We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best holiday I've ever had!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sea View Palace
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Kovalam
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best holiday I've ever had!”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed at the Sea View Palace for 10 days and I loved every second. The staff are the most welcoming, helpful and charming of anywhere I have stayed, it really was a home from home. The hotel is right on the beach, with a beautiful consistent sea breeze, and the partially open air restaurant is right at the front of the hotel with lovely views of the sea and the lighthouse at the end of the beach. While we were there our party even saw a blue whale out to sea while eating their lunch! The food at the hotel was really delicious, really light and fresh, and the outdoor tandoori oven was brilliant.

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, we had air con rooms which were really lovely with a balcony seating area outside to enjoy the sea view and sea breeze.

This was my first visit to India, I fell in love with the country and the people of Kerala, and I couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HarrietKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    9
    10
    11
See reviews for
28
34
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The room was clean and and really nice as we had a superior room on the second floor. And a nice view too. The beach is just cross the way. The stuff is friendly and the service is what anybody can expect.
We really loved to stay there and for sure we want come back next time.
Greetings to Rambo!

M

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FromCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

It was the the fourth time for us in Kovalam and once again we decided to stay at Sea View Palace and we didn't regret! The hotel is a very comfortable place. The location is perfect. Beautiful sea view from the balcony, surrounded by palm trees. At night, only the sound of the sea to hear - a dream. The service is very nice and accommodating - like a familiy! The food is delicious at Santanas restaurant. No question - we would choose Sea View Palace again and again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarisarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Location is very near to beach which is very good, Very comfortable and Good airconditioning. Reception staff was very helpful nad guided us very well.this is the cheap and best option.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
xxxx
xxx

Room Tip: Ground floor is better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ShelijaMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I've been living and traveling in India for 4 years now, and this was without a doubt my worst accommodation experience.
First of all, despite the name you can probably forget about the view since the hotel has several buildings, only one of which has a narrow facade on the sea...
Nevertheless the rooms are OK but management was of the worst kind:
- Despite confirming the booking twice by email, and having warned that we'd be reaching late, when we got there! The only excuse they could give us was that they never fully confirm rooms until there is a deposit... which I've never been asked to make! Since we were reaching from a late-night flight, we'd have discovered this at 1 am if the friend we were to meet there had not reached earlier in the evening to fix everything. Finding a hotel at 1am in Kovalam is not my idea of a nice vacation with a one-year-old baby :) I would understand giving away our rooms to someone else (as I said I live in India so I'm used to unreliable bookings)... but in that case the very least level of respect I feel entitled to is to be warned - they had my email and phone number.
- The airport transfer we had also agreed by mail was also forgotten. Luckily my friend had also fixed that before we landed... but it was 100 Rs more than the agreed price
- On the first morning our friend has been told the (very average) breakfast was included... and then finally that it wasn't, after she finished it!
- She gave things for a laundry... which was never done (she did get her clothes back... untouched)
- But to save the best for the end, we discovered at check-out that they were charging us for A/C rooms, which we had neither booked nor used! They gave us A/C rooms as a result of their own booking mess-up, and asked us to compensate for this by paying for a service we had absolutely no use for. As we started complaining pretty loudly, their genius idea to extort the money from us was to steal one of our bags and lock it in a storage room. The extra 1400 Rs rip-off simply wasn't worth missing our taxi and ruining the rest of our vacation so we just spit out the cash and went, but I will forever consider that this money was in fact stolen from us
- Cherry on the cake: you'd think a large hotel like that would accept credit cards... guess again, they'll ask you to go to a travel agent to get cash against a Visa card, for a mere 5% charge :(

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YannBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kovalam hotels

Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We had a wonderful experience at Hotel Sea View Palace, Kovalam. The rooms are spacious, good furniture and furnishing, absolutely tidy, good airconditioning, very effective house keeping. The bathroom is modern, clean and new. The persons in charge - Rajesh and Jeevan go the extra mile to make the guests comfortable and providing all their needs. Santana - the restaurant serves good yummy food, again here Jeevan recommended the best sea food of the season. All in all a excellent place to stay while at Kovalam.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea is awsome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mathewanandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

hotel sea view palace is simply the best ...!!! Mr.lal and his team did a gr8 job..pleasant atmosphere...the rooms are clean and tidy..good service..hospitality was perfect.Mr.lal,jeevan and all the workers of the hotel are soo kind ...i loooooved the stay....such a lovely place....
"THE BEST CHOICE'

we went as a group..stayed for one day.

Room Tip: Contact Mr.lal...he is the Perfect guy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank vimal037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.8 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 50 in Kovalam
205 reviews
1.0 mi away
Greenshore Apartments
Greenshore Apartments
#14 of 50 in Kovalam
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Searock
Hotel Searock
#23 of 50 in Kovalam
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thushara Hotel
Thushara Hotel
#19 of 50 in Kovalam
85 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park International Kovalam
Park International Kovalam
#33 of 50 in Kovalam
47 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pappukutty Beach Resort
Pappukutty Beach Resort
#37 of 50 in Kovalam
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sea View Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sea View Palace

Property: Hotel Sea View Palace
Address: Light house beach,kovalam, Kovalam 695521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sea View Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel sea view palace , a Budget Beach hotel in Kovalam, which was established on 1997 and lastly renovated on 2013. The hotel is located at the Kovalam Light house beach, hotel is situated right in centre of the beach with beach view rooms. The hotel is just 50 metres walk along the pedestrian pathway from the Kovalam light house . Kovalam Hotel sea view palace is just 16 kms away from the Trivandrum International Airport with less than 20 mins to reach the hotel . We are having 14 well furnished good rooms and common sea facing balcony with sofa sets . Hotel also has a traditional restaurant, Santana Restaurant with all types of delicious foods, and could enjoy your dinner in the candlelight with a romantic touch. Restaurent is designed such a way that it gives traditional kerala touch. We are also having skilled staffs and provide room service for 24*7 , which gives a homely atmosphere for our guests. Our aim is to make our customers enjoy their vacation maximum to the core and to prefer our hotel when they come next to kovalam.We guarantee a memorable vacation at Kovalam and you leave with best memories that you had with us in kovalam.OUR FACILITIESA/C Deluxe Rooms,A/C Standard Rooms,Non A/C Standard Fan Rooms.Laundry services,Sea View balcony.24 x 7 Room Service,Beach Front Restaurant,Airport pick-up and drop (On request),100% Ayurvedic treatment centre,Doctor on call ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Sea View Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sea View Palace Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing