We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every luxury for an excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Tianjin
Ranked #17 of 1,327 Hotels in Tianjin
Pune
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Every luxury for an excellent stay”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have stayed in this Hotel for more than a month. This Hotel is among the best hotels which i have ever visited. It has got every luxury very well maintained to make ur hectic day relaxing ie Gym, Steam bath, Spa, Swimming pool. Courtesy of staff has really pleased me. Choice of Breakfast was amazing along with some live counters. They have got Impeccable service.

I would certainly like to visit this Hotel once again!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the topmost floor possible to get a mind blowing view of tianjin city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyraj421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance T, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Tianjin, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel. We appreciate it that you given so high praise to us. Give the guests the best service is our mission. We all are glad that you would like our service. Welcome back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    194
    62
    21
    6
See reviews for
10
20
20
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Cant fault anything about this hotel.
Room clean and tidy.
Have seen comments about staff and them not speaking English, maybe they should learn Chinese. Most staff that I talked with had a good level of english conversation and were always very helpful.
Hotel is located next to a street of good resturants and bars, metro is close to the hotel. Staff were always happy to go out of thier way to help get taxis, even in heavy rain they thought nothing of going out and helping.
Fantastic stay for the month of June 2012.
Big thanks to hotel and staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobblaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance T, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Tianjin, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thanks a lot for choosing Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel, and making such a nice evaluation. Do our best to help guests everything that what we should do. Sincere thank you for sharing your beautiful experience in our hotel. If you will be back to Tianjin in the future, we will be honored to your first choice and sincerely welcome your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
137 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Check in super got suite upgrade; beds nice like always in marriotts; but rooms and surroundings already used up; gym good; pool huge but somehow surroundings super unclean feeling; location of hotel very good; excecutive longe small not great variarity of foods get served; all in all good for a few days to get points and nights

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance T, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Tianjin, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for choosing Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel. We are very happy to get your comments. We will keep the swimming pool clean, and do our best to make every guest satisfaction. You will be welcomed back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in Tianjin for a week in early june 2012. We were not impressed at all when we got there.

The staff barely speaks english, even at the front desk, which is disappointing for a Marriott Hotel. They were not smiling AT ALL, which is partly due du the culture, but still, I would have liked a warmer welcome.

The room was small, especially since we had a baby bed. It showed signs that it was not new anymore. On the ceiling there were moisture stains that had just been repainted. The bathroom could have been a great one in the 1990's.

It was clean, although I made sure I didn't walk on the floor barefoot.

One good thing was the breakfast at the buffet. Good food. Although they would not fill in our coffees, we had to ask every single time.

The location of the hotel is ok, just next to a small walking street and close to a supermarket.

We did not see the sky once, too much smog.

The pool seemed great, although we did not go.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance T, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Tianjin, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for choosing Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel, and your feedback has been received. About speaking English, we will make a plan to improve the staff's ability constantly. And will develop them enthusiasm. Sincere thank you for putting forward something not good enough. We will make adjustments. Welcome you to come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is the closest of the Marriotts to the airport, with the subway station right in front of the hotel, and a cluster of restaurants directly to the right of the entrance (including a pizza hut, and 24-hour KFC and McDonalds, if that's of any interest to you; 7-eleven at the end of the street).

I've read some of the other reviews and I suspect that the complaints about the in-hotel food may be because not that many people actually eat *in* the hotel; I certainly didn't, except for breakfast (which is fine - pretty much about what you'd expect for a hotel of this class, i.e. "standard hotel breakfast"). I mean, there's restaurants everywhere. Did not run into any "rotten food" per the other reviewer's complaint. Staff were uniformly excellent, with a fairly high level of English proficiency (the ones who can't generally can find the ones who can).

Internet worked well - there can be intermittent "drops" in terms of web-browsing (my experience of other services like RDC had no issues), which I think is not the "hotel internet" but somewhat over-wide government filtering (see http://insidesearch.blogspot.sg/2012/05/better-search-in-mainland-china.html ); I certainly wasn't trying to search for anything objectionable.

About the only "consideration" about the hotel is that the physical facilities etc. are definitely not brand-spanking-new. I don't mean it's crumbling or anything (I did not have problems with air conditioning per the other reviewer, for example) but you can tell it's not a building that was put up in, say, the last year or so. This is not an issue for me. Everything that should work, worked for me; no issues with cleanliness etc.

The location with the metro station and the restaurants outside also have the added benefit of causing there to be taxis available all the time (in my experience, anyway).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weileongtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance T, PR at Clarion Hotel Tianjin, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments. You are welcomed to come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Stayed there for two nights, the air conditioner was not working, the manager just left a polite note requesting customers to 'adjust' without the ac as it was under renovation!! Nothing spectacular about the room either. It was centrally located and taxi drivers easily drove me back to the hotel with minimal communication - the only plus point.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chk86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The hotel is a bit old, and its tired rooms show it. Its Business Center provides virtually no support whatsoever - not even writing pads! The location appeared central: there is a nice pedestrian street with lots of restaurants, but it seemed sadly empty in the evenings. My check out took 30 minutes, because they kept making mistakes: a new mistake would be made as soon as they corrected the previous one you spotted. Overall, not too impressived.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tianjin hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Nikko Tianjin
Hotel Nikko Tianjin
#22 of 1,327 in Tianjin
340 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Tianjin
The Ritz-Carlton, Tianjin
#1 of 1,327 in Tianjin
324 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tianjin East
Hyatt Regency Tianjin East
#9 of 1,327 in Tianjin
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Radisson Tianjin
Radisson Tianjin
#30 of 1,327 in Tianjin
173 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Tianjin Riverside
0.4 mi away
The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Tianjin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Tianjin

Property: Clarion Hotel Tianjin
Address: No.105 Jianshe Road, Heping District, Tianjin 300042, China (Formerly Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel)
Location: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tianjin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Hotel Tianjin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Tianjin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tianjin
Tianjin Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing