We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #5 of 1,328 Hotels in Tianjin
Certificate of Excellence
Tianjin, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing venue”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

In Tianjin, the deluxe hotel which is cozy and make you feel at home, could be The Astor Hotel. Beside Haihe River, you will get convenient transportation and good restaurants to enjoy here. For travellers who come to Tianjin, strongly recommend you here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRAZY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Crazy C,

Greeting from The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin!
Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel and share your experience with all the travelers.
Life is a collection of experience, we are glad to see that you enjoyed hotel restaurants and environment. Thank you again for your strong recommendation! My team and I are inspired to put more effort on serving all our valued guests with Luxury Collection personalized service.
Hope we can welcome you at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin in a not long distant future.
Best Regards!

Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    124
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
28
54
35
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed in the old section of the hotel and we were truly impressed with the fact that the hotel had actually keep some real old features in the rooms not just fake old that is very much the norm in China. The floor had been kept in its original worn beauty, the rooms were huge and the furnishings spendid. The bathroom luxurious and large with a tv you could use in the bath. With breakfast included it was about $130pn. Not bad for a luxury collection!
The service was ok, not great, not bad. Getting a taxi was an issue on a rainy Saturday night, especially as the door man was more interested in chatted with the other staff than trying to get us a cab. But the reality is that trying to get to get a cab on any rainy night in Northern China is always a difficult and long process.
We ended up giving up on a cab and asked for some directions from the reception staff for somewhere within walking distance to eat. We specifically wanted to find one of the Gobuli dumpling places which were so well know in Tianjin. We were sent on our way with a restaurant name in Chinese and had we not been living in China would have given up and had room service. However we pressed on down the street to find the restaurant which matched the Chinese characters we had in hand and went in. This was not a Gobuli dumpling house, instead a very local place with no English menu and no one knowing a word of English. I really don't know what the girl on reception was thinking (perhaps not much at all - pretty standard really), however we pushed through the difficulties thanks to google translate and the local kids television host who was sitting next to us and kept showing us his dishes to which we gave a thumbs up or down to the waitress. The food was excellent once we got our order sorted and the place had a real fun family environment and by the end most of the cook staff and customers were either gathered around our table or having great looks from afar to see how we were doing. If you want to find this place turn right as you come out of the hotel, cross under the first big bridge you come to and stop where you find the chickens out the front in a cage (maybe not at the moment with the bird flu fiasco on going).
Back in the hotel the rooms were very quiet and the breakfast beautifully laid out in a sumptuous dining room. Check in check out was simple and the building is truly beautiful and nicely preserved.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the older rooms as they are huge and opulent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Helen,
Greeting from The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin!
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and share your experience via TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you like the hotel environment, room facilities and breakfast.
We are sorry for your not so smooth experience for outside dinning. We reemphasis doorman about hotel standard service for getting them well into serving our guest. At the same time, front office associates are improving to serve guest with a throughout communication and make sure our guest well understand. Hope the improvement will find you a better experience during next time.
Please so kind to let us know if there is anything we can be assistant to you by sending us email to Christian.metzner@luxurycollection.com. We are glad to offer our best to you.

Best Regards!

Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel really lives up to the "luxury collection" branding. Extremely spacious room, bathroom with TV in the wall near the tub, twin sinks, separate shower. Spacious dressing room. Big and comfy bed. Great advice from the concierge with regards to dining at the Italian district in Tianjin. Wish we could have spent more than one night here.
Well done Astor Hotel - thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPH360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear CPH30,
Thank you very much for your stay at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin and once more sharing your experience with us.
Life is a collection of experience, we are so glad to know that you enjoy your stay and the dining experience in Italian Street. Thank you very much for your kindly praises. We will make sure to serve all the values guest with luxury collection personalized service and get guest enjoy every moment in Astor Hotel.
You are most welcome to visit hotel brand website www.luxurycollection.com/astor for more information.
We hope we can welcome you again at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel in a not long distant future.
Best Regards!
Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for a night in December, we are from the UK but live in Beijing, so it made for a nice break away.

What a wonderful hotel, a great piece of history, alongside the river, and everything you would expect from a luxury hotel.

Easy to get to most things from here.

Favourite bit? Having a drink in the bar at the end of the evening - being served by wonderful staff. Second favourite bit - lying in the bath watching the TV in the screen just by it!!

Very romantic break, would stay again - thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Ms. HampshireGinger,
Warm greeting from The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin!
Thank you very much for you and your husband stay at our hotel for a romantic break. Life is a collection of experience, it’s happy to know you and your husband enjoy the evening moment in O’Hara Bar and relax in the bath room by watching TV.
Thank you very much for your strong recommendation and stay with us for next time. We will keep on effort to serve every valued guest the best experience of the life.
Hope we can welcome you back soon at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin.
Best Regards!
Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A grand hotel from the late 1800's. it maintains its old glory. The hotel has new additions attached to it for luxurious guests rooms complete with all the amenities, but the O'Hara Bar is still in the old building and so is the 1863 Restaurant. There is also a museum in the basement containing the relics from the old hotel. Table settings, old photos of all the celebrities that stayed at the hotel, including President Grant and President Hoover. Also posted were framed banquet invitations by International Organizations as well as the menu of the party. They have the first Otis elevator ever installed in a hotel in China. Nice gym, spa and indoor pool. The hotel is now managed by The Starwood chain.

Room Tip: River view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Valued tldagr8Lakeland,

Thank you and your family very much for your stay at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel and share your experience with us via TripAdvisor.
Life is a collection of experience, we are so glad to see you and your families experienced hotel 150 years’ historical culture and enjoyed the stay at our hotel.
After one and half years grand renovation, hotel opened in 2010 is branded as a Luxury Collection, a unique Starwood Hotels & Resorts' lifestyle brand specializing in exceptional and indigenous luxury hotel experience.
Hotel will celebrate her 150 years ceremony during July 2013, we are rolling out room and restaurant promotions & packages which are bookable via hotel brand website special offer page.
I hope we can welcome you back to The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel in the not long distance future.

Best Regards!

Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowaramup, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The astor hotel in Tianjin in china very english beautiful timber work stayed for new year seems like the only couple there yet every thing we wanted they never had beer no wine no champagne no prawns for starter sorry i had to laugh the band went home at 9 pm still in the end we enjoyed ourselves and thats all that matters and we would stay again Tianjin is a wonderful city catch the bullet from beijing that in itself is a buzz

Room Tip: rooms looking over the river frozen when we were there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Gordon600,
Thank you very much for staying at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin, and share with us your experience on TripAdvisor page.
We are glad that you enjoy your stay with us and get you family relaxed in Tianjin City. We hope we can welcome you back again in the not long distance future.
Best Regards!
Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I spent a night at Astor hotel last November. Like mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel service fell short of our expectations. My booking with Astor hotel requested for a high floor quiet room. We were assigned a mid-floor room with very small windows and close to a service area. As a result, we could hear staff moving furniture next door. The bathroom marble floor had big stains and when we took the shower, the water spilled over the bathroom floor...We complained about the noise and were then offered to move to a river view room. We wondered why we were not offered a quiet room in the first place, but agreed to move to this new room. Unfortunately, the room was still smelling smoke and when opening the window, we could hear the traffic on the main road. The following morning, we arrived for breakfast at around 10am and the buffet was almost finished and service staff already started to get busy for lunch time, not paying much attention to us...The only positive feedback we can offer is on the Astor bar where we had a nice drink while enjoying quality jazz live music.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchconnection88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Ms. Frenchconnection88,

Greetings from The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin.

We just received your feedback regarding your current stay in our hotel from TripAdvisor guest experience comments.
Allow me to thank you first for choosing our hotel and more important for letting me know your experiences with our hotel service and product even it was not all positive.

Please be so kind and accept my sincere apology that your experience with our hotel was not up to your expectation and a Luxury Collection Hotel normal high service and quality standard.
I have communicated with our team and reemphasis on delegating the guest room according guest’s requirement to serve guest with convenient and comfort always. We are sorry for the trouble you faced of changing room but not as good as your expectation. Hotel food and beverage tam-Café Majestic is retraining according Luxury Collection brand service standard, To make sure guest take breakfast in a good environment, nice food and excellent Service.
Dear Ms. Frenchconnection88, please be so kind and let me know if your travel plans will bring you back to Tianjin so we can show you that our hotel and team can and will deliver the service you would accept from us and a Luxury Collection Hotel.

Please contact me directly via christian.metzner@luxurycollection.com if I can be of assistance to you.

I hope we can welcome you back at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin.

Warmest Regards,

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tianjin hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Tianjin
#1 of 1,328 in Tianjin
344 reviews
The St Regis Tianjin Hotel
#2 of 1,328 in Tianjin
446 reviews
Shangri-La Hotel Tianjin
#3 of 1,328 in Tianjin
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Binjiang Road
The Westin Tianjin
The Westin Tianjin
#6 of 1,328 in Tianjin
370 reviews
Hyatt Regency Tianjin East
#11 of 1,328 in Tianjin
108 reviews
Hotel Nikko Tianjin
#24 of 1,328 in Tianjin
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: No.33 Taier Zhuang Road, Heping District, Tianjin 300040, China
Location: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,328 Hotels in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astor Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin, a central feature of the regeneration of Tianjin's historic centre, the heritage gem evokes the romance of a bygone era with all the contemporary luxuries of a world-class hotel. The Hotel overlooks the Hai River in the heart of the Heping financial district. Hotel features 152 elegantly appointed rooms and suites in both classic Victorian style and more contemporary elegance. All rooms are equipped with 42-inch LCD TVs, CD/mp3 sound stations, Lavazza Capsule coffee machine and high-speed Internet access. Hotel features five exciting dining and wining venues. ShuiAn serves an authentic Cantonese and local cuisines, while Cafe Majestic is an all-day-dining restaurant with 24-hour A-la-Carte menu. For the extraordinary European cuisine, head to 1863 Bistro & Terrace which has more than one hundred year culinary tradition. The Victorian Lounge offers a wide range of beverages and British High Tea. The Award-winning British Gentleman bar - O'Hara Bar is famous for single malt whisky, selected wines, feature cocktails and live jazz show. A total of 730 sqm of conference and meeting space includes the Buckingham Ballroom with a fine domed ceiling, and the Windsor Multi-Function Rooms. Over 700 square meters of space is dedicated to the hotel's own museum, a testament to The Astor Hotel's long heritage and pivotal role in Tianjin's development. The nearby pier, which is owned by the hotel, will be used as a jump-off point for river cruises. As a Luxury Collection Hotel, The Astor Hotel Tianjin provides a range of signature services, including 'Luggage Liaison', a suite of travel services including luggage storage and unpacking/packing services upon request, and 'News Paper Direct', a print-on-demand service for over 520 newspapers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing