We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay, friendly staff, amazing food, right on the beach.”
Review of Hotel Sea Face

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sea Face
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay, friendly staff, amazing food, right on the beach.”
Reviewed June 27, 2009

This is the third time we have stayed at Hotel Seaface and we love it. The staff are very friendly and welcome us back as old friends. They are helpful, polite and smile all the time. Everything is done in 'Indian time' of course. The hotel is situated right on the beach, but also has a pool which although small is more than enough to cool down in and for us to do our morning swimming.
The rooms are very clean, but could do with some nice bright white paint to lighten them up and when we first stayed had vases of flowers put out each day which was a nice touch. The bathrooms are in need of updating it is true and the hot water does take a while to come through, but hey this is india and good things always arrive eventually if you wait long enough !
The food served on the terrace overlooking the beach is fantastic. Huge choice, loads of seafood from that mornings catch and available all day. They have cultural evenings of local music which we thought would bore us after a while and was actually rather good.
The beaches are crowed after about 4pm when the local families come down to stroll, but we rather like talking to them and the sunsets are wonderful. The sea can be very dangerous, but that makes this a great place for surfing and bodyboarding, when the surf is up ! There are lifeguards up and down the beaches to watch the swimmers.
You won't always find alcohol at the beach food shacks here depending on the mood of the local establishment, but Seaface has a licence and alcohol is always available there. Trivandrum is a cheap taxi ride away and has great markets and interests.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cattydogpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    40
    14
    14
    8
See reviews for
42
21
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2008

Not worth the money. Rooms are average, bathrooms need renovation. Service below average.

Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank RajDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kovalam hotels

Lucknow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2008

Positioned on the seashore of the Arabian Sea, this hotel is an ideal preference for individuals, couples or families looking for a soothing escape. The resort approach hotel offers restful visitor rooms with contemporary fixtures and large drudgery bathrooms which are cleaned on a daily basis. The Sea Face Hotel is to be found just 16 km from Trivandrum International Airport and is also close to the local township which offers long-established Indian markets. The hotel features a delicious buffet style breakfast and the bar dish up energizing drinks and refreshments. There are also a whole host of leisure time activities to enjoy including kayaking and snorkelling, both of which can be prearranged through the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travelpsycho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2008

We had a great time here. The rooms are basic, but clean, comfortable and have air conditioning. The swing and porch are a nice touch as well.

The staff were helpful and friendly and the restaurant was pretty decent. I would definitely recommend this hotel, mainly because of the location and the pool.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and air con
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cazp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Sea Face. The location was ideal...right on the beach/main strip of Kovalam. I feel like we paid too much though...about $125USD a night. The room was clean but there was construction going on so there was constant hammering. I complained to the front desk but they did not seem to care. The wait/pool staff were very nice but the hotel manager was a kind of a jerk. I am of Indian decent and my husband is Caucasian/American and I got the feeling that the manager had a problem with that. Anyways I would give them another shot because of the cleanliness and location.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — hotel manager
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Norway, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

We had booked to stay at a nearby resort, but found it unsuitable for our 2yr old. After 3 days we transferred to the Sea Face and found it perfect for our needs.

By Indian standards the place was clean, the food (both breakfast and evening meals) was very good, the staff (front desk, housekeeping and restaurant) very friendly and helpful, the aircon actually worked, and we had hot running water.
We stayed in one of the ground floor rooms (with a door opening straight to the pool) and had no complaints with noise.

The location was perfect: right beside Sunset Rocks, with easy access to both Lighthouse and Eve's beaches. We sat on the terrace and watched fishermen hauling their nets while we ate breakfast each morning a safe distance from the many hawkers who patrol the beaches.

If we had to find faults, they would be:
* position of the a/c compressor outside the door means more hot air and noise whilst a/c is operating (so we switched it off on the evenings we sat outside - no problems with the room staying cool.)
* crows could be a real nuisance at breakfast/lunch.
* beer is quite pricey (there is a licensed hotel bar, so no need to hide your drink in a "special mug").
* pool has no shallow end or steps for children.

Apart from these minor niggles we had no complaints at all, and would definitely consider returning. All in all it was excellent value for money.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Crows!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lurtz&Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

I booked this hotel on recommendation of our driver. I was incessantly called every other day after booking (booked two weeks out) to confirm that I was coming so they would keep my reservation held. Staff demanded I send cash Rs 1000 in advance to hold the room. I, of course, refused but it was incredibly obnoxious. Like most things in the India, the magic word "no!" should be your answer to any such requests.

The hotel itself has a great beach front location, and the place is clean, if tired. The pool is fine, nothing special. Don't expect the many wait staff around the pool to come and offer to get you anything however.

The A/C is incredibly loud, and the rooms at the pool level have entrances into the lobby so loud ringing telephones and talking keep you from sleeping at night--this is made worse because the bathrooms have this small vent in the top of the wall which is open to the lobby area allowing the sounds to pass easily. Only book rooms on the 2nd floor (and definitely avoid 101/102/103).

The contiental breakfast was fine, but the restaurant was certainly not worth having dinner at (I recommend going over to Tides at The Leela).

Unless you are on a budget, skip this place.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the loud rooms, constant power cuts, bad service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelMasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Searock Beach Resort
Searock Beach Resort
#28 of 52 in Kovalam
95 reviews
1.0 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
950 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#12 of 52 in Kovalam
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sea Face? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sea Face

Property: Hotel Sea Face
Address: NUP Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sea Face is a 3 Star hotel with world class facilities and is ISO certified.Hotel Sea face is situated right on the Beach at Kovalam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sea Face reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Face Hotel
Hotel Sea Face Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing