We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but with many issues that still need to be sorted out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 1,316 Hotels in Tianjin
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel but with many issues that still need to be sorted out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at the historical wing and overall, it was a good stay in a fantastic hotel immersed in history. But there are still some issues which got me pretty upset.

Firstly, I was not informed that one of the rooms on my floor is a 24/7 buddhist shrine. Apparently, it was used by the Panchen Lama before and the management had converted the hotel into a shrine. Imagine the fright that I got when returning to my room at 2 in the morning and hearing buddhist music coming out of this room.

Secondly, the swimming "pool" is not exactly a pool. There are 2 lap pools, each measuring about 10m by 1.5m and 1.2m deep. I got from one end to the other in a stroke.

Thirdly, there's a "trapdoor" large enough for me to enter, in my closet. When I pushed it open, it is actually the entrance to a room where there are many water pipes. I never entered the room coz it was dark, but I suspect that my next door neigbor could have entered my room via this "trapdoor".

The last issue is what irks me most, and it should not be happening to an SPG hotel. It's the lack of communication between the housekeeping dept and the front desk. I had forgotten to pack my bag of laundry when I checked out, and upon realizing it after I had returned to Beijing at 8pm, I called the hotel and after checking with the housekeepers, they had the cheek to tell me that the housekeeper found it while cleaning the room after I had left. Between my check-out at 11am till 8pm, no one at the hotel called me about this. What makes it worst was that I did not leave Tianjin immediately after checking out. I had infact placed my luggage with the conceirge and the front desk knew that I would be back at 6pm to pick up my stuffs. So why didn't anyone at the hotel call me within the 7hours, or tell me when I returned at 6pm? I am scratching my head.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HollandVBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear HollanVBoy,

Greetings from The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin.

We noticed your recent feedback via Tripadvisor and would like to thank you for letting us know your experiences with our hotel service and facilities even it was not all positive.

Please be so kind and accept my apology that you had to experience our lack of attention regarding the information of your lost item. Our official hotel policy does not allow our associates to call guest after leaving our hotel regarding lost items due to privacy issues. We only can inform our guest after receiving the guest call if we have found the lost item and of course would courier those to you. We for sure failed to inform you when you picked up your luggage in the evening for which I am very sorry for.

Regarding the maintenance door inside your wardrobe please be so kind and allow me to inform you that this door does not connect to any other guest rooms. The door allows our engineering team to access our hotel water pipe system for maintenance purposes. After having received your feedback I verified the door in person and noticed that the lock we have in place to stop guest opening this maintenance door had failed which we have repaired by now. Please be so kind and excuse us as well for this failure.

We have also received your notes from our Starwood Guest Service center which I will reply in an separate email to you.

Dear HollanVBoy, I would be delighted if you could let me know via christian.metzner@luxurycollection.com if your travel plans will bring you back to Tianjin and I will ensure you are looked after.

I hope we can welcome you in the not too distant future back at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you require further information.

Warmest Regards,



Christian Metzner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    120
    26
    8
    3
See reviews for
24
52
30
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
605 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

A historic hotel with a very homely feel and very well located for the Beijing train, meetings etc. Beautiful public areas dating back to 1863. An amazing 20ft mosaic behind the reception desk is the first sign of the opulence to come. The bar is classic old style and u can imagine the traders drinking gin over jazz last century. Service was great throughout, and the barman in O'Hara's seemed to be the locals favorite. Rooms were superb (I had a grand deluxe river view) which was large, cozy and had an over sized bathroom, walk in shower and a TV at the end of the bath! Will definitely make this my hotel of choice in Tianjin. Windows open for fresh air which is also a bonus.

Room Tip: River view worth the extra effort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear StuckinBangers,

Greeting from The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin!
Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and share your excellent experience with us.
Life us a collection of experience, we are so glade that hotel enviroment, bar service and room comfort you a lot. Hotel and the team will continue on keeping Luxury Collection brand high end service standard to find all guest the perfect stay experience.
We hope can welcome you at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel in a short future.

Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was supposedly close to the harbour where we were embarking onto an Asia cruise.
The hotel is in a very quiet & boring neighborhood.
Not the "China" as you expect & know from other places where life is buzzing 24/7.
The hotel itself was ok. The room was good with a very spacious bathroom. Unfortunately our view was not great. When we looked out of the window we looked at a wall, but I am sure they have much better views.
At the hotel they hardly speak English. All is very Chinese.

We ate at the hotel and had the buffet. Again the waiters all do not speak English. They are also not too friendly - not really welcoming. The food was ok. Everything was only lukewarm or cold.

When booking this hotel we were told it was 20 minutes from the harbour. It actually was 1 1/2 hours away from the harbour and cost 200 Yuan for the taxi. So keep that in mind if you are going on a cruise.

The hotel was good, but would I stay here again if I were back in this city? I don't think I would - even though the hotel rate was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with some sort of view so that you don't have a dark room with a view of a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seekAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear seeAdvantures,

Greeting from The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin!
Please allow us to thank you for your stay at our hotel and share your experience with us even it was not all positive.
Firstly please be so kind and accept our sincere appology for restaurant service and wrong transport information you got. Hotel reemphases on keeping English training, restaurant service and hotel-city information with all associates to make sure all international guest are well served.
We really hope you can let us know if you have next travel plan to Tianjin so we can have a chance to serve you with Luxury Collection high standard service.
If there is anything we can be assistant of you, please so kind and send email to me christian.metzner@luxurycollection.com.
We hope we can welcome you at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin in a short furture.

Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

First of all the place is somehow exciting. A lot of powerful people stayed in the hotel so that it contains now a museum as well. Worth to visit.
The overall service is very good and the rooms are very spaceous so everybody can find his silent place in this rooms.
After the renovation it seems that the vicorian style interior can also provide a modern atmosphere. From here a lot of scenic walks can be done along the Hai River or to the shopping streets in Heping Lu and Binjian Dao.

Room Tip: Rooms to the Hai River have a nice view to the city specially at night when all buildings are illumi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Letzebuerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at The astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin, and share your exellent experience with us.

We are very gald to know you have a nice stay at our hotel. Hotel has 150 years old history and hotel museum are verifying the development step of hotel and even Tianjin. While the Victorian rooms and Haihe view rooms are modern luxury feature after being renovated in 2009. Thank you very much for your praise and encouragement. We will keep puting effort on improvement to make Astor Luxury Collection Hotel as a destination of indigenous local culture and exceptional International 5 star personalized service.

Life is collection of experience, let us be your guide!

Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I studied in Tianjin for 7 years and returned for business trip this June.

Astor Tianjin is famed in TJ for its nostalgic architecture.

CI/CO:very smooth and staffs are very helpful

Room: very big and shower room fabulous

Location: near train station, but far away from airport

AIA, recommended for business trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinbac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Sinbac,

Greeting from The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin!

Thank you very much for your stay at The astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin, and share your experience with us.

It's glade to know you have a nice stay with us during your business trip back to Tianjin and thanks again for your recomendation. Our hotel and team will continue to keep Luxury Collection high end standard service for finding every valued guest an excelent stay with us.

Life is collection of experience, let us be your guide!

Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

A truly fantastic hotel with very good service. Afternoon coffee and cake in the tea room is a must for anyone not only staying in the hotel but also in the area. Everyone in the hotel was very helpful and pleasant. The hotel and surrounding area is very clean. I will be telling my friends to visit this hotel when in town.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robdavtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your stay at The astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin, and share your exellent experience with us.

We are very gald to know you have a fantistic stay at our hotel with nice afternoon tea and coffe break . Thank you very much for your appreciation and recommendation to your friends. Victoria Lounge's afternoon tea is suite for in house guest relax as well as for short business meeting and friends gathering. We will keep puting effort on improvement to make Astor Luxury Collection Hotel as a destination of indigenous local culture and exceptional International 5 star personalized service.

Life is collection of experience, let us be your guide!

Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Astor is a really inimitable and historical hotel for china. I had a junior suite which was like apartement size and it was really great furnitured. The staff was nice and helpful. The hotel position is near to Downtown to go for shopping or you can also go for a walk to old town. Definitely I will stay at this hotel next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayresdela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your stay at The astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin, and share your exellent experience with us.

We are very gald to know you have a nice stay at our hotel. Thank you very much for your praise and encouragement. The149 years' old history Hotel equiped with Customer-Tailorand brand furnishers deliverying Modern Deluxe comfort experience for every guest in the historical room. We will keep puting effort on improvement to make Astor Luxury Collection Hotel as a destination of indigenous local culture and exceptional International 5 star personalized service.

Life is collection of experience, let us be your guide!

Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tianjin hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Tianjin
#1 of 1,316 in Tianjin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Shangri-La Hotel Tianjin
#3 of 1,316 in Tianjin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
The St Regis Tianjin Hotel
#5 of 1,316 in Tianjin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Tianjin East
#8 of 1,316 in Tianjin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Binjiang Road
The Westin Tianjin
The Westin Tianjin
#10 of 1,316 in Tianjin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Hotel Nikko Tianjin
#17 of 1,316 in Tianjin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: No.33 Taier Zhuang Road, Heping District, Tianjin 300040, China
Location: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,316 Hotels in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astor Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin, a central feature of the regeneration of Tianjin's historic centre, the heritage gem evokes the romance of a bygone era with all the contemporary luxuries of a world-class hotel. The Hotel overlooks the Hai River in the heart of the Heping financial district. Hotel features 152 elegantly appointed rooms and suites in both classic Victorian style and more contemporary elegance. All rooms are equipped with 42-inch LCD TVs, CD/mp3 sound stations, Lavazza Capsule coffee machine and high-speed Internet access. Hotel features five exciting dining and wining venues. ShuiAn serves an authentic Cantonese and local cuisines, while Cafe Majestic is an all-day-dining restaurant with 24-hour A-la-Carte menu. For the extraordinary European cuisine, head to 1863 Bistro & Terrace which has more than one hundred year culinary tradition. The Victorian Lounge offers a wide range of beverages and British High Tea. The Award-winning British Gentleman bar - O'Hara Bar is famous for single malt whisky, selected wines, feature cocktails and live jazz show. A total of 730 sqm of conference and meeting space includes the Buckingham Ballroom with a fine domed ceiling, and the Windsor Multi-Function Rooms. Over 700 square meters of space is dedicated to the hotel's own museum, a testament to The Astor Hotel's long heritage and pivotal role in Tianjin's development. The nearby pier, which is owned by the hotel, will be used as a jump-off point for river cruises. As a Luxury Collection Hotel, The Astor Hotel Tianjin provides a range of signature services, including 'Luggage Liaison', a suite of travel services including luggage storage and unpacking/packing services upon request, and 'News Paper Direct', a print-on-demand service for over 520 newspapers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing