We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel Given By MakemyTrip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kovalam Beach Hotel
Ranked #48 of 84 Kovalam B&B and Inns
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel Given By MakemyTrip”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Last visited this hotel on 24 dec to 25 dec 2013.Entrance of Hotel is very narrow road on which if you are coming for big taxis become nightmare,then AC is not wrking. I complain to authorities they ask me to shift to another room,but another rooms are small and smell .Then on 25 Dec they ask us for Gala Dinner at Upstairs .Nothing atttractive there,they charge Rs 750 per person i.e Rs 2000/- addtional to my Itnaray. Nothing to entrain the children there.
Staff is aware of there responsibilities.I suggest never to checkout this.MakemyTrip and other good Travel Portals hiring this as it is cheaper.These portal making money out of our domestic holidays.I suggest plan standalone it will be cheaper rather then going with these portals.Makemytrip does not even bother to check out hotel facilities before booking.Even I meet a person who book with cox&Kings Same feedback they have.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gauravgupta985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    11
    8
    22
See reviews for
24
32
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel for two nights during the second week of December. The category of the room for us was Coral Dream View. Pls don't get fascinated with the room type. It just has a Twin Bed with lots small pieces of plywoods embedded into it so that the bed can bear weight of two. Now comes the view, it has a window which opens to the wall of some another roon so to be honest there is no view at all. The hotel has such a dark and gloomy ambience that half of your holiday mood goes for a toast just afer entring into it. Our hardship started when we just checked in our room. We saw a big mouse in our room roaming from wardrobe to the bathroom, we called at reception and after 15 minutes they came. They checked here and there and said it has gone and won't come back. As soon as they left, the mouse reappeared. we called again and again after 15 minutes they came. These time also they searched for mouse but didn't find any and hence said the same. Now again for the third time the mouse came when they were in the room and finally they agreed that there was a mouse in our room. We asked for change of room and they provided the another one. The room is now of a higher category called as sea view rooms, but trust me there was no view of sea at all. The given room did't have proper taps for hot and cold water and shower wasn't working either. We had to use bucket and mug for having bath. Now comes the dinner part. The hotel was having only one person who comes to take order, prepares the meal, and serves. You need to place an order atleast an hour before, so if your are hungry or something than pls make your own arrangements. And ya the images shown on Google for hotel are of some other prime property so pls don't get impressed by the same. And lastly I wonder how come the hotel has been rated as "Excellent" by Tripadvisor which they proudly flaunt on their website.
Overall it was very very lousy experience. Totally Worthless.....

Room Tip: Don't get impressed by category of rooms. They have just fancy names only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank manojchechani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kovalam hotels

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have stayed at Kovalam Beach Hotel for two days from 27 December to 29 December 2013 for three rooms.
The Hotel is so worst we cannot express in language-
No room service as all was on Christmas holiday.
It took 48 hours to repair our bathroom water tab and we have to wait up to night 12PM to temporary
water tab repair.
During breakfast all items were kept at kitchen- no fruits- No egg –only puri and idly two items with
Worst fruit juice. It is understood that all items kept at Kitchen and as instructed by manager to
Provide to Guest. Even my daughter got injured when extra bed fallen on leg during night time. No first Aid box. Becarefull about this hotel.
Thanks and best reagrds,

Ms S Ghosh and Ms M Ghosh

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank deba_622516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

first of all the hotel is located in a narrow lane and if you have your own vehicle be prepared to sleep on the road as there is no parking facility in the hotel no room service no complementary breakfast when we asked the manager said that it would be given only if 20 members are there and as it was raining it was stinking the rooms are awful better not to go for this hotel we visited on 17th and 18 th september 2013 had a very veryyyyyyyyyyy bad experience no body to take our luggage to your room no room service

Room Tip: do not visit this hotel even in your wildest dreams
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank madhavan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Upon arriving, we were given two rooms. N in one room there was a BIG lizard above our bed, scaring the life out of me. somehow getting over it, we decided to sleep aft our long flight. Then suddenly, there was a BLACKOUT (no electricity, cant see a thing, no lights, no air con, no nothing!) N guess wat the we were stuck in the hotel for nearly 60 mins. The receptionist guy went somewhere and we were shouting and shouting for someone to help. but no one came. There were no one in the hotel at that time. N it was 2 or 3am. We were so pissed. We called our driver. N in the Dark we had to drag our luggages dan the STAIRS!!! we only used our hp lights to get dan. Immediately, we changed hotel and left the place. PLS PLS NEVER GO THERE, ITS A WASTE AND WORST!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank ItsMe I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

poor service.. very poor food.. not at all value for money,.. you get better hotels at less price right on the kovalam beach.. it is not on the beach and view from the room are not good.. only rooms at higher floors have a beach view..
Very poor maintenance and pathetic food..
all in one.. AVOID!!

Room Tip: take rooms only at higher floors to get the beach view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank joy0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Kovalam beach hotel is a unique beach hotel well located on the northern side of eve's beach. Its more like a home than a typical hotel, staff are very polite and generous. We stayed 4 nights there, and liked it very much. It's away from the crowd, good for families. Rooms are neat and clean, fell like home.restaurents serves good food.
I will definitely recoomed it for my fello travelers who's is looking for a calm, home like atmosphere. Not for the one searching for typical hotel, coz its more homely than a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunilsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#14 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Searock
Hotel Searock
#23 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thushara Hotel
Thushara Hotel
#18 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kovalam Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kovalam Beach Hotel

Property: Kovalam Beach Hotel
Address: 2nd Beach Road | Kovalam Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kovalam Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True hospitality has always been the fabric of the Kovalam Beach Hotel, a superior boutique heritage resort situated on one of the most beautiful sandy beaches in the world. The hotel’s unique location provides all the advantages- including spectacular views of God’s own country’s southern coastline. The Kovalam Beach Hotel welcomes guests to a warm and inspiring environment of aesthetic luxury and comfort. The building itself is designed and decorated as traditional architecture. The result is a contemporary resort that offers guests not only luxurious facilities and personal service, but an all-round God’s own country holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Kovalam Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kovalam Beach Hotel Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing