We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crystal Palace Hotel
Ranked #64 of 1,346 Hotels in Tianjin
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Was staying here on a Businesstrip since I was working 5min walk away. Service is so-so, always issues with english, doorboy wont open the door, taximan wont find a taxi, concierge doesnt know anything, coffee at breakfast tasts like instant, in the room is a no-smoking-sign next to the ashtray, well...all the typical things you always have in local hotels. The rooms were clean and quite though. It was not all bad but I wont go there again...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian_Schmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 204 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel is fine, it is comparable to a three star in the United States. It's not especially clean, but you are in China. Perhaps it's improved. The restaurants are really quite good although the prices are high. Go for the Hyatt or the St. Regis downtown. Lots and lots and lots of Japanese businessmen with their Chinese "girlfriends", if you know what I mean. They do a wonderful decoration for Christmas. Remember that this review is from 2004 and believe me, once I left this hotel for my Chinese apartment, I never returned. Not once.

Room Tip: If you take a waterfront room during Chinese New Year or Christmas, you will get a wonderful treat o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This hotel is a Chinese four star type of place, quite luxurious but seriously lacking in charm. It is located nearby a museum which is not too bad though far from exceptional. For the rest, the neighbourhood is quite uninteresting, so don't make it a holiday destination.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seasondtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stay here regularly for business, but recently made the mistake of being in Tianjin during Golden Week - first week of October and a public holiday for all of mainland China. The Crystal Palace, normally full of men in suits on mobile phones, was teeming with brides and their parties who took over the restaurant and set off endless strings of firecrackers in the entrance driveway. Room service was the only way to get a meal - fortunately the rooms at the Crystal palace are large, clean and comfortable, so it's possible to set out a meal without having to clear everything off the desk. Due to the constant wedding party traffic, the only time housekeeping found to shampoo the carpets was after midnight - so sleep was impossible until after the whining machine had trundled up and down the corridor, soaping, rinsing and drying the carpet in time for room service to spill something on it in the morning. The breakfast is worth going downstairs for - western, chinese and japanese food and included in the room price. However, the staff are reluctant to remind customers that China has a non-smoking policy in public rooms including restaurants, and every breakfast table has an ashtray so you could find yourself sharing air with a smoker. Internet is 20RMB per day and the staff are really concerned that you know this before giving you a password - they're obviously puzzled that anyone would pay the equivalent of US$3.50 to stay connected. Shanghaiese folk like to say that Tianjin is still rural and slow, which is unkind but somewhat true of this city of 10 million. On the other hand, it means that the traffic is not as deadly as Shanghai, the people are rather more friendly and there are some really great places to visit. Start at the central railway station and walk along the river until you reach the Ferris wheel on the Yongle Bridge, change sides and walk back to the Italian zone of Tianjin - sister city to Genoa. The area has been renovated and filled with German beer kegs: obviously the city planners know who has the money in Europe. Keep an eye out for the Eiffel Tower disguised as a cellphone tower. There are still some 2,000 European style villas that were built in the 1920's and there are many green parks. The Crystal Palace is a long way from the centre, but it's not a tourist hotel as other reviewers will tell you. Instead you'll need a reason to be in this part of town and if you have one, just make sure you avoid the holidays and the brides !

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

break Fast by the Lake is something we enjoyed every morning, which make our day.

break fast is very elaborate in this hotel. you have options of continental, chinese, thai & japanese.

rooms were well light & we used to cook in the small kitchen attache.

internet costs a bit more.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Machnil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

My local host book me into this hotel, because it is close to their office. I would not choose it if you don't speak chinese or are tourist (there's nothing to see close by). I managed to get my door lock jammed, so that it had to be replaced. It was quite a task to solve since hotel staff don't understand english. Staff was friendly and tried their best to serve me well. Room was dated and I would not consider it very comfortable. Restaurant downstairs was pretty good.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Overkill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2005

This may be a modern and comfortable hotel but it is not for tourists since it is far from the historic center of Tianjin, certainly not within walking distance. Also, all of the staff seem to have very limited English, especially in the Business Center. Even postage stamps were a problem. The shop is big on merchandise but short on international newspapers or even the "China Daily". Stay away unless you must be here. The food is fine but the bar staff have poor English. It is probably a great site for Chinese businessmen.

1  Thank Vladislov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tianjin hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#26 of 1,346 in Tianjin
75 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Tianjin
Clarion Hotel Tianjin
#20 of 1,346 in Tianjin
380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geneva Grand Hotel
Geneva Grand Hotel
#80 of 1,346 in Tianjin
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Tianjin Hotel
Sheraton Tianjin Hotel
#21 of 1,346 in Tianjin
343 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Nikko Tianjin
Hotel Nikko Tianjin
#24 of 1,346 in Tianjin
347 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tianjin City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Palace Hotel

Address: No.28 Youyi Road, Hexi District, Tianjin 300061, China
Location: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Tianjin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Tianjin
Price Range: $57 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crystal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Palace Tianjin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing