We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family visit to Trivandrum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hill & Sea View Beach Resort
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Family visit to Trivandrum”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Since there was an offer in Crazeal, we did the booking for this resort for 2N/3D, super deluxe room with sea facing. We checked in this hotel n 30th Oct 2012, and got a room the wash room of which was very badly smelling. We called the front office from 04 times, none of them came or taken care. At last security person came and did room sprayed but the smell continued and we were not able to enter the wash room.

After calling for 05th time, the front desk operator telling they were very busy since there is a mass checking-in. We felt very bad for coming to this hotel. At last they changed our room to the next upper floor although this wash room also had smell but tolerable and this room was without balcony.

When the person (so called GM of the property) whom I have interacted confirms that, they are not interested for Crazeal to promote their property since their MD is spending lot of money in abroad hence they have maximum foreign guests. It was very dis-appointing.

The quality of room, wash room was not up to the single star itself but they are quoting it as 3 star. The complimentary breakfast provided by them was so bad, not even a cut fruits, no juice nor any local special items were served. There use to be only 02 items during breakfast and it was not at all satisfactory.

The travel desk was so bad, we enquired for local sight seeing, airport drop etc. but they never got back to us which forced us to hire an innova vehicle from outside.

The location of the hotel is not very good, interior from other side of the beach road, however beach was walkable distance but sea facing rooms are at about 1 kms away from sea.

We had good "Ayurvedic Massage" experience and the person incharge was quite good.

Not recommended for others and we will definitely not visit this place any more

Shiv

Room Tip: We dont recommend this hotel for any visitors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shivayovi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    55
    29
    24
    48
See reviews for
73
84
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had booked 2 Nights in this hotel seeing the reviews on Trip advisor and hoping this would be a good hotel. Room above 5th floor have a beautiful view of the hill and sea, below that is not worth wasting your money.

This Hotel has very poor room service and they hardly have any staff to cater to the needs of tourists. I think they were operating the hotel only with 2 or 3 members handling reception, room service and restaurant. Swimming pool was very dirty and I understood from one of the boy (found after looking for 30-45 mins) that it was cleaned 15 days ago... We did not even go close to the pool again....

Food was very average and we did not like it.

Overall, we did not have good experience and will not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms only above 5th Floor have a good hill and sea view, do not go for any other room below 5th Flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jitender R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kovalam hotels

Etah, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

we stay here on 2nd oct 2012,i book it online through booking.com.it is situated at short distance from beach. many people prefer beach side hotel but i think its not good decision because if u stay very near from beach it is very difficult to tolerate the smell of fishes,& there is lot of humidity.so on these ground i prefer this hotel.
every thing is ok here except service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghoomakadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

It was a pleasure for us to be in this hotel, very good room (the 701) with a balcony with a great view on palm trees and beach. A quiet and great place to be, with a very good staff, always here to help and make our trip a good moment.
The restaurant, the ayurvedic centre and the swimming pool are so good.
The beach s not far from here, juste five minutes to walk
Thank to the staff to be as professionnal and kind, it was a very good moment to be here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were going to stay for 3 nights but ended up staying for 9 instead. A short 2 minute walk from the beach but away from the crowds. This hotel stood out for us because it had everything we wanted- a spacious and very clean room with character, a comfy bed, a lovely balcony and access to a clean pool for sunbathing in peace. The staff were very keen to please and were flexible to our needs. With breakfast included it was an absolute bargain. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kovalam and I just hope that they manage to keep up such high standards.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceandAyub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night and must admit it was great and we felt even better considering the price we paid for it. We booked this hotel mainly for its cheap rate considering that we just had to spend the night there as our check-in would be after midnight and check-out after breakfast. We didn’t want something lavish but at the same time wanted a clean, comfortable and convenient place to relax for the night. We booked ourselves in the least priced Palm View Super Deluxe as we knew that we would not get chance to enjoy the Sea View from room.
Location – It’s on a hillock very near to the famed lighthouse beach though no direct access to the sea. You have to walk around ½ a km to reach the nearest beach. Our driver informed that earlier they had parking area from where one had to climb but now they had expanded in that area also. Its location is very convenient as it’s near the beach but still not in a crowded place.
Booking and Reception - Booking was smooth through makemytrip.com and check in was a 2 minutes process in the middle of night. Just handed over the reservation voucher from Makemytrip, signed the register, provided ID proof and it was done. Our room was ready and we were escorted to the room.
Room - It was a new room with nice wooden décor, a spacious bathroom with a bath tub and a balcony offering lush green views. The room was very spacious also. However, just few minutes after check-in, we found some ants on the floor. Though harmless, we wanted to change the room and called the reception. We were shifted to the same room, one floor below, in 5 minutes.
Breakfast – It’s not a buffet breakfast. They provide few options like Idli/Dhosa/Uttapam/Toast – Omlette/Puri – Bhaji, Tea/Coffee and you have to select from those. The roof top restaurant offers a good view, of the hill and of the sea. Restaurant is located at their older block but it’s connected to the new block. The staff were courteous and we met the new manager here. He asked for feedback and was very polite. He explained that they had expanded recently and wanted to ensure that everything is perfect before the upcoming peak season.
After breakfast, we spent some time in the pool side which also offers good views. Pool is also in the old block and being located on a hillock, it’s at an elevated level and hence the nice view. We did a hassle free check out after breakfast.
The only issues I found were,
1. Ants in the allocated room, they should have been more careful in cleaning.
2. We were leaving for a temple visit at around 7 AM and the reception floor was wet and there was no sign. I realize it only after stepping on the water and wetting the hem of my saree.
3. Before checking out, I wanted to enjoy the view from the large glass window of the room and after going near, found that the floor near the window is covered with water from the AC. This must be rectified.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ananyabinayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed six nights in late August here and I enjoyed my stay. In fact, the hotel is build in three parts (the first building is the frontage part, the third one is on the back hill side, and the second one make the junction between them) so it's not ordinary, and of course when you want to go out or go in you must walk a little bit (if you stay on the back building side), but for me it was not a problem at all. If you have a handicap of course it's another thing. Hotel is under construction but I never heard noise or inconvenient. The medium sized swimming pool was good: they clean it every day. Because it's located on the hill side, swimming pool was quiet and with a good view of the area. I liked the superior room, for me it was the best bed of all my trip in India in this category price (maximum 30 euros). So room was very clean (you must ask when you want that they clean it), very quiet, confortable, convenient with furnitures and a private balcony with view on sea and palmtrees. The only negative thing is that the finishing are not good quality. Most of the staff was very helpful and very kind. I would like to say that if you are not happy with something, before writing a bad review on tripadvisor, you should talk with the manager and he will do anything for your stay pleasure. Location is good, of course not on the front beach, but just in a 5 minutes walk distance, so it's not far. Be careful: at night there is no lights to lead you on the way, so it's more confortable to have flashlight. There is also a restaurant in the hotel. Food was correct and of course they are not specialized in european breakfast, but you can ask to the staff if you have some special request. In conclusion, it's a very good place to stay, not a five star hotel of course but very good intentions and a lot of kindness from the manager. I want to greatings to him again...

Room Tip: Speak to the manager before writing a complaint
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#23 of 52 in Kovalam
213 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
89 reviews
1.7 mi away
Searock Beach Resort
Searock Beach Resort
#27 of 52 in Kovalam
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Greenshore Apartments
Greenshore Apartments
#11 of 52 in Kovalam
224 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jeevan Beach Resort
Jeevan Beach Resort
#40 of 52 in Kovalam
257 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park International Kovalam
Park International Kovalam
#36 of 52 in Kovalam
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill & Sea View Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill & Sea View Beach Resort

Property: Hill & Sea View Beach Resort
Address: Mottavila Avaduthura | Vizhinjam, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hill & Sea View Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hill & Sea View Beach Resort. If you are at Kovalam, be proud to be at Hill & Sea View, at the highest altitude destination in Kovalam where you cannot miss the breathtaking view of vast Arabian sea over the mesmerizing greenish lay out laid by the cocas. These entitle that Hill & Sea View is your ideal place to enjoy Kerala at its whole length. "WANNA BET YOU WILL NOT MISS A BIT" You can reach beaches within seven minutes on foot; all rooms are with sea-facing balconies, view of sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hill & Sea View Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill & Sea View Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing