We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the 21st century...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St Regis Tianjin Hotel
Ranked #2 of 1,350 Hotels in Tianjin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

... and St. Regis Tianjin is still charging guests for use of internet...

I have to admit everything else was quite satisfactory. Decor is a bit gaudy for the typical St. Regis properties, but still reasonably well kept. There was a strong sewage smell from the toilet area, but that's common in most Chinese hotels. Location is sadly not ideal, and you are out of luck if you want to find a convenient store within walking distance. Gym was well equipped.

Yes, butler service was attentive and the bed was comfy... but still charging for internet... really? When most hotels around the area are offering free internet and breakfast... please... give me a reason to come stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegis T, General Manager at The St Regis Tianjin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Paul, thank you for taking the time to post your review on hotel Tripadvisor. Please be assured that your opinions are taken very seriously and all shared with the teams. We do in fact have some packages that include internet charges, do inquire with us directly on your next stay to see whats available, internet in the public spaces and venues is always free. In the meantime, the summer is here and the River Terrace is open, a perfect reason to come back

Sincerely your
General Manager
Paul Cunningham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 551 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed begining of March. Lovely hotel and great service. Quite reasonably priced on internet sites. Well equipped leisure centre. Free happy hour drinks and food from 5.30 to 7.00 for residents. Located on riverside walk yet close to shopping area. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phaleds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegis T, General Manager at The St Regis Tianjin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you so much for your comments, we really appreciate the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Yours sincerely

Paul C
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I have just stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and had a wonderful stay. The hotel's facilities are superb and the room was lovely.The room was well appointed with all modern conveniences on hand. The pool is beautiful and I swam there every day. I also used the gym every day and that was a very positive experience. But really, the great thing about this hotel is the staff - they are the most friendly, courteous and helpful hotel staff I have ever met. I will definitely be back and will be recommending the hotel to all my colleagues who travel to Tianjin for work.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegis T, General Manager at The St Regis Tianjin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you so much for your comments, we really appreciate the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Yours sincerely

Paul C
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

From check in to check out, our experience was very pleasant.Rooms were much bigger than we thought.The breakfast is just delightful.The level of service was amazing !Perfect location , beautiful hotel , and very helpful staff Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegis T, General Manager at The St Regis Tianjin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Alex, thanks for choosing our hotel and sharing your comments with us! We are delighted to learn that you had a excellent vacation in our hotel, and that you enjoyed your entire stay with us. It is our pleasure to provide premuim service for all of our guests,

We look forward to welcoming you back again and wish you a happy and healthy year of the Dragon!

General Manager - Paul Cunningham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Nice and modern hotel directly at the river and close to the city, style and interior of the hotel do not exactly match European taste (dark colours, a lot of silver and purple, too much decoration items), even so it's done well and valuable
Staff is very friendly, supportive and speaks English, breakfast and restaurants are OK, lobby area in winter time a little bit chilly

Room Tip: River view, higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegis T, General Manager at The St Regis Tianjin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete the review regarding your recent stay, we hope that you had a pleasant return journey.Your valuable comments will bing us to a new level of service, we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the future. We wish you a happy Chinese New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is my preferred choice when I am in Tianjin. In fact I stay here averaged out about 5 nights every month when I visit my office here.
The staff are lovely. A lot of them know me by name, and they make you feel you very welcoming. Special thank you to Nick, Candice, Jess and Jessica. (Not to be confused, they are indeed managers of two restaurants in the hotel) Nick would get my shoes done, have a lovely catch up chat and of course offering the signature st. Regis butler service; Candice would ensure me I get my normal suite; Jess, Jessica and their team always ensure I have a good dining experience in their restaurants. Finally the new gym manager is very good at giving me the tips for getting my exercise right! What else you ask you!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank ECEJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegis T, General Manager at The St Regis Tianjin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

We really appreciate reading your feedback and we thank you for that. Your comment is already shred with our management team and we all very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here We look very much forward to welcome you back anytime in the future and for a more bespoke assistance, please do not hesitate to reach me or any member of the management team on stregis.Best regards,General Manager - Paul Cunningham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights while in tianjin. True to its st regis' motto & heritage, the service was impeccable. Big spacious room and awesome bathroom. The complimentary happy hour at the bar offering free drinks n light snacks everyday was worth a mention. Service staffs was ultra helpful n friendly n made my entire trip here better than it was.
The all day n night free tea & coffee service was a lovely touch too although they should improve the coffee. It tasted v diluted n made from powered mix when i was expecting freshly brewed ones like those i had at the bar.
Nevertheless, it is a great hotel located just 10min walk from the italian town. The 24 hr gym is ab added bonus too.Highly recommend to whoever thats coming to tianjin...if you are not a coffee drinker.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalcitizen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegis T, General Manager at The St Regis Tianjin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your comprehensive review. We really appreciate your sincere feedback and I am delighted to read that the lobby, bedroom and gym were above your expectations. The hotel reside in the splendor of Tianjin’s most coveted address, along the picturesque Hai River. Within walking distance of Gold Street shopping, the Italian quarter, and the elegance of Jinwan Square, the hotel offers easy train access as well.We are looking forward to your next coming.

Best regards,
General Manager - Paul Cunningham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tianjin hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Tianjin
#1 of 1,350 in Tianjin
414 reviews
Four Seasons Hotel Tianjin
#7 of 1,350 in Tianjin
54 reviews
Shangri-La Hotel Tianjin
#3 of 1,350 in Tianjin
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Binjiang Road
The Westin Tianjin
The Westin Tianjin
#6 of 1,350 in Tianjin
409 reviews
Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe
#21 of 1,350 in Tianjin
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St Regis Tianjin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St Regis Tianjin Hotel

Address: No.158 Zhangzizhong Road, Heping District, Tianjin 300041, China
Location: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,350 Hotels in Tianjin
Price Range: $156 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St Regis Tianjin Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The St Regis Tianjin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing