We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Tianjin's Best Value Hotel”
Review of Saixiang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saixiang Hotel
Ranked #27 of 1,334 Hotels in Tianjin
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“South Tianjin's Best Value Hotel”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have essentially lived at the hotel for a year and a half (my company's office is a 10-15min drive away); I spent a few months trying to find a decent apartment in the area but frankly could not find anything to Canadian standards.

The rooms are clean (very clean!), the food is pretty good (especially the Indian at the buffet, and Japanese place on the 2nd floor), the staff are extremely friendly and courteous (honestly it is strange), and I receive a favorable corporate rate which also doesnt hurt ...

The only thing I can complain about is the internet speed, but that seems to be a common problem in China; there are a few English channels on TV (BBCnews, CNN, National Geographic, HBO ... more than most places even in Beijing) but I don't watch TV anyways.

By compariso: I frequently go into Beijing for the weekends to work and the hotels there are filthy, poor value, not "5 star" (actually most Chinese "5 star" would be a 3.5 star at home), their staff are rude ... etc. etc. to get a hotel of the same level in Beijing you are going to pay $300+ a night.

Room Tip: Ya right, like I would give away that secret ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianFarhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    79
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
3
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Based on the rooms this hotel could be in any serious business city anywhere in the world. That's fine, any international business travellers will be well satisfied. Rooms well dressed and clean with good facilties. Plenty of toiletries so if you forgot yours everything is there for you. Comfortable beds, TV with some international news channels, get your landry done, the sort of usual thing. Large and comfortable bar area so you can chat late into the night. Good quality breakfast. Plenty of foreigners staying at the hotel as well as wealthy Chinese. Staff seemed to speak English or know who on duty did speak English. Status of the hotel befits Tianjin's status as basically a tier 1 city now. Good all rounder.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabulousFidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ile-de-France, France
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I usually stay in this hotel whenever I travel to Tianjin as it has proven so far a very good choice. Unfortunately it was not the case that time. The room I got had obviously not been used for a while and was not clean. TV furniture had a number of stains and crumbs on it, there were numerous black hair aggregates on the bathroom floor and in the shower cubicle, the toilet flush was leaking and the batteries of the TV remote control were obviously at the very end of their lifecycle. Had to call three times the room service to get all this fixed. I was not allowed to change room whereas the hotel was clearly pretty empty. Apart from that, other services were of the usual -high- standard and the price still very competitive. So let us assume it was just bad luck (hence a 3-star rating and not a 2-star one). One last word: do avoid the spa massages if you do not have an athlete's back! I have not recovered yet...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank todebald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

One of the good hotels to stay near the Binhai industrial area , excellent location , walking distance from supermarkets with joints like Pizza hut and KFC , watsons, Paris Bakery etc. Wide roads, less traffic makes the location awesome, the hotel offers KTV , Tennis , Squash , swimming , TT, GYM facilities, and multiple restaurants to serve the traveller, the staff are english speaking so communication is convinient .Excellent service, only they have some problem with Office emails configuration on the wifi or hi speed internet in your room ,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TilottamaMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I have stayed at the Saixiang for extended periods of up to a month at a time. My company got a good deal on an Executive Room with breakfast and one laundry item per day (the laundry item must be given in each day and cannot be accumulated, I don't understand why !!).

The breakfast is entirely adequate with a wide selection of cuisines and ingredients of acceptable quality.

The Executive Rooms are truly large. It is actually a fair walk to get to the fridge !

The bathroom is exceptional, 3 different shower heads !!

The dinner buffet is very good. Their No. 2 chef is from India and he lays out about 5 different Indian items daily which are quite authentic.

The Japanese restaurant on the mezzanine floor is good and reasonably priced.

All in all a very pleasant hotel.

Room Tip: During season cross overs in autumn and spring they turn off the main air-conditioning unit and only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scirocco4404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed in the Tianjin Saixiang Hotel 3 times now, while traveling on business. It is your typical newer large Asian hotel - lots of space, lots of workers, whether or not the amount of people need it. Kept clean. The rooms are very large, with internet, desk, couch, coffee table (I typically get a larger room). But the bed is very firm, which is ok for me.

They have in-room massages here that are very good, the girls are pretty and they will provide you other extras if they like you (this is up to you and the girl, but you can get a very nice full service massage here).

The food is good, though not great. But for a city where there is really not that much going on like in Shenzhen or Shanghai or nearby Beijing, it's not bad. The hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere so it is good the it is like a small city.

You can take a 40 minute bullet train into Beijing fairly easily, and the staff will even help you get to the train station with your luggage.

Room Tip: Get the larger rooms or club level, not much more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsiaTrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Didn't know what to expect as our customer booked this for us. I was positively surprised. Smooth check in and check out. Room was spacious, clean and looked very new. Good breakfast. You don't go there for tourism really as it is located in Industrial area, but if you have to do in this area, I really recommend to book this hotel.
We went to the Japanese restaurant on 2nd floor. Food was very good. Paid 750 RMB for 4 persons including one bottle wine.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tianjin hotels
5.3 mi away
The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel
4.0 mi away
Tangla Hotel Tianjin
Tangla Hotel Tianjin
#13 of 1,334 in Tianjin
144 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Nikko Tianjin
Hotel Nikko Tianjin
#25 of 1,334 in Tianjin
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Renaissance Tianjin Lakeview Hotel
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Tianjin Hotel
Sheraton Tianjin Hotel
#22 of 1,334 in Tianjin
341 reviews
3.8 mi away
Somerset Olympic Tower Tianjin
Somerset Olympic Tower Tianjin
#18 of 1,334 in Tianjin
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saixiang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saixiang Hotel

Property: Saixiang Hotel
Address: No.8 Meiyuan Road, Huayuan Industrial Zone, New Technology Industry Park, Tianjin 300384, China
Location: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 1,334 Hotels in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Saixiang Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Saixiang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing