We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathroom in very bad shape but good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bathroom in very bad shape but good location”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed in standard room for 2 days. Was booked by our travel agent in sort of package,
Location of hotel was good , room was ok clean with good beach n pool view from balcony,

Bathroom n toilet spoiled it for us, rusty fittings, worn out wooden work, floor with stains.
Handle was so hard that my skin almost got stuck while flushing.

Small water heater that was directly connected to fossit(no mixer), so if you want hot water be ready for your bum to be spoiled.

No lunch or even snacks after 3pm in restaurant after 3pm only sandwich n beverages because they are preparing for night buffet.

Staff was good but even after complaining for bathroom didn't showed any interest in changing room. I felt they were more inclined to serve foreign tourist.

Though location of hotel with private beach was very good.

Room Tip: Please check room bathroom before taking the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jambui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    205
    70
    20
    42
See reviews for
175
171
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

we stayed five nights over new year in what turned out to be an ideal last leg of our tour in kerala .we did not like the room initially allocated to us but they changed it to a lovely one when our request was made. the staff is amazing, highly obliging, friendly and tend to go beyond the measure- maalu, balu, mohammed and three of their trainees that we can remember. the breakfast is fantastic, we did not to eat lunch because of it over the five days. the location is perfect-private beach along an interesting coastline close to lovely shopping and an array of foreign tourists doing what they love best, chilling! highly recommended.

Room Tip: as long as it is sea-facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rafiq j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

As the title suggests there is good and not so good here. Our first problem was on arrival, admittedly well before check in time, but we had emailed to tell them out time of arrival. Reception insisted they had sent a taxi to the airport to meet us and although this had been discussed we had made it clear that we did not want picking up. An argument followed and it wasn't until I pointed out that an experienced visitor to India was unlikely to pay twice the going rate for a taxi that they backed down. Then they tried to put us in room 318. You don't want to be in room 318 as it is very small (we had specifically booked a 'larger' room) with a tiny, smelly bathroom. Eventually we got room 314 which was much better, although with a wardrobe so small we didn't fully unpack even though we stayed a week!
Later in the week when 7I went to pay I was treated so rudely by a member of staff that another member of staff had to run after me and apologise. So they definitely need to sort out their reception

Apart from that everything else was quite acceptable and we enjoyed our visit.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Candid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have been there for two days - Jan 13, 14, 2014. The beach view from rooms is beautiful! Staff was polite. There was however a little delay in giving us the actual number of rooms booked even though we had booked 2 months in advance. We had already told them that we would reach by 10 AM. They said OK. But, when we reached the resort, they said check in time was 2 PM and we need to wait. When we spoke a little harsh, they arranged for 2 rooms instead of the actual 3 and said the third room is being cleaned. But, the issue was solved very quickly in about 30 mins and all rooms were handed over to us. Rooms were clean and well maintained. The TV set was very old in one of the rooms! No tea/coffee maker in the room as well.
Food in buffet is good. If there would be more items it would be great!
Good resort for a relaxed holiday with family. Their beach is also very well maintained. We enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for beach view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ambikulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the resort and it was great value for money. We had the beach-facing rooms and the view from the sit-out was excellent. The pool was nearby and the beach was also easily accessible via the steps.

The beach access could be improved by putting out some coir mats which other good hotels seem to offer, but the beach in itself was pretty much private and this is a luxury not many hotels in Kovalam can offer. The lighthouse beach is just walking distance and this lighthouse is visible from resort.

The rooms in themselves were quite basic and the bathroom also very basic in nature. The housekeeping staff was courteous and helpful. For the price-point that it is, the whole experience was wonderful.

The breakfast and dinner buffet had a good spread, though at times when the restaurant was crowded, the staff was a little slow to replenish and we had to remind them. They seemed a little understaffed in the kitchen.

The ayurveda center was also pretty good and the doctors seemed knowledgeable. We only went in for the basic massage, nothing specific.

Though we were a little disappointed by the rooms, it was more than made up by scenic location, access to the beach, clean pool and courteous and helpful staff.

One word of caution: smoking is allowed at all places in the resort and we were particularly upset about a few women who insisted on smoking by the pool, where all the kids were. The hotel staff asked us to request them but they themselves did not say anything.

There are a lot of stairs to go up and down as the hotel is built on different levels.

Overall an excellent stay for us and we would go back there if we'd go to Kovalam.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building aren't too good, go for the beach facing rooms. Only those are worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yamini_kaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This has been one of my most difficult reviews. Because the resort is full of contradictions. The grounds and gardens are beautiful and immaculate. The swimming pool is adequate and clean. The beach is nice and sandy with a private access from the resort with the usual sunshades, lounges etc. Breakfast in the restaurant is adequate. The ayurveda quarters on the top floor are spartan, although I did not take treatment so cannot comment on that. Visually it compares unfavourable with other ayurvedic resorts and fails to give an impression of luxury.

Probably built about 30-50 years ago, the building shows its age, both with unsightly weather stains on the facade as well as in the rather old-fashioned water and electrical installations.

Wifi is only available in reception and restaurant, which is rather pitiful in 2014 considering that Kerala is mounting a government backed scheme for e-literarcy this year!

The 'super, deluxe double room with shower' had adequate hot water in the shower, no bathtub and no hot water in the hand basin, not even a hot water tap! The wardrobe was designed for children, the TV had a very complicated switching system before you can watch any programme, the bed and Ac were ok. No desk or writing table, no comfortable sitting area, just bare tiled flooring and a balcony with two uncomfortable chairs, a couple of mangy palms but a great view.

Certainly not my idea of a super deluxe room at a luxury resort!

Having seen contradictory reviews on tripadviser and no reviews at all on hostelworld, we just booked one night through hostelworld at an adequate price, got in late on Saturday, decided on Sunday to stay on for the planned 15 days. We then had quite a bizarre conversation with reception who tried to charge us more than double but finally checked with some absent manager and, somewhat ungraciously, agreed to 'let us stay on' for just two more days at the original room rate of €41. We did of course find other accomodation but the whole experience left a rather nasty taste. They gave the impression that they were doing us a favour! Which is of course for any hotelier in this day and age not an acceptable behaviour.

My most important criticism has to do with value. For the price that we finally paid for bed and breakfast, the standard of our room was acceptable. However the thought of paying more than double, (the official tarif seems to be around €100), for a room that really does not deserve the label of 'super deluxe' does seem to me to have more to do with greed than with customer satisfaction.

One final comment. It was with great pleasure that we look back on a visit to the original Somatheeram some years ago, but unfortunately Soma Palm Beach falls much shorter when measured against the aesthetic and elegant standards of the original!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brynjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

we were 3 couples stayed in dec 2013.
(1) 2 pm check in 12 noon checkout. Although we reache 5pm the room were not ready. we were given 3 upgraded suits.
(2) sea is about 50-60 steps below and a good excercise need to be done to climb down and up. the sea leading gate is closed at 7pm.
(3) suits were sea facing, clean and spaciuos. No tea maker or hair dryer in rooms. no tea is avilable before 8 am and were charged at 40/ cup. TV and A/C were good. very slow water flow in room.
(4) swiming pol with heated water, 5' deep. good clean wqater but closed at 6.30pm.
(5) coplementary breakfast was good with many choices.
(6) nearby restarutant for change of food is about 3-4 km away.
(7) no taxi is avilable nearby and auto-rickshaw charge heavily. hence taking own car is a requirement. crouded parking facility available.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dashmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SreejithKK, Public Relations Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
At the outset we would like to express our sincere thanks for staying at Soma Palmsore and it was our great pleasure to serve and accommodate. We are very happy to note that you are very happy with our upgraded accommodation and felicities. Also happy to note that our Swimming pool and location is excellent and attracted you a lot and also the wide verity of complimentary Breakfast. We are concerned to note your comments about the coffee/tea service, we have 24 hrs room dinning. Our Breakfast Buffet starts from 07.00 AM and it is served with freshly brewed coffee/tea. We have our own hotel taxi service and in front of our main gate local taxi and auto is available 24 hrs. All Major restaurants are located at Lighthouse beach and it is only 250 meters from our resort. Please avail all these service on your next stay or if any information required please speak to our reception or guest relation staff to assist you. We are looking forward to serve you again and again with best hospitality of Somatheeram Ayurveda Group.


Subhash C Bose
Corp. General Manager
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
1.0 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
0.6 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
908 reviews
1.5 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
550 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.4 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soma Palmshore Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soma Palmshore Beach Resort

Property: Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Address: Light House Road | Kovalam Beach, Kovalam 695521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Soma Palmshore Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic holiday resort by the beach, Soma Palmshore has everything you need to take a break from the mundane – to relax, to refresh and to relive every moment.Located at the Kovalam Light House Beach in Kerala, which is popular world-over for its palm fringed beach, the sun, the sand and the surf, Soma Palmshore offers you much more than just a beach vacation. A comfortable stay, a delightful cuisine, the rejuvenating experience of Ayurveda, the soothing effect of Yoga, an experience of the local tradition and culture…and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Soma Palmshore Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soma Palmshore Beach Hotel Kovalam
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing