We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liked it ....Would stay again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thushara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thushara Hotel
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Kovalam
brighton uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Liked it ....Would stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

What can you say, you don't visit Kerala because you want to stay in your room and critisise the furniture and quality of the tiling.

It's the environment that counts and The Thrushara is so near the beach you can hear the crashing of the surf as you lay in bed.

Essentially the hotel is clean, secure and well run with friendly staff.

If you like 7 star hotels, having your ego stroked by over attentive staff and go on holiday to grumble, then this is not for you. Please go somewhere else and give us all a break.

For the rest of us its just fine!

Patrick Gold 8th Feb 2009

  • Liked — Environment
  • Disliked — Occasional lack of hot water
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank astiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    39
    5
    6
    8
See reviews for
29
31
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2008

Stayed at the Thushara for two weeks:

What it is - Basic, reasonably clean. back street budget hotel, Aircon is available but you will pay 750 rupees per day- about £10. All rooms have a balcony.
Pool is fine. Breakfast is very basic indeed but there are numerous places to eat when you fancy a change.

What it isnt - Luxury, well equipped, sea views etc.

Towels are changed daily but hot water is sporadic. Sheetsare chenged every other day. All rooms have fans, wardrobe,mirror and little else. The beds are adequate and not uncomfortable. Laundry serice is available and very cheap for next day service.

We payed less than 400 quid each for two weeks in India including flights, hotel and breakfast so can hardly complain. If you want top class and home comforts dont stay here. If you are on a budget or just need a a base and are going to travel around what is a beautiful, interesting and often surprising part of the World it.s fine.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EmoNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2008

My husband and I stayed here with our 8-year-old daughter in December of 2007. We stayed for 7 nights and paid the equivalent of $65 CDN a night for a large room with a king size bed, ensuite bathroom, cable TV and AC.

Breakfast was included. Basic but decent and more than enough to get you through to lunch.

We stayed here as a splurge during a year-long trip and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The pool was lovely and kept very clean as were the rooms and common areas.

We contacted the hotel about a month before we stayed there and they were happy to hold a room for us without a deposit of any kind. They were not lacking for guests so this was especially appreciated.

The beach, restaurants, and shops are within easy walking distance, the lighthouse a little farther but very much worth the walk.

We found the hawkers to be less persistent and more laid back than they'd been in other areas of India (we spent 2 months there) which was rather refreshing.

Can't recommend Waves German Bakery and Fusion enough. Delicious food at both. Not the cheapest by far that we had in India but still blew Canadian prices out of the water.

All in all, we had a lovely stay in Kovalam.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrbb0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2008

The Thushara is a hotel popular with package travel agents. It has a nice swimming pool, and breakfast is basic but pleasant under an outdoor canopy overlooking the pool. The rooms are very basic and when I stayed there, there was a very terrible sewage-type smell which permeated our clothes and skin, and we never managed to get the air conditioning to work. The atmosphere was humid and the sheets always felt damp. The hot water was available at certain times of the day, plus at other times on request, but was rather unreliable. The telephone in our room didn't work (the socket was broken, though the phone remained plugged in) so this meant a dash to reception when we wanted a shower outwith the designated time. There is no bar or snack option, except for breakfast. The hotel is accessed through narrow passageways which are uneven, and a bit intimidating in the dark. Especially when it has been raining and they flood! However, the location is 2 minutes from Lighthouse Beach, and it is an acceptable budget option.

  • Liked — The proximity to Lighthouse Beach
  • Disliked — The terrible smell in the room (which other tourists also had in their rooms)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.0 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#20 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#11 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sea Face
Hotel Sea Face
#23 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Searock
Hotel Searock
#27 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park International Kovalam
Park International Kovalam
#34 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thushara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thushara Hotel

Property: Thushara Hotel
Address: Hawa Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thushara Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thushara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thushara Hotel Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing