We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the most reliable and quirky Thai restaurant I know, in China.”

Yue Yuan Beer House
Ranked #34 of 2,370 Restaurants in Tianjin
Price range: $60 - $100
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
156 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Still the most reliable and quirky Thai restaurant I know, in China.”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I used to live in Tianjin and this was my favourite restaurant; now that I visit occasionally, I never miss the opportunity to return for the best green curry and barbecued pork neck, this side of Bangkok! The grilled squid is also excellent, as are the assorted starters; although standard Thai, the shrimp cakes, chicken in pandanas leaves and prawn rolls are the best available, home made and always served hot, a rare treat in China.

This is a quirky dive but don’t be put off by the tired décor, the dilapidated look, crowded seating and busy atmosphere, they just add to the ambiance. If you want good Thai food, served by smiling and helpful staff, then give YY’s a try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    33
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tianjin, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

A little crowded but it is only small. We still had excellent Thai food and good service, what more can I say

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ukexpat1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“#1”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

In the 5 years we lived in Tianjin, this was the only place that delivered good food, good beer, good price and friendly staff. The decor is fantastic, with the plaster dropping off the walls giving the place character. Ist time visitors should not be put off.
This is one of the few paces that did not close and reopen and close again in our time in Tianjin.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anlida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome Thai food”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Although a bit pricey the food here is the of the best Thai I've had in China. Service can be hit or miss but usually it's friendly but not attentive. The decoration is very nice it can be cozy which is great out of the rush with a date but too noisy at times during peak hours. 100% worth hitting though.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kilroy238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, reasonable prices”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We love to eat at YY Beerhouse. We never had anything we didn´t like, they have an extensive menu with both chinese and thai food. The only problem is that it is so popular so there is almost never any tables when we get there - you need to book in advance, which we are not good at doing.....

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ladefoged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yue Yuan Beer House also viewed

 
Tianjin, Tianjin Region
Tianjin, Tianjin Region
 
Tianjin, Tianjin Region
Tianjin, Tianjin Region
 

Been to Yue Yuan Beer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing