We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class 1 or 4-5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Thanks to staff and property. Budgetry n best in kovalam. Dont belive here n there; Dont beleive on pictures pls. Always belive on actual reviews. Thanks somashore mgmt. More important staff is very adjustable. They consider da importance of customer..

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
8  Thank Gaurav T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SubhashCBose, Corp. General Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Sir ,


We take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks to you for your stay at Soma Palm Shore and the time taken to write your review in trip advisor. Your feedback is very valuable to us and happy to note that you enjoyed staying at Soma Palmshore. Thanks for your best compliments to the staff and they are our asset and making Soma Palmshore so special to everyone. Looking forward to serve you again and again at Somatheeram Ayurveda Group Resorts.


Best Regards
Subhash C Bose
Corp. General Manager
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
There are newer reviews for Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 484 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

Wonderful Location.. good service and helpful staff!! The hotel is perfectly located near the light house beach and has a beautiful private beach too. One thing that I really like about the hotel was that the hotel is very clean and the garden area perfectly maintained, an awesome place to sit and relax. The swimming pool is particularly inviting and has a small little kids pool thatnwas the most favourite spot for my 3 year old son.Had a lovely time here with my family!!

The food here is decent specially the breakfast, for dinner ala-carte is better than the buffet, so no complaints. The ayurveda spa is also nice and worth a visit. You would like to book it in advance as it is a little difficult to get an appointment. they also have a doctor there to help you decide which therapy is best for you.

The rooms there are average, but have a great view of the garden and the beach!!

The private beach adds to the overall experience. but the passage to the beach was not clean and maintained (this is the one thing about the hotel that they should improve).

Room Tip: Definitely the ground floor room - near the garden, pool and beach.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shruti_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SubhashCBose, Corp. General Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Sir ,


We take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks to you for your stay at Soma Palm Shore and the time taken to write your review in trip advisor. Your feedback is very valuable to us and happy to note that you enjoyed staying at Soma Palmshore. We are blessed with an exclusive beach in front f our resort with the sea view from every room. We have a security, life guard and cleaner in the beach, but during high tide days regular cleaning is very difficult and can’t achieve the result. We will do our best to keep it more clan even in high tide days. We are the only hotel in this area providing life guard, security and cleaner service at the beach. Our Ayurveda is so special and Somatheeram Group is a branded Ayurveda Resort group. Looking forward to serve you again and again at Somatheeram Ayurveda Group Resorts.


Best Regards
Subhash C Bose
Corp. General Manager
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

when we arrived at the hotel we were a bit disappointed in the lay out of the room.after a very comfortable night we got out of bed & looked out over the palm trees down to the pool,the private beach & out to the sea & things started to look different.the hotel staff were excellent especially our room maid & the gorgeous young lady in reception.our bedding & towels were changed every day & cleanliness throughout could not have been better.although advertised as being supplied we had to ask for a fridge which we think is an essential in a country like india.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view & also the top (3rd) floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SubhashCBose, Corp. General Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Sir ,


We take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks to you for your stay at Soma Palm Shore and the time taken to write your review in trip advisor. Your feedback is very valuable to us and happy to note that you enjoyed your at Soma Palmshore. All our rooms are overlooking ocean and property is facing to sea. It is very rare in this location resort is having exclusive beach and all rooms are ocean front. Thanks for your special compliments to our front office and housekeeping staff, they are the one who making Soma Palmshore a special place to every guest. Please note that all deluxe rooms are with mini fridge facility. Looking forward to serve you again and again at Somatheeram Ayurveda Group Resorts.


Best Regards
Subhash C Bose
Corp. General Manager
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Very good hotel right on Kovalam Beach. We reached hotel at 4 am on 7 may 14. Checkin was quick and in the room in next 5 mins. Had sound sleep. View from the room was awesome. It was raining for last couple of days hence the atmosphere was cool. Spacious clean room and clean bathroom. Breakfast serve was good. Did tried some room service but the quantity was below average and cost at higher side. Clean swimming pool. Has direct access to the beach but due to rains it was full of mud and was stinking.
Overall very good hotel for staying on Kovalam beach.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms are best
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RajCola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SubhashCBose, Corp. General Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Sir ,


We take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks to you for your stay at Soma Palm Shore and the time taken to write your review in trip advisor. Your feedback is very valuable. We are very happy to note that your stay was very good, our spacious rooms, awesome view from the room and clean pool impressed you a lot. We have a security, life guard and cleaner in the beach, but during high tide/rainy days regular cleaning is very difficult and can’t achieve the result. We are the only hotel in this area providing life guard, security and cleaner service at the beach. Our restaurant and room dinning menu price is not revised last four years.If you compare with any standard resort in this location it is less. Looking forward to serve you again and again at Somatheeram Ayurveda Group Resorts.


Best Regards
Subhash C Bose
Corp. General Manager
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Closely located to lighthouse beach... Resort as well has a private beach... Beach is beautiful however resort entrance to the beach is wet n dirty n needs regular cleaning n maintenance. Breakfast is really good both in terms of taste n variety.. Ayurveda by others review is awesome but sadly we never got an appointment to try it. Resort is clean has a nice ambience..

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anu_jan_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SubhashCBose, Corp.General Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Anu,


We take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks to you for your stay at Soma Palm Shore and the time taken to write your review in trip advisor. Your feedback is very valuable. We are blessed with an exclusive beach in front f our resort with the sea view from every room. We have a security, life guard and cleaner in the beach, but during high tide days regular cleaning is very difficult and can’t achieve the result. We will do our best to keep it more clan even in high tide days. We are the only hotel in this area providing life guard, security and cleaner service at the beach. Our Ayurveda is so special and Somatheeram Group is a branded Ayurveda Resort group, our resorts are located in Chowara Beach, Kochi and Kumarakom. Looking forward to serve you again and again at Somatheeram Ayurveda Group Resorts.



Best Regards
Subhash C Bose
Corp. General Manager
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Poor quality and limited variety in Dinner.
very old hotel,rooms were ok ok.

Excellent Location,Swimming pool,Private beach were attractions.
This hotel has a huge advantage being situated exactly on beach front.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManishJangid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SubhashCBose, Corp.General Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Manish Janigd,


We take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks to you for your stay at Soma Palm Shore and the time taken to write your review in trip advisor. Your feedback is very valuable. Thanks for your compliments to our Exculsive Beach, Swimming Pool, and Location of the hotel. The hotel is totally renovated during 2013 and added with more rooms of high standard. We are 03 star standard and all rooms are having good spacious bed room, hygienically maintained bath rooms, fresh and daily housekeeping with 100% cotton linen. We have a security, life guard and cleaner in the beach. We are the only hotel in this area providing these services. We are providing 02 non veg and 04 vegetarian dinner buffet with Soup, Salad, Fresh Juices, Fresh fruits and Seet dish in dinner buffet. Looking forward to serve you again and again at Somatheeram Ayurveda Group Resorts.



Best Regards
Subhash C Bose
Corp. General Manager
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a tour. Was looking forward to 3 days of relaxation but was disappointed with what we found. We were put on the ground floor and although the rooms had lovely views over the sea we were not happy, in one room the air conditioning didn't work and in another the toilet didn't flush, the rooms were very basic and in dire need of a lick of paint, there was no storage at all not even any draws. We went back to reception and asked about upgrading, we were told these were delux rooms, in the end we paid £10 a night extra to be moved to a cottage room. These were definitely better. The restaurant served nice food although we waited an hour and fifteen minutes for our lunch one day. The location is great and this has the potential to be a great place but needs some money spent on it. Be careful in the sea it is very rough

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Elaine1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SubhashCBose, Corp. General Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Guest,


We take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks to you for your stay at Soma Palm Shore and the time taken to write your review in trip advisor. Your feedback is very valuable for us. We are very happy to note that your stay at our cottage was excellent. All our rooms are having sea view, but ground floor view and upper level view is different. We have noted your concern on the food delivery time and extra care is taken. Hope you have enjoyed our exclusive beach with life guards and securities; it is a specialty of our place. Looking forward to serve you again and again at Somatheeram Ayurveda Group Resorts.



Best Regards
Subhash C Bose
Corp. General Manager
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.6 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
220 reviews
1.5 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#13 of 52 in Kovalam
561 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soma Palmshore Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soma Palmshore Beach Resort

Address: Light House Road | Kovalam Beach, Kovalam 695521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: $42 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soma Palmshore Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic holiday resort by the beach, Soma Palmshore has everything you need to take a break from the mundane – to relax, to refresh and to relive every moment.Located at the Kovalam Light House Beach in Kerala, which is popular world-over for its palm fringed beach, the sun, the sand and the surf, Soma Palmshore offers you much more than just a beach vacation. A comfortable stay, a delightful cuisine, the rejuvenating experience of Ayurveda, the soothing effect of Yoga, an experience of the local tradition and culture…and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Soma Palmshore Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soma Palmshore Beach Hotel Kovalam
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing