We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Soma Plamshore is a nice & big property with a private beach. It was a comfortable stay.
I was upgraded to a cottage(on request) which was located with fabulous view of swimming pool and the beach behind it.
Private beach in 1st week of october was not usable (lots of dead jelly-fish) and no one we found to clean it , so we walked to light house beach , which is walkable through narrow lanes , but its 4 km if we go by car.
Room was big & clean , room service was ok . Clean linen & towel , simple bathroom fittings with running hot water.
Food was average , breakfast spread was not up to the mark (don't know if it is same in season as well).Swimming pool was small but maintained.
Overall it was quite good family resort , if you are on vacations with kids , lots of space for them to play around.
Satisfactory at the price we paid - value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALOK_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SreejithKK, Public Relations Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
At the outset we would like to express our sincere thanks for staying at Soma Palmsore and sharing your feedback through Trip advisor. We are very happy to note that you are very happy with our renovated accommodation, Swimming pool and felicities. Also happy to note that our Swimming pool and location is excellent and attracted you a lot. We will surely make changes in verities kept in the Breakfast buffet. We are looking forward to serve you again and again with best hospitality of Somatheeram Ayurveda Group.

Subhash C Bose
Corp. General Manager
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 490 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

Considering everything starting from location, view from balcony, private beach, swimming pool, clean rooms, hot water available 24 hours, food quality, service, connectivity with other locations (Trivandrum, Poovar etc), safety I can easily say it is a top notch resort. The buffet menu for the breakfast is also splendid. Definitely recommend. Worth staying!

Room Tip: Any room is good. Every room has sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DuAvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SreejithKK, Public Relations Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
At the outset we would like to express our sincere thanks for staying at Soma Palmsore and sharing your feedback through Trip advisor. We are very happy to note that you are very happy with everything starting from location, view from balcony, private beach, swimming pool, clean rooms, hot water available 24 hours, food quality, service, connectivity, buffet menu for the breakfast is splendid and safety is a top notch resort. We are looking forward to serve you again and again with best hospitality of Somatheeram Ayurveda Group.

Subhash C Bose
Corp. General Manager
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Comfortable stay and a private beach make it one of the best hotels in Kovalam. Complimentary breakfast not very good but otherwise food is also quite good. Staff is very polite and courteous. Lobby has wifi but may be they can make the entire hotel wifi enabled.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bbsr_0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SreejithKK, Public Relations Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
At the outset we would like to express our sincere thanks for staying at Soma Palmsore and sharing your feedback through Trip advisor. We are very happy to note that you are very happy all service, our location “it one of the best hotels in Kovalam”. We surely prepare more variety in Breakfast buffet. We are looking forward to serve you again and again with best hospitality of Somatheeram Ayurveda Group.

Subhash C Bose
Corp. General Manager
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

No F & B service at private beach or on pool side which is a big grey area in this beautifully located property. At pool side kept waiting for staff and on locating a staff after 45 minutes enquired with him if we can order for something. He agreed to send somebody to take the order and we kept waiting but in vain.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed with a wife and 1 year old.It was a wondeful experience to stay in Somapalm shore ayurveda resort. Its very near to famous beach known as light house beach. All rooms are with a beach view. There are numerous restaurant if you walk 500 mts from Hotel. Breakfast was lavish with lot of options. They have ayurveda center which is must visit. But if i talk about housekeeping they need improvement and need to upgrade washrooms is a must. Definately stay in Soma you will definately enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANUJ3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed for two days here , room was spacious, service was good. Still it felt it was a very good old hotel. We stayed at ground floor , balcony view was superb , open towards sea. A brisk downhill walk will lead to sea beach. There are plenty of restaurants and within budget , with good options of fish. But the beach was full of jelly fish and dirty, not very suitable. Still a good view of lighthouse from beach. You can also plan for a visit to city & "Padmanabhaswamy Temple" 12-15 KM from kovalam. They did not allow to take mobile and camera inside , but can keep these in a near by locker 20 Rs. Only guys are allowed inside with dhoti , and women with saree. So be prepared. You can get these hired form this locker room also.

Room Tip: Take a higher floor with sea side view , location of hotel is good and must get a good view automati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soumendra_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

It's a wonderful experience at this property. Only regret was the bathing at beach not possible due to high tides. The main season starts from October. Some improvements required for food otherwise it's a good resort to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are beach facing so there will not any problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Akbar Travels
1  Thank Smart312013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.1 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Kovalam
575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#20 of 52 in Kovalam
239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
355 reviews
1.5 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soma Palmshore Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soma Palmshore Beach Resort

Address: Light House Road | Kovalam Beach, Kovalam 695521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: $64 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soma Palmshore Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic holiday resort by the beach, Soma Palmshore has everything you need to take a break from the mundane – to relax, to refresh and to relive every moment.Located at the Kovalam Light House Beach in Kerala, which is popular world-over for its palm fringed beach, the sun, the sand and the surf, Soma Palmshore offers you much more than just a beach vacation. A comfortable stay, a delightful cuisine, the rejuvenating experience of Ayurveda, the soothing effect of Yoga, an experience of the local tradition and culture…and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Soma Palmshore Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soma Palmshore Beach Hotel Kovalam
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing