at you.Its worth noticing that all are always their to welcome you at any given point of the day. Happened to meet the GM as well who was class apart and extending his hospitality all the time. Rooms are just amazing with great views of the beach and the swimming pool is worth a try. Outlets are good and so is the bar. Amenities were just great and so is the quality of food served. All in all a memory to cherish lifetime. Everyone needs to visit this place once in a life time to check the magic of the place.......

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BijiJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

This hotel is nicely located on the Kovalam Beach and i must say quality of architecture is fantastic, its adequately staffed and we had a great sea view facing room ... since this was a part of our ongoing trip from Kumarakom , i found their room is even better than the one we had stayed in Taj Kumarakom .
Few things missing, we did not get the welcome drink, there was no exit gifts like Taj and we had trouble in ordering food sometimes as there vegetarian dishes were limited.
But staff was co-operative and accomodating and they were quick to bring things back to normal.
Another thing i noticed was they did not have a license to serve liqour which is very suprising on a beach destination.
I felt the hotel staff should arrange for some activities specially for people staying for 3 or more days as we did not know what to do apart from staying back in the room or going to sea shore in the evening.
Overall the stay and experience was good and i will escuse all the misses they had thinking its a new hotel and they will come up with the customer reviews and improve on their services.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtleTrivandrum, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time out to inform us about your experience .
We are happy to learn that you have had a wonderful experience at Turtle with some shortfalls in overall service.
Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.
We value your comments and its through such constructive feedback taht we would be able to improve ourselves.
We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in service facilities and hospitality.
Regards
T.S.Mahesh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews