We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Soldotna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2009

my 2 adult sons and i just returned from a stay at the lodge. everything was fantastic. steve and monika were very gracious and run the place with an eye to detail. the entire lodge and grounds were immaculate, the breakfasts top notch and the arrangements for deep sea and salmon fishing were great (we especially liked joe our salmon guide). i would highly recommend this b&b to any of my friends or family.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 203 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2009

Overall, we liked this B & B. On the plus side, is the absolutely great location, right on the Kenai River and close to all restaurants. The entire lodge is spotless including th4e common areas and the outdoor area. The rooms are cleaned daily and the linens were changes once during the week we were there. We were interested primarilary in fishing but with some breaks for other activities. The schedule was perfect with five days of fishing and a break right in between. The management (Bil) was very friendly and could not do enough for someone. The owners, Steve & Monika were accommodating and prepared delicious breakfasts

On the downside, the rooms are very small with limited storage space for clothing and other essentials. The bathrooms are down the hallway as are the showers. On occasion, there is considerable noise, if there are inconsiderate guests nearby, but in general, the rooms are fairly quiet. The beds in our room were twin size but very comfortable and the rooms are a little warm but if you open the door for a few minutes they cool down quickly.

The price seems high for the type accommodations offeredbut this is the only lodge we have stayed in in Alaska. We have stayed in other lodging, however, so my opinion stands.

All in all we would recommend this lodge to others

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1964tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2010

Soldotna B&B Lodge and Alaska Fishing Charters is very sincere about our motto: “Fine Lodging and Quality Guiding”. We are continually trying to improve our level of service. We invite any potential guest to contact us and then compare our amenities, services, and prices with any other river property in our area.

Although we do have rooms with shared baths and private baths, this guest did not request a room with private bath. We recommend to all potential guests that if they require or prefer a room with private bath that they request it. We also have the policy that if a guest is unhappy with their room for any reason, we will either move them to one of our rooms that better meets their needs or we will offer/provide them alternative, comparable lodging at another property on the river. This of course presumes that the guest informs us during their stay that they are unsatisfied with their room. Otherwise how would we know?

We also acknowledge that some of our rooms are smaller but we recommend that you “get out and do something!” After all, isn’t that what Alaska is all about? Soldotna B&B Lodge has a 650ft2 great room with fireplace that has spectacular views of the Kenai river and two other sitting rooms that overlook the river. The lodge has 1.4 acres of wooded property directly on the river with 300ft of private river frontage with numerous decks. Soldotna B&B Lodge also has two private docks for river access. We offer much more than “just a place to rest your head.” We are also here to arrange any activities for our guests.

We are members of the Soldotna Chamber of Commerce and the Kenai Chamber of Commerce as well as the Kenai Peninsula B&B Association and the State of Alaska B&B Association. In fact, I (Steve) am also a former Vice President Of The Board of the Kenai Peninsula Tourism Marketing Council. Soldotna B&B Lodge is still an active member of all of these associations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We had a wonderful time on this vacation... Monica and Bill are great, beds were comfortable and the fishing was excellent... Well paced vacation

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

If you are into the outdoors, fishing, touring, etc then consider this B&B. If you are not familiar with European accomodations, nonexclusive baths/toilets then you might not like the layout. Most rooms do not have their own toilet and shower.

For travelers with little or no experience in Alaska and wanting to make the most of touring and fishing this is a great place to stay. Centrally located in the Kenai, with expert guides and loaner equipment, boots and rain gear.

The location, accomodations, staff and service allowed my son and I to make the most out of a 1 week fishing/touring trip. We will come back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gtfromnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2010

Soldotna B&B Lodge and Alaska Fishing Charters is very sincere about our motto: “Fine Lodging and Quality Guiding”. We strive to always provide excellent service but unfortunately sometimes we do not succeed. From those experiences, we can only learn. Most of the positive reviews will reflect the fact that we strive to provide excellent service and that normally, we do succeed. We are continually trying to improve our level of service. We invite any potential guest to contact us and then compare our amenities, services, and prices with any other river property in our area.

Although we do have rooms with shared baths and private baths, this guest did not request a room with private bath. We recommend to all potential guests that if they require or prefer a room with private bath that they request it. We also have the policy that if a guest is unhappy with their room for any reason, we will attempt to move them to a room that better meets their needs. Otherwise, we offer them alternative, comparable lodging at one of our partner B&B’s to better meet their needs. Or they may cancel their lodging and move on. This of course presumes that the guest informs us during their stay that they are unsatisfied with their room. Otherwise how would we know? We do not allow guests to change their plans at the last moment for convenience sake. This violates our cancellation policy, which they are informed of at the time the reservation is made.

We are members of the Soldotna Chamber of Commerce and the Kenai Chamber of Commerce as well as the Kenai Peninsula B&B Association and the State of Alaska B&B Association. In fact, I (Steve) am also a former Vice President Of The Board of the Kenai Peninsula Tourism Marketing Council. Soldotna B&B Lodge is still an active member of all of these associations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed at the Soldotna B& B because it was the only lodging available for the Kennel Club Dog Show that would accept our show dog and the one time we weren't in our RV. Having spent my entire life in Alaska and knowing the problems of tourist season Soldotna B & B was a treasure find. Our room was large and roomy and spotless. In fact the entire property was spotless throughout and the landscaping was well groomed. The bathrooms and showers were across the hallway and not once did we hear any noise of the fishermen coming or goings. Monika and Steve were delightful and the breakfast they cooked up was splended. I had expected the same breakfast each morning but to our surprise it was different all three days. The hazel nut french toast was to die for and the apple, blueberry, banana pancakes were so light and fluffy they could float. I appreciated the community kitchen area, shared fridge and microwave for those quickie meals during show breaks. The river view was lovely and for my 1st experience staying in a B&B I don't think I could have asked for any more. I raved so much my husband wants to come spend a couple of nights. As for price it was below or on par with other establishments and considering the fantastic breakfast which was included well worth the value. Having spent many a treasured moment fishing on the Kenai River as a child it was great to sit out on the deck and relish those memories. Monika, Steve, Bill and Erika, see you next July for sure

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dwane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

I stayed at the Soldotna B&B for three nights with two friends on a eight night long AK fishing trip. The Lodge was exactly what we wanted and the fishing trips that we chartered from there were great. The lodge was exceptionally clean and we were able to use the outside grilling facilities to cook our fresh fish each night which was great. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msk75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

The lodge offers several different packages for fishing, wildlife and nature viewing. They work closely with other charter services to try and get you the best expereince possible. The owners and staff at the lodge are terrific. They go out of their way to make you feel at home and make your stay pleasant. The lodge has 16 different rooms and can accomodate around 60 people. Rooms are kept very clean. Most share shower and restroom facilities. Breakfast is provided by the lodge and lunch is provided if not provided by the charter service for your daily activity. You are on your own for dinner. If you fish you have the option of cooking some of your catch at the lodge. Restaraunt selection in Soldotna is limited but adequate. The lodge also accomodated my diet, which is vegatarian. The fishing was great and the wildlife was awesome. This was our first trip to Alaska and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geigenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
0.2 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
85 reviews
0.8 mi away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Aspen Extended Stay Suites
8.3 mi away
Kenai Airport Hotel
Kenai Airport Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kenai
47 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western King Salmon Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Address: 399 Lovers Ln, Soldotna, AK 99669-7946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Soldotna
Price Range: $170 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, 16-Guestroom Adventure and Fishing Lodge offering fine lodging and quality guiding. Directly on Kenai River with 300 ft of private river frontage. All-you-can-eat, full breakfast served in sunroom directly overlooking Kenai River. Professional, EXPERIENCED guides for freshwater and saltwater charters. All-inclusive packages including guided fishing and outdoor activities. Bearviewing and fishing fly-outs. On-site fish processing: filleting/commercial vacuum packing/freezing. Hosts speak fluent German, Japanese, and English of course. Meeting rooms for executive and off-site meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Hotel Soldotna
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna b&b Lodge
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed And Breakfast Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing