We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Tianjin
Post
Inbox
Search

“An unexpectedly Parisian experience in Tianjin”
Review of Maxim's De Paris

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Maxim's De Paris
Ranked #129 of 2,443 Restaurants in Tianjin
Price range: $18 - $286
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was entertained in this restaurant. An old British building but fitted out and decorated in true Parisian style. Very lovely. I can imagine excellent ambience when busy but it was a cold Tuesday not long before Chinese New Year. Food was excellent. We had one of their set meals - maybe seven small courses. Service was discrete and efficent, maybe too fast by European standards. Not cheap but worth it for a special occasion and you can also wander around an old quarter of Tianjin

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Synthomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (6)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 6 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

Went here with no expectations. I was very pleased about the results. Some of the best French food in Tianjin in my opinion. We had dinner outside. Canapés were excellent. Loved the creativity of the crab salad. The spinach soup was delicious. Loved the steak and chocolate mousse. Bread could be better, however. Staff were friendly and were always filling up glasses. Some of the wines were good. Beautiful grounds (we had dinner outside) so the building is very old. Makes you feel like you are not in China anymore.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank BeijingPresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2018

Went there with my wife and out 4-year old son. The staff were fairly helpful and attentive. We order the mushroom soup and slow cooked snapper which we were quite satisfied. Also the bonus point is their kid menu was very good and my son enjoyed it very much.

However I do believe this place has lot room to improve especially from software and pay attention to the detail i.e.ironing out the crease on the table cloth and etc as I do not think this restaurant is up for fine dining standard although they charged the fine dinning price

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hawkdai007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

The food was spectacular. The French Chef is outstanding and the "feast" meal selections are really really good. The wait Staff was professional and attentive.

The main issue and it's a big one, is their business management process! When I called in advance to reserve - I let them know I would be ordering two meals, that their menus says takes 1-1.5 hours prep time. So I called a day in advance to advise them. They demanded a down payment! Seriously!

Also - one evening their credit card machine was having problems - so they demanded cash. Which Of course I didn't have with me.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Watson22skw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019
Google Translation

Date of visit: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxim's De Paris also viewed

 
Tianjin, Tianjin Region
Tianjin, Tianjin Region
 

Been to Maxim's De Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing