We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
3
10
17
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
10
17
8
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 44 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Location 100 m away from the sea. That's the only good part. In house restaurant try not. Swimming pool is a relic. Service indifferent - you need to remind at least thrice and the room was low category eg bedsheet was torn. No water available on call - in fact reception and room service non existent.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sumzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Kovalam beach retreat after an agent booked accommodation for our Kerala vacation. The rooms are clean and spacious with comfortable beds and a nice balcony, but the positive review stops there.

The communal area upstairs where food is served is appalling. The table cloths are not changed and washed after meals, so you are literally eating around other people's food stains. But worst of all the food is served in an area where crows have free flight, and as food isn't cleared away properly, they fly about leaving their droppings ALL over the tables, chairs and whole dining area. We complained several times about this but nothing was done. People we're literally standing and eating.

Unfortunately the pool was also out of service when we were there, it was green and full of algae and totally unusable. A shame given that we paid for a hotel with a pool.

This hotel needs serious attention to detail as it could be much better, but I certainly wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Expedia bookd our hotel at The Kovalam Resort, light house road. When we reported thet the management has changed. We were directed to another hotel operated by past operator and he will accept the booking in his new hotel. This new hotel happened to be Kovalam beach Resort. They refused to honour the booking by Expedia, saying they owe them lots of money, but agreed to provide a room if we pay them directly. We agrred to pay. After 3 hours wait room was given. Room is very poor in clealiness. Many lights not working. Service is hopeless. They could not provide proper breakfast too - Inadequate food. Swimming pool, appered to be not cleaned for months. The location is also near an obscure beach about.

Room Tip: Please check with the hotel by phone before reporting, as you are not sure of a room, even if booked thru travel agent.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vijudv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were supposed to check in @2nd Jan-14. It was surprising to come to know that Its closed because of some drainage issue ( Actually closed because of some issue at management level) & no one from cleartrip or Hotel side did bother to inform us. However, Hotel guys were able to accomodate us at a decent place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Santosh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Had pre booked 3 rooms in this hotel during our Dec 2013 Kerala Trip, but when we reached their they said the hotel is going under renovation and they cannot provide us rooms in the hotel and instead they would shift us to a different property of theirs, we had no other option so had to accept it. The other hotel was named as Water Edge, hotel was ok but service was very poor below standard. The guy in charge at KBR was very rude and spoke to us very badly. It was a very bad exp.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mukesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews