We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with excellent ,enthusiastic & dedicated staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Tianjin
Ranked #24 of 1,331 Hotels in Tianjin
Goa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel with excellent ,enthusiastic & dedicated staff”
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Nice hotel with really excellent standards.Although some of the staff was not understanding english their enthusiasm to help the guests was really outstanding.In my stay of around 8 days there was not a single moment where i felp like i am being neglected.Location is also very strategic & the information centre is also very innovative & helpful given the limitations in understanding english in the locality.Never miss the live music in the restaurent.

Super standards,Keep it up.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heprabhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    184
    45
    4
    9
See reviews for
11
14
35
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

For sake of safety, I paid RMB$200 (vs. local taxi of 1/3 of the price) and I booked a hotel transportation, only to find that it was a Camry with no hotel marking and a long walk to the parking with someone who I don't know and sort of wondering if this guy is legit.

Every morning, the church next door would ring some funny tones for about 3 minutes at 6 am, 7 am. Also, on the side facing Isetan (shopping mall), the traffic in the early morning is crazy. I guarantee that you will not have a good sleep in this hotel.

Food is barely acceptable. Not much choice for buffets, whether breakfast or dinner. Coffee is terrible.

Do not stay at this hotel if unless you need to wake up at 6 am and do not eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverTenpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

we come very often to tianjin for business and stayed at a couple of hotels. in january we wanted to try something new and booked the nikko. of course you expect something special for that price. the rooms cost more than the ritz-carlton in shenzhen! we booked via internet a non smoking suite at the executive/business floors with access to their lounge.
the location for business trips is not bad but the hotel is not too easy to find for taxi drivers eventhough we had our chinese people with us. we`ve checked in in the afternoon and went to our rooms. once unpacking there was already some strange and very loud noise above us. almost like somebody moving furniture above us. we could not make out what it was because we where at the top floor and there are no rooms above us. also we could hear voices talking very loud when beeing at the bathroom?? well we made ourself ready for our first business meeting and left the hotel in the afternoon. at the reception i complained about the noise before we left and the front desk manager said that he coud move us to another room but it would be a smoking room. i told him we are defenitely not smokers and he answered that there is no option. we mentioned we are in top floor so whatever that noise and the voices where they should fix it. he prommised to take care of it.
we came back very late because we had dinner with our business partners. once returned to the room there was quite some noise going on. like once a minute for about 10 seconds heavy furniture moving and clang clang.. pipe repairing noise. we also found a letter from the hotel in our room that they had some problem with a valve of a water tank above us. apparently this was the reason we heared the repair guys above us earlier. the again wrote they would offer another (smoking)room. so there we are in the middle of the night between noise or a smoking room. i tell you it was not a good night and with meetings next day we needed the rest.
next morning we went to the lounge for breakfast. service was misserable. hardly any selection. fruit plate was empty. the coffee undrinkable and the eggs i`ve got where oil dripping. even the chinese selection of food was more than poor if you consider staying in a compared to others very expensive hotel. but the worst was the whole impression was filthy. for example the salt and peppermill was so dirty that i had to complain. they broad me another one with the same glue looking dirt on top. finally they managed to clean it for us.
after complaining in the morning we could finally move to another non smoking room in the evening. without any anger just looking at the room i have to say it is still only average. all staff that you see at the floors or in the elevater are not really friendly. there is no hello or greeting what so ever. i was quite surprised because i know that it is usually differnt in china.
we`ve tried the general breakfast place as well but this was still very limited. when we entered the food manager did not even greet us..
when i`ve checked out i said i don`t want to pay the room for the first night because i could not sleep at all and they gave us the room eventhough they did know there was a problem before. otherwise there would be no repair guys above us.
i even had a talk to the front desk manager but there was no sorry only that the could cut the telephone bill (worth 3 euros) from the bill. and give me an upgrade next time.
i defenitely know there is no next time for me there and i also know the staff of this hotel has an attitude problem not mentioning the overpriced room rates.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank always_something_new
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

There is not much to say about the Nikko Tianjin: it lives up to the Nikko brand. It is new, clean, comfortable and centrally located. Like most of these upmarket chain hotel, it looks much the same as any other Hilton, Sofitel or Kempinski - don't expect boutique charm.

The restaurants are unenthusiastically good, but not gastronomical.

A nice touch is the executive floor lounge, which is on the top floor of the hotel an provides a near 360 degree view of Tianjin. Of course, there isn't much to see in Tianjin, but at least you get to see it from high up...

If you've been to another Nikko, expect more of the same, with a slight downgrade.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frédéric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Friendly staff, great rooms and good location. Really enjoyed this Hotel.
Stayed at the Nikko for final 3 nights of a 6 night business trip to Tianjin. Moved there after spending 3 nights in a very average Hotel on edge of industrial park close to office where I was working. Decided I wanted to move to something more luxurious & got choice down to 2: The Nikko and the Rennaissance. Rating here on T/A was a key factor but the more modern feel it presented was very important to me. Glad to say I made a great choice. The premium room I selected was a real treat. Beautiful styling, modern, clean & crisp with a great bathroom - especially liked the rainfall shower in wet room.
Only reason for not giving 5 stars across the board is on the value front. Only 1 option for Breakfast at 118RMB - Fine if you are going to fill your boots but don't despair though as there is a 24hr McDonalds 2mins away - 20RMB for breakfast meal!
Internet is up to 100RMB a day unless you are in an Executive room. Bar prices a bit steep too.
On the internet front - watch out if booking through some sites: Booked on venere.com because it offered Premium room with inclusive internet only to be told at check-in that was not the case. Quietly argued my case but the receptionist stood firm - Hmmmm. Meant to take it up with a manager but didn't have time in end. Best part of stay: Whilst checking out at 6:30 in the morning the assistant manager approached me to offer apologies for the problems when checking in and to tell me they'd refunded internet charges and contacted the web agency to clear up the mistake. What a very, very pleasant suprise. I'd definitely hope to stay here again on any future visits & will look out for Nikko in other cities from now on too.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tianjin hotels
Radisson Tianjin
#31 of 1,331 in Tianjin
174 reviews
Binjiang Road
The Westin Tianjin
The Westin Tianjin
#6 of 1,331 in Tianjin
370 reviews
Hyatt Regency Tianjin East
#11 of 1,331 in Tianjin
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tangla Hotel Tianjin
#12 of 1,331 in Tianjin
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Tianjin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Tianjin

Property: Hotel Nikko Tianjin
Address: No.189 Nanjing Road, Heping District, Tianjin 300051, China
Location: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Tianjin
#15 Business Hotel in Tianjin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Nikko Tianjin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nikko Tianjin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Hotel Tianjin
Tianjin Nikko Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing