We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“great location, quiet and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko Tianjin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Tianjin
Ranked #15 of 1,114 Hotels in Tianjin
Certificate of Excellence
Aussie anywhere ...
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great location, quiet and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We came to Tianjin to visit family, friends, and have dental treatment at the dental hospital one stop away (door to door only 8 min). We chose this hotel because of the easy access from the subway - third stop from main railway station. It’s an easy walk to many attractions like the '5 great avenues', central city, major shopping street (both new & old), and night market.

We stayed here twice recently in different room types, over several days. We were very happy with room size, facilities, and comfort. We found all the staff friendly and helpful. Even though the area is very busy, the rooms on both sides of the hotel were quiet. The new construction mentioned in another review is almost complete. We always found taxis waiting at the nearby corner when we need them. There is a supermarket in the Isetan department store basement diagonally opposite, plus several convenience stores nearby.

Watch out for the unreasonable internet cost if not included in your room rate. It worked pretty well, via the LAN as we used it. We did not use any of the hotel restaurants or other hotel facilities.

A note on subway access: Directions to the hotel are not clear, and trip advisor & google maps do not show the hotel position accurately. Exit B3 was easiest, coming in to the basement food court of the mall. Up the escalators and across passing the department store service desk, turn left and a side door into the hotel lobby. C1 also came into the food level, but was more convoluted coming from subway line 3.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anywhere-anyhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    177
    37
    3
    8
See reviews for
10
13
31
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I don't think there's anything outstanding about this hotel but it seems to cater fairly well for guests and benefits from being attached to a mall with shopping and eating facilities as well as the subway station that links to the main railway station. I'm another one of those fortunate customers who've been up on the executive floors and so haven't had to pay extra for Internet access. However, this is not very clearly explained and I have to say I'd feel put out if I had to stay in a room without free access in a hotel of this standing.
I've used the pool a couple of times and although it's not terribly big it is adequate providing there's no more than half a dozen people in it. I found it pleasant enough and was impressed by the sauna and jacuzzi area adjacent to the changing rooms simply because everything was working and up to the appropriate temperatures. I actually found the pool a tad cool by comparison.
The rooms I've had have been fine and the inclusion of real coffee and a coffee-maker is a nice touch, even if the product itself is nothing special. Breakfast on the 7th floor is fine, a reasonably good selection of western and Asian fayre, and check-in/out has been quite smooth. Overall, above average but not extraordinary.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Qupnicely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hard to beat the location of the Nikko in Tianjin, but spent a lot of time at the Westin down the road and would go there on returning to Tianjin. The rooms are fine but I found the restaurants to be mediocre, particularly the breakfast. Oftentimes it was hard to flag down a taxi as well, which was surprising considering how central the hotel is. All the staff were professional and friendly, with English widely spoken, and that was the best part of the hotel. There is nothing wrong with this hotel, just nothing amazing about it either.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank abellic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

By some stroke of luck, I managed to get a room on the "executive" floors (21 and 22). It has its own lounge that does a limited breakfast, canapes and drinks and has a lovely reading area. It was really relaxing up there. Level 7 has a bigger breakfast spread though (you can go to both).

The room was wonderfully large with a really spacious bathroom including tub and shower. The bed was really comfortable and soft. The room had a safe, ironing board and iron, desk with office supplies (a nice touch!), in-room wifi, minibar with fridge. LCD panels for the lights were pretty awesome too! Lovely bathrobes and silk robes to lounge around in too. :)

I had great wifi access and speed on my floor, other colleagues said they had to pay extra, so it may be worth it to upgrade if you need it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Second time staying here, and both times impressed by the rooms - style, amenities, comfort, cleanliness. The coffee-shop is a bit boring: one meal there is enough. Sports centre is a bit small. Only real downside is frustratingly slow and patchy wifi and Ethernet connections.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank ggypsy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effingham, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Am a frequent guest here and always look forward to the stay, knowing it will be comfortable and trouble-free. Staff is, without exception, pleasant and accommodating. Amenities are refined and contemporary. A personal favoriate, and a must for those shuffling out of a suitcase- rooms include, a rarity when traveling in China- an iron and ironing board.
Depending on the time of day, the entryway can be difficult to access due to the narrow street and heavy traffic, but the location is excellent- walking distance of high end shopping and a wide range of dining options.
One recommendation to management- eliminate the internet fee. Keeping in mind the fact that your targeted demographic is not accustomed to being billed for internet access, having to go through the process of discussing whether or not to accept the fee is, well, annoying.
In spite of the internet fee, I highly recommend this hotel for your business travels in Tianjin.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel is adjacent to a construction project. Occasionally the construction goes on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have stayed with Nikko Tianjin 4 times for the past 2 years when I travelled in China. The hotel locates right in the centre of HePing District of Tianjin, out of the surrounding luxury hotels on Nanjing Road , I personally loved the facilities due to the prime location of Nikko can offer, locates just above the exchange mall, a 6 level retail podium. The hotel lobby locates on Level 7, there is an elevator takes you straight up on the ground floor of the mall.

Some days during my stay here, without getting myself outside of the building, I can get my morning coffee from the Starbucks on the basement level, then follows by some cheeky shopping activities and even can get my manicure and pedicure done on the fourth floor.

One great advantage of staying in this hotel, although it located right in the middle of the shopping district. Surprisedly the room is so quiet from inside, the bathroom is spacious and shower head is strong, clean towels and bathrobe always provided and the daily newspaper. There is a wide selection of free TV channels.

My recent stay with the hotel was during Chinese New Year celebration in January this year, there were firecracker displays, traditional lion dancing and drum plays created such atmosphere within the hotel.

There are different types of restaurants facilitated within the hotel, I never tried any of them during my stays as there are plenty options within the exchange mall and outside the hotel in a short walking distance for much less RMB.

Room Tip: ask room facing the Nanjing road if you prefer some city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CG0521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tianjin hotels
Shangri-La Hotel Tianjin
#2 of 1,114 in Tianjin
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Binjiang Road
The Westin Tianjin
The Westin Tianjin
#14 of 1,114 in Tianjin
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Hyatt Regency Tianjin East
#3 of 1,114 in Tianjin
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Tianjin
#1 of 1,114 in Tianjin
5.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Tianjin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Tianjin

Property: Hotel Nikko Tianjin
Address: NO. 189 Nan Jing Road, Tianjin 300051, China
Location: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tianjin
#9 Spa Hotel in Tianjin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Tianjin
#15 Business Hotel in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Nikko Tianjin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nikko Tianjin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Hotel Tianjin
Tianjin Nikko Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing