We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$156
$146
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$127
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveler rating
203
131
29
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
131
29
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew winghistorical hotelfour poster bedmodern amenitiesthe riverheritage roomrich historypresident hooverold gloryoriginal lobbybasement museumfresh squeezed juicegreat place to explorevictoria parkon displayfront officemassive bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 376 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel has lots of character and is really beautiful. I accidentally booked the Victorian room instead of the rooms in the heritage wing which I think would have been nicer, but the Victoria rooms were nice too. The furniture was really nice, there was lots of space and huge bathrooms with separate bath and shower, and walk in wardrobe. It had all the amenities and toiletries one needed, and although not 100% perfect the atmosphere and the service and willingness to try to help made up for it. The O'hara bar was also really nice and had lots of character. It's great having the museum in the hotel. Wifi is unfortunately not free in the rooms, but it is free in the lobby. I think the rooms facing the river may be better though as the room facing the other way was a little loud due to some machine outside. The reception were helpful and friendly and they provided a good map with magazine etc. This place is different from many in China and makes a really nice change. I would definitely stay here again if in Tianjin, but perhaps next time I would try one of the heritage rooms. The room where they serve afternoon tea is really nice too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeisbeaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear lifeisbeaut,
Thank you very much for your stay at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel and share with us your experience.
Life is a collection of experience, we are glad to see that you like the hotel’s character, room, O’Hara’s Bar, passion service and Victorcian Lounge afternoon tea, and had a nice stay in our hotel. We are sorry to see that you had problems with noisy of outside, please so kind to write an email to us directly for your next reservation to Christian.metzner@luxurycollection.com. I will make sure you get your right room and you are well taken care.
I hope I can welcome you back to The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel in a not long distant future.
Best Regards!
Christian Metzner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Didn't stay here but wished we did. Historic hotel that's been renovated really well (for China). Decent bargains to be had on line too. The afternoon too is cheap at 99RMB for two, but basic. A wonderful place to explore even if you're not staying. The 'museum' is a rip-off though at 50 RMB for non-guests. Guests get it free though I think

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank owally1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Owally,
Thank you very much for staying at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel and share your excellent experience with all travelers.
Hotel was established in 1863 and renovated as super 5 start standard with unique indeginous feature. The team is keeping on put their enthusiasm into maintaining hotel facilities and deliverying outstanding service.
Please so kind to email me to Christian.metzner@luxurycollection.com if there is anything I can assist.
I hope my team can welcome you back to The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel Tianjin in a not long distant future.
Best Regards!
Christian Metzner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

There are so many reasons to choose this 150years old hotel.When i was a boy,i enjoyed listening to my grandmather talking about tales of meilanfang,who was the most talented artist of beijing opera;the love story of Zhang xueliang and Zhaosi.When i really stayed here,enjoyed the lobby and room which held those stories.time seemed to stop that time and really nice Memory forever.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginobobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Ginobobo,

Thank you very much for staying in our hotel frequently and share with us your best experience.
Life is a collection of experience, we are glad to see that you enjoyed the lobby and srories.
Mr. Mei Lanfang wrote his great Biography in our hotel and Mr. Zhang XueLiang and Ms. Zhao Si like hotel’s ice cream a lot, we created the historical ice cream now and expect to delivery the Memorible period once guest enjoy the ice cream.
Celebrating our 150 years aniversery, we are so honor that you became one of our historical visitors that will be a wonderful memory in the coming century.
Please so kind to let us know if there is anything we can be assit and send us email to christian.metzner@luxurycollection.com, we will make sure you are well taken care.
Best Regards!

Christian Metzner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very boutique, historic hotel in the former financial street of Tianjin.Rooms are large with extreme large and nice bathroom with TV. Service is good. Have a very historical bar, skylight garden serving afternoon tea. President Hoover lived here for 5 years and had the wedding here.

Room Tip: room are large, those with window to the river may be better
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank landschaft2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Landschaft2005,

Thank you very much for your stay at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel and share your experience with us!
Life is a collection of experience, I am so glad to see that you like the hotel historical theme, large room, high-end level facilities, good service and environment. My team will put more effort for maintaining the historical heritage and keep elevating hotel service.
Please so kind to let us know if there is anything we can be assistance by enail me at Christian.metzner@luxurycollection.com, I will make sure you are well taken care.

Best Regards!
Christian Metzner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Its that good for a reason, everything is beautiful, the exterior, interior, rooms. Nothing left to spare, make sure you get a room done up in the "old" style.

Bed was a little creaky, I think thats just because it was that old and authentic.

The food was excellent, located right on the river, at night the building looks spectacular.

The Museum is interesting as well, having the oldest elevator in China.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1world1eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear 1world1eye,
Thank you very much for your staying at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin. We are so horned to have you here sharing your excellent with all the travelers.
Life is a collection of experiences, we are so gald to see that you enjoyed in a historical theme hotel & museum and enjoy the food. We will look after the bed and try to fix it in the condition of not affect its historical feature.
We hope we can welcome you back at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin in a not long distant future.
Best Regards!
Christian Metzner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews