We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience”

Molly's Retreat Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 64 Restaurants in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: you have published the wrong picture of my restaurant, the one shown is not Mollys
Kibworth Beauchamp, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We ate at Mollys as the reviews were positive.We booked a table for 8pm and were asked where we would like to sit.We selected a table at the side for the four of us.Next day we arrived only to be told our table was taken and we were placed in the middle of the room.We noticed a lot of diners were smoking and Molly herself seemed to chain smoke all evening.....not very pleasant if you are non-smokers.Drinks arrived and then we ordered.About an hour later still no food so we ordered more drinks and as we had waited for the food the drinks were on the house.The food eventually came with no reason for the delay.One of the party did not receive what she had ordered which took some time to resolve.She then decided to order dessert,which happened to be ice cream.When it arrived it was very runny as if it had been left out of the freezer.We complained about this and it was brusheed aside with....someone must have left the door open!!The table we had chosen originally appeared to be occupied by friends of Mollys who were joined by Molly and had a good laugh and smoke all evening.We did not return to this restaurant again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mollys954, Owner at Molly's Retreat Restaurant, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
In response to your review, I feel it's a case of Very Sour Grapes,, Admittedly you did book a table the day before, however, the large table was booked by my room guests( some of them smokers. I would like to add, it's an open air restaurant, with 5 fans for 7 tables.) and the table you booked happens to be the next nearest to the bathroom, I can't believe you failed to notice one of my ( paying ) guests is disabled and uses a mobility scooter. it is irrelevant as to whether she's an expatriate or not.She is deserving the same courtesy as all my guests; just to clarify the other members of my party were in fact guests in my hotel.
I can't imagine why you seemed upset that we were having a good evening,, perhaps if you'd made an effort you would of enjoyed it too,,you certainly had no complaints the evening you ate there prior to this one;it does state in the menu that all food is cooked from fresh and may take at least 45 minutes, as we were busy it took a little longer for which we apologized and provided you with complimentary drinks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    34
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Favourite Restaurant in Kovalam”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I've been back to Molly's a few times after being out of Kovalam for 2 years. The food is fabulous, the service excellent and the atmosphere warm with a great ambience. The tandoori meals are simply the best in Kovalam and all the meals are fresh and well prepared. If you're away from home for a while or just fancy a break from Indian food there's also a good selection of English and Mexican dishes. Sunday roast dinner and mussels in pepper and cream are 2 of my personal favourites.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to dine”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We ate at this restaurant many times a nice setting for a restaurant with a proper dinning area, its nice to be able to dine where there is no sand. The service was very good and the atmosphere also very good with back ground music whilst you eat. We had lots of different mesls and snacks here the tandoor was very good and I loved the Cabbage Thoran, milk shakes were very good all in all a good place to eat. Chocolate Fudge brownie was ggod to.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodave186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“xmas new year”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

went to this restaurant xmas night and new years eve night what a wonderfull place the settings for this place are just beautifull i would say the most comfortable restaurant in kovalan the food well it was out of this world and so many varietys to choose from new years eve was the best food ive ever had the service was fantastic waiters seeing to all your needs and the prawns were like baby lobsters just all round fantastic me and my wife will be there for years to come also we visit during the rest of our time here by far the best food in kovalan and would like to say a ig thank you to heather and dharma who own it everything is to a high standard also they have beautifull rooms and what a lovely swimming pool we wish them a happy and good 2013 all the est reg jackie

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank regstevens310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“poor service and terrible staff”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

the staff of this restaurant was terrible, from their expression it seemed that they did not want us there only they had made such stupid faces. They took an hour to prepare one plate of chicken biryani and veg noodles and that didn't taste so great it was just ok. If u want to waste your time then u can try this terrrible restaurant.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dp_chd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molly's Retreat Restaurant also viewed

Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Molly's Retreat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing