We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveler rating
10
3
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
3
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 14 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2018 via mobile

Station to Hotel Sunrise -
Auto rs 350(fixed)
Prepaid taxi rs 500 - rs 700
Hotel Sunrise is a 40 min ride from the airport on weekday and 20 min ride on sunday. From the managera Mr. Robin and Mr. Vipin to the staff Mr. BheemSingh and Mr. Suraj everybody is helpful and courteous. The ac double room is spacious, luminous and has a good view from the balcony. Bathroom too is huge. From the front of the hotel you have a Marry Land ayurvedic massage centre and a temple. The walk to the beach is exactly a 6min walk through alleys and narrow illuminated paths with shops of clothes, resturants, jewellery, shoes on both sides.
Hotel Sandhya which is right beside the Sunrise hotel is a cheap place to have food with a cup of tea for rs 10 and stuffed dosa, eggs, steamed rice, etc within rs80.
For break fast we had gone to the city and on its way there is a small SeaFood hotel with its premium fish curry at just rs 250 which includes a platter of various local cuisines and sweet dish!!
Other options on the beach are Swiss Cafe where you can have Masal Tea for rs 30 and a must try is their Lemon Cake (rs60) and Chocolate Cake(rs 80).
Another must place to eat is Beatles cafe with a very nice view. We had Masala tea which had its own twist (rs60) and their Seafood burger(squid, prawn, crab, fish) for rs 350.
For main course Garcia Restaurant at the other end is a good place where Mr Arjun will treat you with good seafood cuisines which mind you can be bargained. Also Garcia is cheaper than Unwind and other restaurants with an average margin of es 100 to rs 250.
Almost every eating joint and shops can be bargained.
For vegetarians, Green Valley is an apt choice.
Lighthouse Kovalam is closed from 13 of Feb till 5 of March.
The Padmanabhasy Temple and Palace are in the city located near each other. And the Thrivanthapuram Zoo,Snake park, Chitra Art Gallery and Museum are all situated at one place.
All tourist attractions are open till 4:30 pm and closed on Monday.
Also Hotel Sunrise is a 40 rs ride away to the Harbour and Samudrika Aquarium.
Overall a nice trip made with the help of Hotel Sunrise.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Jaskanwar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
289reservations, Manager at Hotel Sunrise by Cave, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay at hotel sunrise bycave and for sharing your feedback with us.Team is delighted to receive such appreciation as it is our greatest reward!

I thank you for recommending us highly and look forward to welcome you back to the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2018

A warm smile will greet you as you walk towards the reception desk where you will be welcomed by one of the two friendly young managers. Robin and Vipin.
Right from the go, there is a ‘feel good’ ambiance that is almost palpable. This is, in part, due to the choice of music play lists that fills the air with vibrant energy.
The rooms themselves are luminous, airy, spacious, clean and noise free. You will also appreciate the private balcony that over looks lush vegetation in its natural state. It is a wonderful place to have a cup of tea, read a book or simply to relax any time of the day.
Sunrise hotel is also centrally located. It offers you the choice to either wander down the main road where general supplies and other useful services can be found or to take a small wending path bordered by an assortment of small local stalls displaying artisanal crafts. Both routes lead you to the beach in minutes.
What’s more, if you are looking for a great massage, look no further. Just cross the road to Merry Land clinic where you can book a massage on the spot and where you will be treated by expert hands!
I have been at Sunrise for 3 full weeks and have already reserved for my return visit next year! Great value for the product!

Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
1  Thank Tipi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
289reservations, Manager at Hotel Sunrise by Cave, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay at hotel sunrise bycave and for sharing your feedback with us.Team is delighted to receive such appreciation as it is our greatest reward!

I thank you for recommending us highly and look forward to welcome you back to the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2018

A young startup hotel with very welcoming, friendly and kind staff. They were very helpful when needed. For example they helped me to put up a mosquito net (which wasn't that easy...), repaired swiftly a missing nob for the regulation of the ventilator or helped me with adresses and inquieries for my search of a sruti box. Eager to help with any need. Warm, easygoing and relaxed atmosphere. Openminded. Clean, bright and nice budget room with good options to store your luggage. Spacious bathroom and a working shower. A very nice balcony with table and chairs, looking onto the lovely hotelgarden and the palmtrees, and bananatrees beyond. Lots of birds, squirrels, geckos and crows can be observed. Peaceful and lovingly cared for hotelgarden with different plants and a open seating area under a roof. Soothing sounds of the temple nearby and the mosque in the morning. Very close to the beach and still quiet. I was very happy there and loved it. Anna from Switzerland

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaSwitzerland47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
289reservations, Manager at Hotel Sunrise by Cave, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay at hotel sunrise bycave and for sharing your feedback with us.Team is delighted to receive such appreciation as it is our greatest reward!

I thank you for recommending us highly and look forward to welcome you back to the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

Clean rooms with amenities and very polite staff with good services and amenities. Had issues with hot water unavailability but looking how they addressed the cable issue promptly sure they strive to be upto the mark.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank AdityaO42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
289reservations, General Manager at Hotel Sunrise by Cave, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing our property. We are delighted to read of what an enjoyable experience you had. We really appreciate your support. Thank you for staying with us. We would love to see you again. We do however recommend you also visit our other properties too.

Kind Regards,


General Manager
Cave Hospitality Ventures Pvt. Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2017 via mobile

I booked it at the last moment before our bike trip to Kerala. I will put it in simple terms.

Pros:
1. Very close to beach. About 4 minutes of walk
2. If you are bringing your car or bike they have a covered parking at the hotel unlike those hotels at the beachside where you have to park the vehicle at the common parking zone near the beach.
3. Front desk is quick and helpful. We were getting late reaching there and they even checked up on us to see if we were in any trouble on the road.
4. Rooms are very big. It even has balcony with a table and couple of easy chairs.
5. Rooms have lots of storage options.
6. Not everywhere it is mentioned but they do have complementary breakfast.
7. It is quiet from the noise of the beach.
8. Bathroom is extremely big.

Cons:
1. The TV could have been a LCD TV since most of the Hotels provide that as a standaed these days. Not a deal breaker though.
2. I don't think they have in room dining option. But again the beach is just 4 minutes of walking distance which means food is never far.
3. I believe they have solar powered hot water system and hence the water was not so hot to be honest.

I would love to stay here once again if I am looking for a budget option with parking facility in Kovalam.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Pratim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews