We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of Teda Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Teda Central Hotel
Ranked #328 of 1,344 Hotels in Tianjin
Reviewed May 19, 2013

very good business hotel, quiet and clean.
breakfast is good, can find a lot of international food.

The hotel is absolutely not noisy and is also not far (2 Km) from the subway line.
Extremely easy to get a cab just outside.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank octagonal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 136 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip for two nights (16 to 18 April). It's 45 minutes from Tianjin airport and is in a central location. Check-in and out was efficient. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff try their best to please guests however if your Mandarin is lacking (mine was) then communication can be testy at times and they may appear curt when that wasn't intended.

Breakfast buffet has quite an extensive spread. Dinner on the 33rd floor revolving restaurant was nice. Good all-round views and average food however table service could be improved.

There's a night club on the 2nd floor with loud music hence rooms on higher floors are better if you prefer some peace and quiet.

No free wifi in rooms - LAN cables provided in room and paid PC access at Business Centre. However you can access free wifi in lobby by logging into the ground floor coffee shop system. When I enquired about free wifi I was told that there was none (perhaps I couldn't make myself understood) hence was grateful to be able to access it in lobby area.

For those planning to take the high speed train from Tianjin station to Beijing (or elsewhere) it's a 45 minute ride from the hotel to Tianjin train station where there are frequent high speed trains to/from Beijing (RMB 54 one-way for economy class with 30 minute travel time) every 20 to 30 minutes. You can also take the high speed train from Tanggu station to Beijing however there are only about 5 trains a day and it takes an hour to Beijing. This is nearer the hotel. For foreign visitors planning to buy train tickets please remember to bring your passport along or you won't be able to buy tickets.

Convenience stores and some shopping malls are nearby. Overall, average hotel stay.

Room Tip: Please request for rooms on high floor to be away from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtp-op75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

About the city / town : Tianjin city and Tanggu village( also known as TEDA) are 2 very different cities separated by almost 25 Kms. Tanggu which was earlier a fishing village now consists of Tianjin / Xingang port and nearby TEDA economic zone which has factories offices and residential buildings. Overall Tanggu is very modern and much more world friendly.

Location of hotel : About 10-15 minutes from Tanggu railway station and about 15-20 minutes from local bus station. The best way to travel to Tanggu from Tianjin or Beijing is to take the bullet train. Definitely cheaper and faster than any other transport. Travel to Hotel from Tanggu station is a bit difficult since Tanggu is still technically a fishing village ( just overgrown into a modern town) you need to haggle for the fares but don't pay anything more than 50 Yuan.

The hotel building is impressive and at an intersection. Building is new and the revolving dining area is very impressive. Gives a 360 degree view of the Tanggu skyline. Nearby shops are excellent with an Taiwanese version of McDonalds diagonally opposite the hotel building. Nearby Lido club on the extreme right of the main hotel entrance, Massage house and Huge KTV lounge was interesting experience if you have some extra cash to spend. Anyways there is nothing else to do in the evening since the hotel TV channels are limited with very few international channels.

Hotel interior : Flashy and showy which is common to most of the Chinese hotels. Lot of bright lights and large hanging Chandeliers. You get used to this visual overload after some time.. I guess it is part of the Chinese culture to show prosperity or wealth by lot of flashy lights and impressive objects.

Hotel room : Huge with great big size bed, study table and coffee table. The LCD TV was helpful but just CNN and Star TV as english companions in the evening. Bathroom was good with large bath tub and separate shower enclosure.

Hotel tarrif : Paid Yuan 500/ day for 2 days plus another Yuan 500 as deposit. which is normal.

Breakfast : Included in the tariff and was good. World menu was good with enough choice and well separated from the Chinese breakfast area.

Service : Excellent internet service with good speed. Please carry your preloaded software in case you need to use Google or Skype for your work. There is no google, no skype and no facebook in China so please carry your preloaded software. I was not blocked out when I finished my office discussion using my preloaded skype.

At 6 am in the morning the day I was supposed to catch the bullet train to Beijing my bathroom lights tripped. No lights. could not shave. I called up room service and the technician arrived in 5 minutes. That was indeed impressive.

Check-in and check-out was comfortable.

Negative observations : They could not trace my online reservations so had to spend some time in the evening looking for the online booking. It did not change my tariff plan but just delayed my check-in

Wasted about 45 yuan due to communication error in the coffee shop. Ordered just 1 slice of a sweet bread roll but got a large ( huge ) dish of bread roll enough to feed around 5 people on my table. Quite embarassing for me since the coffee shop occupants thought I was starving for several days.

Aditya
India

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for better view and also to avoid the normal rush of local / visiting guests w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajogdeo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

In Tianjin to visit fabrication workshop for my project and the TEDA Central Hotel was on the shortlist. I found the service good, though the deposit was a bit large. Room was comfortable and large, but bathroom needs a bit of a freshen up. Large selection for breakfast (part of room cost) and ate dinner one night which was passable In general would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

The staff were friendly and tried hard to understand if you wanted something.
The roof has a revolving Chinese restaurant and really looks the part when you enter it. The revolving part is the best part of the whole experience in this restaurant. The food is very disappointing although they do try to dress it up to look good. They desperately need a change of chef. The menu looks great but the food is bland.. Actually very little flavour. We ate beef and vegetables, special fried rice and the prawns hadn't been cleaned properly.
The restaurant on the second floor was very good and served western food.
All in all, I wouldn't go back there as it is too far out from the major train station and airport.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cairodai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 길건너편에 트랙이 있어서 야간에 온 동네 사람들이 운동해서 시끄러움.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 에어조단
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 南側か西側の部屋からは開発区が良く見える
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jinglun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tianjin hotels
Tanggu
Binhai Jianguo Hotel
Binhai Jianguo Hotel
#318 of 1,344 in Tianjin
38 reviews
Tianjin TEDA International Hotel
#140 of 1,344 in Tianjin
91 reviews
Green Park Villa Hotel Tianjin
#34 of 1,344 in Tianjin
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Binhai Tianjin
#25 of 1,344 in Tianjin
248 reviews
Sheraton Tianjin Binhai Hotel
#12 of 1,344 in Tianjin
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teda Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teda Central Hotel

Address: No.16 Third Avenue, Economic & Technology Development Zone, Tanggu District, Tianjin 300457, China
Location: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin > Tanggu , Tanggu District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 1,344 Hotels in Tianjin
Price Range: $46 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Teda Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Teda Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing