We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“do not book this hotel if you want to enjoy at kovalam” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soma Palmshore Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Kovalam
Jammu City, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“do not book this hotel if you want to enjoy at kovalam”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

if one find any other good hotel on kovalam beach, then go for booking there rather than in somapalmshore. Avoid this type of hotel which has average room rather i say its not price worthy. beach is isolated and small. its very hard to reach the beach b'coz of steep stairs.one cant have a view of the sea because of coconut trees when you book a sea facing room. bathroom is not spacious. food is not tasty in the restaurant and its very very costly. buffet system is terrible.it has many dishes in the buffet but nothing tasty. fish curry was very bad in taste. breakfast so boring, juice was not tasty. we were disappointed on seeing the room and facilities there which i had booked online.hospitality was average. thank god i had not booked the hotel for more days.

Room Tip: select the rooms in the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rohitameeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SreejithKK, Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
At the outset we would like to express our sincere thanks for staying at
Soma Palmshore and time taken to post your review. We sincerely regret the
inconvenience caused during your stay. Our resort is located conveniently
16 Kms away from Trivandrum and with an exclusive beach facility. Our
exclusive beach stretches nearly 400 meters and it is the main attraction
of this Resort, such resorts are very rarely seen. The Resort is directly
sliding down to the beach and it is the uniqueness of this property and
well appreciated by almost all the guest. The light house public beach is
just 250 meters thru the beach. At Soma Palmshore all the rooms are
overlooking beach and sea and also the greenery around are much
complimented by the travelers. Our variety breakfast is always comes with
fresh juice, choice of bread, variety of fresh fruit cuts, verity of
cornflake, porridge, Fried/boiled/scrambled Egg, Two south Indian dishes
with sambar, chutney and accompaniment, Two north Indian dish with channa,
yogurt and accompaniments, tea/coffee. Normally complimentary breakfast
comes only with continental breakfast; but we keep varied verities for an
international standard. We are sorry that the main dishes in the buffet
is not up to your taste, our international buffet is compelled by the Chef
by considering our mixed clientele of South India, North India, Europe,
UK, USA, CIS countries etc. We value your opinion and assure you a
corrective action on the same to your taste.
We look forward to see you on your next trip at Soma palmshore with better
services and hospitality up to your expectation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    196
    68
    20
    42
See reviews for
168
166
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KOLKATA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Travelled in December, we were upgraded to the cottage room no 415.The cottage room was big enough for one extra bed.The hotel has a private beach were one can rent beach chairs and umbrella @100Rs each.The breakfast has limited menu but was sufficient,though service was a bit slow .Further the tandoor facility in restaurant was not working..There is a small swimming pool also where one relax after the beach activity. The Hotel is about 1 km away from the main lighthouse beach.The road from the hotel to the lighthouse beach is very steep. Overall the cottage room was very nice and big enough.

Room Tip: Cottage Rooms no 411 to 415 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YUGSKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield,WI
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

If you want to enjoy Kovalam, avoid this property. The private beach from the hotel is very small. Steep steps to get to the beach. Very small stretch of lousy beach. The view is ok but this is not Kovalam by any means. The restaurant is bad. The breakfast is lousy. We had booked for four nights and we were disappointed. Luckily, the management was good enough to transfer us to their sister property in Manaltheertam which is fabulous. If you must stay choose the AC cottage by the pool. We will never book here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N.SURESH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

A good beach facing hotel with good service. Location is very far away from kovalam city, rooms were very clean and by chance we got the beach facing room. It cost us a bit high as we visited in year end.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ping_bhups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW DELHI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Recently I was in this hotel with my wife.The location of this hotel is very good but room service is very poor,they take 40-50 minutes for executing one order specially after 7 pm.
Even in the restaurant they made me to wait for 35 minutes for executing my dinner order.I was not having choice but to cancel my order. Since, good restaurants/other eating joints are far away from the hotel they take advantage for this .I have left my comments on the desk .God bless the team of this hotel specially the manager.
Anil Seth

Room Tip: Check whether the Geyser,A/C and hand shower working before entering your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANILSETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Sleep with the sound of waves. Wake upwith songs of birds. The hotel is 5 minutes away from the crowded main beach area. And still you are in the middle of nature.
I. ROOM
I stayed in a cottage overlooking the ocean. Room is rather small and basic. The bathroom has no bathtub.There is no wardrobe. Just a hanging space.There was no refrigerator.Upon request they brought it in at once. There was no reading lamp,which they brought in on the 3rd day.
But the room was comfortable.And for a solo traveler who wants peace of mind this cottage was perfect.
II. LOCATION
Perfect location. 5 minutes walk to the busy area, where there are restaurants, cafes and shops. There is a quiet ,separate beach in front of the hotel.
III.SERVICE
Excellent service. Early check in was done smoothly( I called them in advance).The resort manager, who is often at the reception, was extremly helpful and efficient in solving problems.
IV. A TIP ON BLACKOUT
There was a planned electricity cut every day. Half an hour in the morning and half an hour at 9:30 pm. You have no problem in the hotel. But if you happen to be out walking at night, it is recommended to carry a search light(not for security but it is simply dark on the road).

Room Tip: If you want a view,stay in the main building. If you want to avoid a human noise, stay in an indepen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globetrottingloner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

It was our first stop in Kerala after spending time in Tamil Nadu.. We wanted something nice and different than what we experienced (500 Rupees rooms).
We arrived at the hotel and negociated the price (yes it's possible even in ''luxury'' property). The lonely planet was saying that rooms started at 80Euros but I took the price down to 55Euros for 2 rooms for 2 nights.
The location is amazing, probably one of the best in Kovalam, the service is okay not great but don't expect a 5* service when you go to India, most people are friendly if you are friendly they are just clumsy and sometime lazy.. Anyway.. for 55Euros (23Euros per person per night) this is a bargain, swimming pool, roof top spa, (almost private) beach, big rooms, A/C and even hot water and internet. Restaurant is not great and laundry service is a rip off other than that it's great and relaxing and beautiful!

Room Tip: you can negotiate the price during low season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rholezoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
1.0 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.3 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#11 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.6 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soma Palmshore Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soma Palmshore Beach Resort

Property: Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Address: Light House Road | Kovalam Beach, Kovalam 695521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Soma Palmshore Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic holiday resort by the beach, Soma Palmshore has everything you need to take a break from the mundane – to relax, to refresh and to relive every moment.Located at the Kovalam Light House Beach in Kerala, which is popular world-over for its palm fringed beach, the sun, the sand and the surf, Soma Palmshore offers you much more than just a beach vacation. A comfortable stay, a delightful cuisine, the rejuvenating experience of Ayurveda, the soothing effect of Yoga, an experience of the local tradition and culture…and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Soma Palmshore Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soma Palmshore Beach Hotel Kovalam
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing