We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst hotel in and around the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kovalam Beach Hotel
Ranked #48 of 84 Kovalam B&B and Inns
Secunderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the worst hotel in and around the beach”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

first of all the hotel is located in a narrow lane and if you have your own vehicle be prepared to sleep on the road as there is no parking facility in the hotel no room service no complementary breakfast when we asked the manager said that it would be given only if 20 members are there and as it was raining it was stinking the rooms are awful better not to go for this hotel we visited on 17th and 18 th september 2013 had a very veryyyyyyyyyyy bad experience no body to take our luggage to your room no room service

Room Tip: do not visit this hotel even in your wildest dreams
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank madhavan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    11
    8
    22
See reviews for
24
32
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Upon arriving, we were given two rooms. N in one room there was a BIG lizard above our bed, scaring the life out of me. somehow getting over it, we decided to sleep aft our long flight. Then suddenly, there was a BLACKOUT (no electricity, cant see a thing, no lights, no air con, no nothing!) N guess wat the we were stuck in the hotel for nearly 60 mins. The receptionist guy went somewhere and we were shouting and shouting for someone to help. but no one came. There were no one in the hotel at that time. N it was 2 or 3am. We were so pissed. We called our driver. N in the Dark we had to drag our luggages dan the STAIRS!!! we only used our hp lights to get dan. Immediately, we changed hotel and left the place. PLS PLS NEVER GO THERE, ITS A WASTE AND WORST!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank ItsMe I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kovalam hotels

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

poor service.. very poor food.. not at all value for money,.. you get better hotels at less price right on the kovalam beach.. it is not on the beach and view from the room are not good.. only rooms at higher floors have a beach view..
Very poor maintenance and pathetic food..
all in one.. AVOID!!

Room Tip: take rooms only at higher floors to get the beach view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank joy0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Kovalam beach hotel is a unique beach hotel well located on the northern side of eve's beach. Its more like a home than a typical hotel, staff are very polite and generous. We stayed 4 nights there, and liked it very much. It's away from the crowd, good for families. Rooms are neat and clean, fell like home.restaurents serves good food.
I will definitely recoomed it for my fello travelers who's is looking for a calm, home like atmosphere. Not for the one searching for typical hotel, coz its more homely than a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunilsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This Hotel ( Not a Hotel) is a DHARMSHALA... The manager behave like the same.... Not even a Towel in the room.. Its a dirty Palace.. dear all kindly avoid this hotel... No parking place. No staff No food.Dharmasala is much much better.......

Room Tip: No Good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sivatoocool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Prior to arrival at the hotel we had been in touch over e-mails and their turn around time was fantastic. We reached the hotel with similar hopes. The check in was quick and we were served our welcome drink in our room (for the first time ever, we were offered a choice of a drink - wonderful). The Room was big, very spacious and had a balcony with a direct view of the sea - which is what we were looking for. Despite all this there were a few issues that we're sure the Hotel can improve on:

1) The Room service menu was absent and when requested it took them almost 45 minutes to deliver it.
2) There was no buffet breakfast. They were very accommodating in offering a made-to-order breakfast (Complimentary) but due to the unavailability of scrambled eggs we decided to skip and have it else where.
3) On the second (and last) day we had issues with logging on to the Internet and despite 3 calls to the reception it was never fixed. We in the end had to use the PC at the reception to print our boarding passes.
4) The corridors were dimly lit and Housekeeping in the Public areas was not up to the mark. On our floor, we had noticed a strewn blanket and pillow on the sofa/couch opposite the elevator - meaning someone had slept there - and this was never removed or cleared till we checked out later in the evening. Didn't do us any harm but its definitely not expected in a Hotel and can leave one puzzled!
5) The water took forever to get hot in the shower. We had to leave it running for over 15 mins before we could enjoy a soak.

Nevertheless, the hotel enjoys a fantastic location and I'm sure these small issues can be fixed with ease. The staff were helpful in arranging a taxi to drive us to the airport. Overall, it was a comfortable stay. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Try the Ocean Lounge Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmEnV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is my second time in kovalam beach hotel, b coz i loved this place on my first visit on the last year. We got a warm welcome on our arrival & they provide me the same room which i stayed earlier (Ocean lounge), it feels me am in my own home after a long journey, I love this place becoz of its ambience , I recomend one to stay in this Hotel as you get good caring, as the staff are very friendly, its a very good hotel for long stays,
Thanks for KOVALAM BEACH HOTEL for providing me a good vacation again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zanta_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#14 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#20 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Searock
Hotel Searock
#23 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thushara Hotel
Thushara Hotel
#18 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kovalam Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kovalam Beach Hotel

Property: Kovalam Beach Hotel
Address: 2nd Beach Road | Kovalam Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kovalam Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True hospitality has always been the fabric of the Kovalam Beach Hotel, a superior boutique heritage resort situated on one of the most beautiful sandy beaches in the world. The hotel’s unique location provides all the advantages- including spectacular views of God’s own country’s southern coastline. The Kovalam Beach Hotel welcomes guests to a warm and inspiring environment of aesthetic luxury and comfort. The building itself is designed and decorated as traditional architecture. The result is a contemporary resort that offers guests not only luxurious facilities and personal service, but an all-round God’s own country holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Kovalam Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kovalam Beach Hotel Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing