We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service - definitely not 3 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hill & Sea View Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We expected a lot from this place, especially after paying 5 star prices. We had booked for heritage rooms, but were "upgraded" to a suite. At first glance, the rooms looked good. They were nicely done and there was AC and TV. But soon, the rooms began to unravel - the hinges of bathrooms etc. started coming off, the water (even drinking water) was super dirty, the swimming pool was dirty, the rooms were not cleaned, there were no mosquito repellants, we were bitten by ants (!!). The service was terrible, the breakfast starts at 8am which nearly led us to miss our flight..the travel desk is completely useless, they couldnt even organise a taxi for us.

Overall very disappointed, almost wish we had not stayed in Kovallam and stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 219 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

The first thing which catches your eye on entering the Sea & Hill View Hotel is the Award of Excellance given by yourselves i.e. Tripadvisor. An award for excellance in what ? Arrogance of Management and Desk Staff, Poor Room Service or Non Cooperation. We, a group of 10, had booked 5 rooms and had to bear with the arrogance of the Hotel Management have experienced all the three attributes. To start with - The name itself is a misnomer. The so called buffet breakfast is limited and on drawing the attention of the Owner/Partner were told that this is what they will give - take it of leave it. The Front Desk Staff just refuse to listen to your complaints and one is at a loss as what to do. It was observed that though the hotel is owned, staffed and run by Indians, they are treating their countrymen as TCNs. This is deplorable. I wonder what attributes Tripadvisor saw in this hotel to give them an award for excellance. I and my friends would never recommend this hotel to freind or foe. Tripadvisor should review the award given by them.

Room Tip: No suggestions except that one should think twice before patronising this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pavan3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in the Hill and sea view beach resort, never again. We were not looking for 5 or even 3 star service(even though we paid 5 star price) but basics such as a clean towel, hot water, soap and toilet paper. When I complained they looked at me like I was an alien. No apology. We paid for three beds but were given a filthy mattress that I would not put a dog on. Eventually we received a bed with the same filthy mattress. We paid for a room with air conditioning and of course it didnt work. Again complaining did not acheive anything. When we arrived christmas eve they put the 3 of us into a small room and requested that we paid them a "mandatory" 70 euro for a christmas party that was being held that evening. We paid and then got new room. Party was awful,food bad along with loud bad music, just what you need after a long flight. Again we were hassled for the same 70 euro for the new year party, we refused to pay. Pool was full of algae and not fit for human use. The steps of the pool were sitting at the bottom of the pool for most of the time we were there. This hotel is way over priced. You can find better hotels at a lower price near the sea. I felt stressed staying here as I constantly had to ring reception for basic requirements such as towels, toilet rolls. When you are on holiday you dont need this bother. Never again!

Room Tip: If you are elderly or wheelchair bound, this is not a good choice. Most rooms are on an elevation an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were surprised to find that our room wasnt ready when we reached at 2PM after a long & tiring journey. After a half-hour wait at the not-so-insipring lobby we were ushered into room no. C3 at the rear corner of the 3rd floor of their upper building (since it is built on the hill-side). The view from the balcony of room no. C3 was actually a jungle full of coconut trees and neighbors' roof-tops used for drying clothes. So much for the "palm view" that was officially promised to us.
The room was very well-lit... a bit too harshly for our our comfort & privacy... becuase of a construction flaw which left a huge gap at the top corner of one of the walls and had to be done-up with a glass-cover. The evening sun was shining right through it! I had to ask them to put a curtain, which they obliged without much of an ado.
How little we knew at that time that the biggest shock was still waiting for us. Soon we found that the cupboards were ridden with insects (yes... the bugs were roaming around freely in the drawers, to our horror), the toilet flush wasnt working right and the wash-basin was clogged. We also had a spider and a lizard as our roomies. Come morning, the toilet was filled with a stench so bad that I couldnt blame the large cockroach when I saw it lying dead on the floor... OMG! We shifted to another room for the next night, which was a shade better. But as we prepared to check out, we found our bags infested with hundreds of spider-lings. I had to run my laptop just so that it heats up well-enough for the creepies to come out.
The only silver lining of this two-day ordeal was their roof-top restaurant. You get some of the most awesome panoramic views up there. I wouldnt have been able to understand why our side of the hotel was called "palm view" otherwise.

Room Tip: Avoid. Otherwise try a beach-view room and let us know how your experience was!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Gupta_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillnseaview, Manager at Hill & Sea View Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

This is in responds to the review, We have been spraying against the mosquitoes & insects in the guest room. We have 42 rooms in hotel and other open areas , conference halls, restaurant every thing. Kerala is a tropical climate where chance to grow insects & other small creatures. No body can eradicate insects from the earth but we can control.
Regarding the palm view , if the guest cannot see the palm trees in front of the room, we doubt he may be a blind.
Regarding the swimming pool , the guest has to test the quality & purity of the water. And our pool having 6 feet height dept & very big pool. And also the floor tile is different colour .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Rooms were good - clean, pleasant and comfortable. Ambience is good too. Only problem is accessibility. If you do not have your own car, you MUST think twice before picking this place - muddy and isolated road.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Indu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel was quite good in terms of room cleanliness, view from balcony, bath tub, restaurant service. Overall experience was quite memorable. Flower bed decoration was at its best. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yogendra_Goswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

very good place to stay..................................... really very good hotel staffs....................clean room, nice view................................................good value for money. Area of improvement: the double beds were made by joining the single bed together which were very uncomfortable to sleep at.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank somenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
229 reviews
1.6 mi away
Searock Beach Resort
Searock Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Kovalam
102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#14 of 52 in Kovalam
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sea Face
Hotel Sea Face
#29 of 52 in Kovalam
103 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jeevan Beach Resort
Jeevan Beach Resort
#40 of 52 in Kovalam
266 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#24 of 52 in Kovalam
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill & Sea View Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill & Sea View Beach Resort

Address: Mottavila Avaduthura | Vizhinjam, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: $37 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hill & Sea View Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hill & Sea View Beach Resort. If you are at Kovalam, be proud to be at Hill & Sea View, at the highest altitude destination in Kovalam where you cannot miss the breathtaking view of vast Arabian sea over the mesmerizing greenish lay out laid by the cocas. These entitle that Hill & Sea View is your ideal place to enjoy Kerala at its whole length. "WANNA BET YOU WILL NOT MISS A BIT" You can reach beaches within seven minutes on foot; all rooms are with sea-facing balconies, view of sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hill & Sea View Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill & Sea View Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing